Zerotohundred.com    
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2008, 04:14 PM   #21
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

2000bhp Senior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Re: How does adjustable campulley works?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkYwAlKeR View Post
can i shoot??....

by removing the airbox, u are experiencing open-pod effect... hence, u are free from air restriction due to small airbox problem... standard airbox has a small opening at the end which measures 2.5" in diameter... how much air volume can pass thru it at high speed.... remember, the amount of air sucked by engine is alot at mid to high rpm... that small 2.5" lubang poses some air restriction when air needs to travel into the airbox into the carburetor...
Hehehh yeah jedi master.. I was trying to say that actually. Maybe the words in my post are confusing..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 01:25 PM   #22

5bhp Stock

Sifus, may i seek your invaluable guidance on how many degrees should i advance in order to have good low end torque....i'm driving an old carbie 4G15car...

i not worried about the performance at high rpm as the max speed that i ever do is at 110kmh...i understand from Sifu Skywalker that there will be a dead spot at 120kmh but it is still okay with me as that is the max i ever do when overtaking...thanks..
Old 05-27-2008, 02:14 PM   #23

450bhp Turbo Member

start from advancing the cam gear 2 degrees, need trial and error to see which setting best suits u...
Old 06-04-2008, 03:52 PM   #24

5000BHP! Senior

Send a message via MSN to SkYwAlKeR Send a message via Yahoo to SkYwAlKeR

Quote:
Originally Posted by alamdamai1 View Post
Sifus, may i seek your invaluable guidance on how many degrees should i advance in order to have good low end torque....i'm driving an old carbie 4G15car...

i not worried about the performance at high rpm as the max speed that i ever do is at 110kmh...i understand from Sifu Skywalker that there will be a dead spot at 120kmh but it is still okay with me as that is the max i ever do when overtaking...thanks..
yeap.. listen to sifoo tofu... start advancing 1 mark (2 degree) on the campulley.... then try listen for knocking noise (by revving when idle or test drive).... minor knocking is acceptable as high revving is not what u looking for... but major knocking is a big no no... soon it will damage ur valve seal, piston ring, or worse, create a crater in ur piston...
Old 06-04-2008, 04:58 PM   #25

5bhp Stock

Sifu Skywalker, thank you very much again for coming to my aid....

on the piston knocking issue, would it go away once i manage to get the optimum advance timing value/degree or would it be a permanent feature even when the engine is idling or cruising?...

i now have second thoughts about this cam pulley mod as i was not aware earlier it would result in this piston knocking side effect...

await for your invaluable reply...