Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2008, 05:00 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Changing Spring Without Changing Absober

Can u please share info with me..

Is it ok if i want to change just the Spring without changing the absober.

I thought i want to change my standard spring to the Eibach Pro-Kit but still using the original absober.

what is your advise?

thank you!
Old 02-03-2008, 05:19 PM   #2

2000bhp Senior

Default Re: Changing Spring Without Changing Absober

Quote:
Originally Posted by Interate View Post
Can u please share info with me..

Is it ok if i want to change just the Spring without changing the absober.

I thought i want to change my standard spring to the Eibach Pro-Kit but still using the original absober.

what is your advise?

thank you!
It is a very delicate process. If not careful , changing your springs alone may cause your absorber to leak, expand, turn purple.. and eventually explode.

You have been warned..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 05:32 PM   #3

5bhp Stock

oh really . so it is adviseable to change complete absober set together with the spring. okay . thanks nitrus.
Old 02-03-2008, 10:44 PM   #4

2000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Interate View Post
oh really . so it is adviseable to change complete absober set together with the spring. okay . thanks nitrus.
I was just kidding Interate

Actually this never-ending "debate" about after market springs with stock abs has been going on quite awhile, some people claim it's fine (even from their own experience) .. And some claim using after market springs with stock abs will damage the abs in the long run.

But since you're going for the Eibach Pro-Kit, from what I read/heard .. These particular springs can be paired with stock abs. NOTE: Opinion may vary from each individual though.

But usually each person tend to believe in what they choose to believe, especially if they are paying for that certain belief.. If you get what I mean.

So why not you try the springs first, and if you stock abs starts to die on you, then only replace them? Nothing to lose, better than replacing the whole thing right now. Unless you can get a buyer for your stock abs..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 10:53 PM   #5

450bhp Turbo Member

nitrus, u make things so complicated for the newbie
Old 02-03-2008, 10:56 PM   #6

450bhp Turbo Member

stock springs = longer
stock abs = long stroke

lowered springs = shorter
sports abs = short stroke

cheap performance
1.) Use stock springs
2.) Use good aftermarket abs or customade from hwl

expensive performance
- One shot upgrade to adjustable (hi-lo/soft-hard)

End of story, driving lowered car in KL is hell.....good luck
Old 02-03-2008, 10:58 PM   #7

450bhp Turbo Member

And also u may want to ask urself, u go for Eibach Pro-Kit, for looks or performance ?

Never simply lowered ur car with cheapest budget, u are killing your car only.
Old 02-04-2008, 10:22 AM   #8

5bhp Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by proton63t View Post
And also u may want to ask urself, u go for Eibach Pro-Kit, for looks or performance ?

Never simply lowered ur car with cheapest budget, u are killing your car only.

oh, i go for both looks and performance. i was just wondering if i want to change the spring, is it adviseable to use back the stock absorber or change to adjustable.

thanks for your time and info everybody!
Old 02-04-2008, 04:29 PM   #9

200bhp Stage II Member

Why not use the stock absorber until it wears out then only change to either sport shocks/matching shocks or adjustables.
Old 02-04-2008, 07:24 PM   #10

5bhp Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by strangex2 View Post
Why not use the stock absorber until it wears out then only change to either sport shocks/matching shocks or adjustables.

i think that is a good idea strangex2!! thanks!
Old 02-04-2008, 08:28 PM   #11

1000bhp Senior

lower down 2 fingers gap from stock height should not shorten ur absorbar life.
Old 02-04-2008, 10:30 PM   #12

200bhp Stage II Member

Mine the front, from 5 fingers become 1 finger. Still boleh tahan, not bad. Just that my dashboard will rattle a bit when the road starts to get violent.