How to rise the torque of an Auto N16 Sentra ... ??
Notices
Welcome!
to Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network. You are currently an unregistered guest. Why not join Malaysia's largest automotive community? Get your own Member's Profile which immediately grants you access to post topics, classifieds, communicate privately with other members, upload content, find friends and more!
Registration also removes this welcome screen permanently.
Re: How to rise the torque of an Auto N16 Sentra ... ??
yeah lighten crankpulley is good. can free up few HP. but got one disadvantages too. if u always high rev your car better dont use lighten crnakpulley cozs it can crack one. lighten crankpulley not cheap too. last time i saw for B14 it was rm300 around that.
try plug in 4-2-1, sure u wont regret one. haha. can free around 8hp.
i dont see any particular crank pulley crack b4 but i got heard it crack and the person didnt mention what brand of it.
if u go for the branded one should be ok lar. if go for those cap ayam i think nobody dare to guarantee it. i saw a cap ayam one nowadays. price around rm300.
better not go for lighten crank pulley that do not have damper, without the damping layer, the pulley will not last long, n it will reduce the belt life expectancy also. rm300 for crank pulley usually do not have dampening components, check for it
bro 1 thing i can tell u is ......re-map your C/O and ECU , u just go to TAN CHONG u say i just change this la that la .....bla bla then u say u want to tune it according this SPEC .because u already change the exhaust system and u already drop in an open pod so the C/O or your ECU can't read it when u are low end .so properly now your is makan minyak and then the respon is very bad .....don't think so much u just RE-tuned your setting don't waste so much money this is a small matter
fastcx, true, only the rm5xx ones (e.g.mythelogy) have the rubber damper... altho, its more other parts which wont last, like the crank itself, not so the crank pulley...
By the way , Alutec Crank Pulleys aren't fitted with harmonic dampener also ... I don know shud i believe or not (Ripley's yay!!) , the article says that modern engines need not necessery to have harmonic dampener cause of the materials and design of the engine ... EXPERT PLZ CORRECT IF I WERE WRONG !!
This is the link ....: MotoRex Autowerkz & Trading :.... after the readup appreciate more comments ... Going to be a modder soon ... Well may be am a modder now ...
Don't waste money for adding useless thing. Adding HP is easier than adding torque. The cheapest way to make the car has more 'pick up' power is to reduce weight. If change exhaust, must do ignition timing tune, cause the exhaust back pressure had been reduced and effected the valve overlapping process. As a result, you will get a smoother top end but sacrifice the 'pick up'. Light weight pulleys is good for auto. If you can't find after market product, you can go to machine shop and custom make 1 with 7055 - 7075 aluminum, with a grove at the center for insert and secure a rubber for vibration absorbing. Then, check if your throttle body has a line for the radiator coolant for warming it up. If yes, bypass it. Other than that, I assume that you had got yourself a set of branded spark plugs and their cables. On the air filter, don't simply play with it. open port will only kill your pick up power. What make you feel your car faster is the only the louder sound. I reckon you should stop any further modification and save money for a piggy back ecu and get it dyno tuned. Cheap one will be e-manage (about RM1.5k including dyno tune) and mid priced unichips (about RM2.5-3.5k with dyno). Buy a copy of hypertune or motortrader can know the price. If you still not satisfy with the power after the ecu tune, you will be left with 3 choice, 1. SR20DETT halfcut 2. street porting or BOT 3. change manual gearbox (I assume you don't wanna change car or get a Tomei Derive/Genesis engine). But must get it done in a pro shop. Not bawah pokok. Lastly, please be aware that, power come with the cost of fuel. Regardless how good is an ecu tuning can give you, you can only save the fuel from being wasted from improper setup. The more syiok you ram your car, the more money you need to spend at the pump.
Almost forget to mention, engine cooling is important. But an aluminum radiator will easily dig RM2k+ from your wallet
bro csl,
i am quite confused regarding the intake and exhaust mods for auto cars..
For example, the open port filter...
Ideally, it is suppose to ram more air into the engine, rite?
because it has less restriction compared to drop in filters....
okay, that is theory.... from real experience, i really agree with you that open port filter kills pick up, becoz i have such experience wif an auto putra wif open port before......
The pick up is...............quite strange and not as wat i expect from a 1.8 car... Forget to mention that the owner of the putra put a straight flow exhaust, rather than a s-flow..... When i floor the pedal, the car did not downshift, dragging the same gear at low RPMs........vomit blood.....
So, wat i am still confused is, how come smoother intake and exhaust with less backpressure can jeopardize the performance of an auto car? ... Need bro csl and sifu sifu to enlighten me on this.....
To the tread owner, sorry coz off topic a lil bit.... bu still, it is under auto car'z topic ma.....(cabutz fast fast)......
I think, stock nissan cars' engine are not to be fiddled about. Best is consult expert and ask what can they do about Supercharge or turbocharge.
Again, in M'sia, modding nissan stock engine is not as common as oversea, again u might as well transplant a bigger NA or a turbo engine.
Nissan can be real pain in the neck coz its parts is NOT cheap to come by! U dont want to screw up ur stock engine with ridiculous tweaking or modding.
Last edited by SoYouThinkYouCanDrive; 05-01-2008 at 10:32 PM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by civic EdGe
bro csl,
i am quite confused regarding the intake and exhaust mods for auto cars..
For example, the open port filter...
Ideally, it is suppose to ram more air into the engine, rite?
because it has less restriction compared to drop in filters....
okay, that is theory.... from real experience, i really agree with you that open port filter kills pick up, becoz i have such experience wif an auto putra wif open port before......
The pick up is...............quite strange and not as wat i expect from a 1.8 car... Forget to mention that the owner of the putra put a straight flow exhaust, rather than a s-flow..... When i floor the pedal, the car did not downshift, dragging the same gear at low RPMs........vomit blood.....
So, wat i am still confused is, how come smoother intake and exhaust with less backpressure can jeopardize the performance of an auto car? ... Need bro csl and sifu sifu to enlighten me on this.....
To the tread owner, sorry coz off topic a lil bit.... bu still, it is under auto car'z topic ma.....(cabutz fast fast)......
I don't know how to give you a perfect answer. Only can give you a few ideas. But this is more on normal car on the street. Not those heavily modified race car. Because the application is different, where we are using various level of rpm and need to consider the fuel consumption as well. But those track car or race car, they constantly on high rpm at high speed and fuel consumption is barely in the picture.
Air filter - Sure more air goes into the chamber is better. But 1 thing needed to be remember, when the piston goes down and creating a vacuum to suck air (N/A), the displacement is the one determine the volume. Using open port or even remove the air box won't let you have more air to go in. The purpose of using open port filter, besides filtering the air, it also let the air go in easier and the engine won't waste energy when the pistons pull the air. By right it should be better. But here come the problem. When it operate, the air flow will become highly fluctuate. Because there is no guide (air box). Not to mention those cheap OP filter with uneven filter material distribution. This may potentially cause those cars having MAF sensor having rough idling. That's why the car manufacture increasing the cost by adding air collector box to reduce the fluctuation and make a maximum efficiency within the budget and the need of the average potential user. Another issue is hot air in the engine bay. Base on common OP setup done by our local shops, I don't need to explain in details, you know I know.
There are plenty of theories that lies behind the scene. But lazy to type la. Also I'm not that pro also. Just make it short, go to pro shop like Millennium or N1 or etc and seek for consultancy. Just need to tell them you want a solution to suite your practical city driving. I guess they will recommend you K&N drop in. If you can afford those high end solution like ARC box, you can let them know :).
Just one thing, because of manufacturing cost and the production volume, no car or parts come in 100% perfect as per described. That's why you need to have at lease a piggy back to dyno tune your car. Make sure the fuel is not wasted. Just like some people use huge exhaust (maybe can stuff 3/4 chicken in for BBQ) on a 1.5L N/A basically ori car. Sounds fast but only can see it arrive after finished a stick of cigar . The air/fuel mixture that leak out during valve overlapping can probably let them drive another 100km further every few months. But that is not my business of cause.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tofu_manic
lightweight pulleys not good for manual?
Sorry, I mean commonly more noticeable on auto . One of the reason maybe the inconstancy of clutch release on manual gearbox car and wasted the benefit most of the time
Quote:
Originally Posted by tofu_manic
lightweight pulleys not good for manual?
Sorry, I mean commonly more noticeable on auto . One of the reason maybe the inconstancy of clutch release on manual gearbox car and wasted the benefit most of the time