Zerotohundred.com    
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2007, 08:05 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

1000bhp Senior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Light weight sport rim, will make a different in daily use?

Hi Guys,

As subject mentioned, do light weight rim really make a different?
Pls advise.. Thanks.
Old 12-24-2007, 09:49 AM   #2

450bhp Turbo Member

Default Re: Light weight sport rim, will make a different in daily use?

Yes it does.

You will find the girls giving you their telephone numbers more often softly cooing in your ear..."Call me leh...I like your hup kar lim."
Old 12-24-2007, 10:10 AM   #3

450bhp Turbo Member

It helps in acceleration, late braking n lesser cornering weight
Old 12-24-2007, 10:45 AM   #4

Over 10,000bhp!

Quote:
Originally Posted by proton63t View Post
It helps in acceleration, late braking n lesser cornering weight
wat do u mean by "lesser cornering weight"..??? technically discuss. Thanks.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:45 AM   #5

2000bhp Senior

from my experience,
helps in acceleration, fuel saving a bit, no need press so much on accelerator.
if ur rim too pretty then u find girls saying "wah!! the rim so big and pretty!!" to u.
Old 12-24-2007, 11:08 AM   #6

700bhp Member

Trader Ratings: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to Maxx

Quote:
Originally Posted by JINEIL2EN View Post
wat do u mean by "lesser cornering weight"..??? technically discuss. Thanks.
i think he meant, lighter steering wheel feels when turning steering.
Old 12-24-2007, 11:29 AM   #7

Over 10,000bhp!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxx View Post
i think he meant, lighter steering wheel feels when turning steering.
hahaha...if he really mean that, thats no grip, bang the tree/divider edy...ahahaha..
still waiting for his very technically discussion.

lets see wat r the 'tiu'.....& who shld b 'tiu'...

"why is there so much craps in this technical session ? tiu"
Attached Thumbnails
light-weight-sport-rim-will-make-a-different-in-daily-use-tiu-jpg  

Last edited by JINEIL2EN; 12-24-2007 at 11:42 AM. Reason: lets see wat r the 'tiu'.....& who shld b 'tiu'...
Old 12-24-2007, 11:38 AM   #8

500bhp Stage 3 Member

Send a message via Yahoo to karl5511

As long as it is original and have a nice look, l leave the rest...
Hahaha...
But, i do feel different using 17" rim on my ride. Even it is original Japan made, still feel berat on acceleration.

Cornering, dont know. I think not much different even if you're using light weight rims.
Old 12-24-2007, 11:45 AM   #9

450bhp Turbo Member

When u hit corner more than 60kmh, 1kg on ur wheel equals to 15kg of momentum sideways. Hence, lighter rims compared to stock steel rims, u will finds that lighter rims are easily controlled n maneuver.

However, heavier rims felt more stable on a Japanese car on a straight road, u got more weight to the ground.

I dont know what JINEIL2EN drives or what rims he is using, but I am sure he is wise enough to post positive comments in forums and do some research, dont you, JINEIL2EN ?
Old 12-24-2007, 11:47 AM   #10

Over 10,000bhp!

Quote:
Originally Posted by karl5511 View Post
As long as it is original and have a nice look, l leave the rest...
Hahaha...
But, i do feel different using 17" rim on my ride. Even it is original Japan made, still feel berat on acceleration.

Cornering, dont know. I think not much different even if you're using light weight rims.
yo bro, u got a very clear points..bravo...
Old 12-24-2007, 11:54 AM   #11

450bhp Turbo Member

A very simple test, bring ur 17" climb genting hill, see how well the rimsize can help u.

A correct rim size, maximize your grip, acceleration and cornering. Mostly oversized rims are for looks, in a long term they kill your suspension bushing by adding too much weight and inccorect offset, brushing ur inner fender everytime u go over uneven roads n humps, and ur FC will be increased 15% but ur power does not increase.

The conclusion is yours, I speaks based on experience on myself as well shared by others who been through these ordeals.

JINEIL2EN, is there anything u want to know? Dont just post imoticons, u r spamming.

U wan blow water, go to Non Motoring Sections sections
Old 12-24-2007, 11:54 AM   #12

Over 10,000bhp!

Quote:
When u hit corner more than 60kmh, 1kg on ur wheel equals to 15kg of momentum sideways. Hence, lighter rims compared to stock steel rims, u will finds that lighter rims are easily controlled n maneuver.

However, heavier rims felt more stable on a Japanese car on a straight road, u got more weight to the ground.
great info u got....

Quote:
I dont know what JINEIL2EN drives or what rims he is using, but I am sure he is wise enough to post positive comments in forums and do some research, dont you, JINEIL2EN ?
nop, i'm just a tok kok peep only...
Old 12-24-2007, 11:59 AM   #13

450bhp Turbo Member

For your info I am using 15" Lenso Axis Maglite on my 1.5 Iswara. Engine is 90bhp/130nm torque with some light modification on engine. 0-100kmh in 10.5 seconds.

May you share your car/engine/rim size info with everyone here ? We can analyse n discuss your setting. Most welcomed to do so :)
Old 12-24-2007, 12:21 PM   #14

700bhp Member

Trader Ratings: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to Maxx