Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network   
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2007, 09:49 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

Super Moderator

Trader Ratings: (0)

Send a message via MSN to jinkl Send a message via Yahoo to jinkl

Default Skim clutch pressure plate

guys, jsut asking , can i actually skim the pressure plate of my clutch system
its abit uneven , is it ok to do it , or am i going to face slip if i skim
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 10:07 PM   #2

1000bhp Senior

pressure plates are not really expensive... since u made the trouble of opening
the gearbox, just change a brand new one. A brand new plate will last you
quite long.. do it once & it will save u a lot of unknown problems from skimming
your existing pressure plate
Old 03-25-2007, 10:53 PM   #3

Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by sexycar View Post
pressure plates are not really expensive... since u made the trouble of opening
the gearbox, just change a brand new one. A brand new plate will last you
quite long.. do it once & it will save u a lot of unknown problems from skimming
your existing pressure plate
exedy semi race costs 400-600
Old 03-26-2007, 12:29 AM   #4

50bhp Junior

yup. better change a new ones. and better don't skim the pressure plate.
Old 03-26-2007, 07:03 AM   #5

1000bhp Senior

Send a message via Yahoo to flushafteruse

juz use 1st until its finish,n juz change new one more worth it from u skimed it..

p/s-but better beware from the plate makan your flywheel....
Old 03-26-2007, 05:52 PM   #6

2000bhp Senior

try it before on a exedy hyper single for e7.no problem.still grippy
as usual.as long as u skim it around 0.5mm.
Old 03-27-2007, 05:02 AM   #7

1000bhp Senior

Send a message via Yahoo to flushafteruse

bro jin,hows your clutch plate cond?
Old 03-27-2007, 09:49 AM   #8

Super Moderator

hehe my mech so scared to skim it
i tink at the end he used a sandpaper machine n just smoothen it a little

Last edited by waja 1.6; 03-17-2007 at 10:59 PM.
Old 03-27-2007, 10:51 PM   #9

5bhp Kid

skimmed plate with imperfect balance of thickness will cause the system getting worst. uneven surface of the plate is quite normal for a normal car due to wear & tear. that's y when changing the clutch disc, it is recommended to change the plate, bearing & oil seal all together.

if it is a performance plate, sure i will also try to skim 1st cause it is expensive. Lol.
Old 06-28-2008, 10:57 AM   #10

5bhp Kid

Default Re: Skim clutch pressure plate

Hi jin..
Have u done the skimming work..??
Just wanna know the result...Coz i'm thinkin to do so...Thanx.