Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

Tags
4g93, advicecost, cam, racing

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2006, 01:58 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

200bhp Stage II Member

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default racing cam for 4G93? need advice..cost??

im planning to mod my putra standard enjin to racing cam n i have no idea bout it..need advise..cost?? need change piston?? wat cam suits??? thx a lot..
Old 10-07-2006, 11:10 AM   #2

450bhp Turbo Member

normally they make changes to 272 degree of high cam,the logic is the higher degree it is then more power would be push out.but the problem is the high cam is real hard to tune for normally use on road.for twin cam engine prepare at least 2000 to spend on tis mod.but n/a mod logic is,u pay more but get less.unlike turbo charge.in taiwan they do have d16a single cam vtec pump out 180hp(if i am not wrong remember) with increasing the compression of engine and high cam.but the internal of engine should be built strong.wat u can do is;
1.increase compression by skinnin ur metal gasket and piston with moutain shape(dun know wat to call but in mandarin is 突顶)
2.high cam,
3.with above mod u need another controller to fine tune ur engine combustion like safc in basic
4.gear ratio is also important

with these mod u might be able to follow a 4g93t but ur engine won't be so stable as gsr and u might spend more than transplanting 93t
Old 10-12-2006, 02:47 PM   #3

600bhp Member

powerzone cams not bad mar...proven leh...:_:
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 04:02 PM   #4

250bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoast
im planning to mod my putra standard enjin to racing cam n i have no idea bout it..need advise..cost?? need change piston?? wat cam suits??? thx a lot..
Bfore u put in the racing cams, have u done up ur basic mods?eg, extractor,exhaust system, bigger throttle body,spark plug,plug cable,air filter,adj fuel regulator?
Using high cam does not need to change piston...u can try matspeed cams, a lot of the proton engines r runing on matspeed high cams!Cost of a pair of high cams will be Rm1800++, u also need a pair of adjustable cam pulley which will cost u another RM300-400, u also need to pay the mechanic to set for u the high cam which i am not sure how much it will cost, also after setting the cam u need to either rechipped ur ecu or u can go for a piggyback to adjust the fueling...Hope tis helps u
Cheers
Old 10-12-2006, 07:25 PM   #5

600bhp Member

hmmm...if want to put race cams,why dun u guys try to call powerzone? they'll provide everything regarding NA engine... they can squize 120bhp out from 4g15p leh...:_:
Old 10-12-2006, 10:18 PM   #6

g88
3000bhp Senior

sorry but i did heard alot bad comment about their service/ after sales service...as well their product.

Maybe would suggest you look for Matspeed. Remember, upgrade cam alone won't sactisfy you..you might end up change to Turbo 4G93 :D
Old 10-13-2006, 11:36 AM   #7

200bhp Stage II Member

thx for u guys comment. i've done extractor,piping mod n oso install k&n air filter oledi.y need change throttle body n spark plug n plug cable? necassary? if change spark plug n plug cable will have a lot of improvement? piggyback use safc neo better or e manage?
Old 10-13-2006, 11:37 AM   #8

200bhp Stage II Member

takkan change cam cost so much but improvement wont satisfy?
ive done all the basic mods like piping , extractor n air filter.so wat shld i mod now?
Old 10-13-2006, 11:49 AM   #9

450bhp Turbo Member

formula of n/a moddification =pay more but not to get more unlike forced induction
Old 10-13-2006, 12:18 PM   #10

100bhp Junior

If u got in all d exterior mods..such as 4-2-1 exhaust throttle body...a good PnP and a set of good cams would do..but will cost u..power wise wont b felt like force induction..after cam masuk...go 4 quad throttle body...pehh! response like hell!:_:
Old 10-13-2006, 01:41 PM   #11

250bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
thx for u guys comment. i've done extractor,piping mod n oso install k&n air filter oledi.y need change throttle body n spark plug n plug cable? necassary? if change spark plug n plug cable will have a lot of improvement? piggyback use safc neo better or e manage?
4G93P throttle body is not sufficient enough so get a bigger one.....u can choose not to change the spark plug or plug cable but i am sure one day ull need those iridium or iriway spark plugs,u change the spark plugs n plug cables wont have lots of improvements but ull feel the improvements after u change.....
Old 10-13-2006, 01:46 PM   #12

250bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
takkan change cam cost so much but improvement wont satisfy?
ive done all the basic mods like piping , extractor n air filter.so wat shld i mod now?
Change cams will gain hp but c wat kinda cams duration u opted for...changing to high cams n correct setting n tuning ull gain 10-20whp but as i said depends on wat cams duration u choose...hope tis will help u!
Cheers
Old 10-13-2006, 06:03 PM   #13

2000bhp Senior

Send a message via Yahoo to cipan_supercas

Changing your cam will definitely increase your hp with just 1 item mod, even with nothing done to other parts.
Old 10-13-2006, 09:13 PM   #14

5bhp Stock

4 me...Powerzone is still the best for NA modification....my current engine 4g15 already modded to max by them...dyno last week....that engine now produce 142hp on engine....torque 144nm....they already prove what they have said.....the most important is...they know what they doing....
Old 10-13-2006, 10:41 PM   #15

100bhp Junior

hi all sifus, sorry to tumpang his thread.

seems u guys are encouraging to change the engine to turbo if want to have more power on the car.

is there any possibility of having high cam + bolt on turbo on a N/A engine? high cam emphasize on increasing compression but turbo is emphasize on reduce the compression.. so does it mean this 2 is not a good combination? sorry for the noobie question :D
Old 09-20-2008, 10:53 AM   #16

50bhp Junior