Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Cars > Automotive Interests > Car Care

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2003, 09:40 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

50bhp Junior

Trader Ratings: (0)

PPL,

I have a 6 year old aeroback in relatively good condition except for the rust on the car roof. The rust is 'bubbling' out from the underside. Any sifu know how to 'kow tim' this problem. Can I remove the entire roof and get a new one?!?!?!?
Old 12-23-2003, 11:34 AM   #2

1000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to ken12292703 Send a message via Yahoo to ken12292703

You can remove it but you also can get a good body mech to fix it. They will grind it and plaster it with the alluminum that we use to weld the electonic board that we learn it during secondary school. It's the best way that i know and it can last long. I'll recommend the mech if you are in seremban.

Just an opinion. :)
Old 12-23-2003, 11:50 AM   #3

1000bhp Senior

not to scare u but normally after fixing it....it will come out again....

many ppl will sell the car once this problem is spotted..

good luck to u..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 01:06 PM   #4

50bhp Junior

ken12292703......aisay, m in KL-lah bro. Hardly go down to Seremban. Thanks for the input though. I'm still worried that the rust may star again but elsewhere.

I heard of ppl, taking off the entire roof treat the rust and put on a new roof. Rumours or fact?!?!?!?

If fact advisable, ah?
Old 12-23-2003, 04:21 PM   #5

800bhp Member

Trader Ratings: (2)

Send a message via Yahoo to lan_eterna

yup it can do ...like ken infom u need to find a good mech....if not maybe something wrong happend in future...other can repair back n touch up back but maybe it will happend back....so better change the roof ..

p/s change sunroof direct laa :D
Old 12-23-2003, 04:22 PM   #6

50bhp Junior

Send a message via ICQ to Jiro Send a message via MSN to Jiro

Quote:
You can remove it but you also can get a good body mech to fix it. They will grind it and plaster it with the alluminum that we use to weld the electonic board that we learn it during secondary school. It's the best way that i know and it can last long. I'll recommend the mech if you are in seremban . Just an opinion. .
My wira also had the same problem ... sent to grind then patch , less than 1 yr it pop up again n it is worse . I advice u change the whole roof its better to play safe . :D
Old 12-23-2003, 04:27 PM   #7

900bhp Member

my satria kena that...damnn...F**KING ROOF and F**KING BONNNETTTT~!~!~!~!~ kena until very bad...now still never do anything to them... :(
Old 12-23-2003, 04:57 PM   #8

50bhp Junior

at least i'm not alone. must be a inherent quality control problem with proton cars!!!! Anyone know where got good mechanic to change entire roof-ah? Sunroof....problem-lah....leak, JPJ approval. Aisay, leceh man
Old 12-23-2003, 09:40 PM   #9

3000bhp Senior

why can rusty? hmm park under hot sun to often? wax too much? :blink: :blink: :blink:
Old 12-23-2003, 09:55 PM   #10

900bhp Member

i think may b too much sun guaa..

sun roof..heard that the original mirage roof with sun roof is reliable..ya lar..jpj kacau..but im very tempted to get the sunroof... B)
Old 12-23-2003, 11:17 PM   #11

100bhp Junior

Meaning there's no other good way except replace the rust roof with new one?? :blink:
Wholly SHIT! Sunlight that powerful? :(
Btw, any precautions that should be taken to avoid this problem and I saw some car wash product claiming anti-rust. Is it useful? :huh:
Old 12-23-2003, 11:38 PM   #12

3000bhp Senior

can find shade parking but i hate to park under the tree leh, tahi burung :angry:
Old 12-24-2003, 12:55 AM   #13

150bhp Tuned Member

once a painter told me that even after sanding & plastering it can also occur again. reason is because of proton factory when they paint the car. the surface was not treated properly. after some years the rust will occur. nothing to do with the sun.
notice that this only happen to proton car. ;)
Old 12-24-2003, 12:59 AM   #14

150bhp Tuned Member

Quote:
Originally posted by cloud@Dec 23 2003, 11:17 PM
Meaning there's no other good way except replace the rust roof with new one?? :blink:
Wholly SHIT! Sunlight that powerful? :(
Btw, any precautions that should be taken to avoid this problem and I saw some car wash product claiming anti-rust. Is it useful? :huh:
i don't think those anti-rust car wash work for this case. the rust is happening under the paint. how to protect??

any1 know anyway to prevent the rust from happening underneath the paint work? i asked quite a few painter n mech but non can give a solution. :(
hopefully there are sifus here that can share with us some tips.
Old 12-24-2003, 11:01 AM   #15

50bhp Junior

I tried asking a few mechs...no solution. accordingly the roof is soldered to 3 - 4 main 'bones' that supports the frame of the car. If you notice the rust always happens along the same horizontal lines. I feel (based on logic and no practical experience) that the only way to treat the rust is to do it from the underside of the roof. Me need help also to find best way at low cost to resolve this problem.

Sifus advice.........!?!?!?!?!?!? :unsure:
Old 12-25-2003, 10:28 AM   #16

900bhp Member

same here..asked a few painters....they told me its either i get new roof...or CHANGE CAR! and they said this kind of stuff is VERY VERY common for proton cars..sighhh....my case got to change bonnet some more..sighh..

Suddenly thought of another question....changing to sunroof is illegal..so taht means changing new roof is illegal too? because we still need to weild it? :blink:
Old 12-25-2003, 10:00 PM