VW's Polo GTI sees a price increase? - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Content > Automotive News

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2012, 05:56 PM   #1
Won
'(00) | Contributor

Liked: 2,209 / 374 Posts
Default VW's Polo GTI sees a price increase?

There's bad news for those who have been planning to purchase (or get onto the long waiting list) a Volkswagen Polo GTI (reviewed Nov 2011). We recently heard that the latest shipments of VW's compact pocket rocket has been held up, pending a price review. With plenty of buzz online, many were hoping that this news was merely hearsay.

Unfortunately, it seems that the prices have indeed been updated on Volkswagen Malaysia's website. The new pricing for the Polo GTI is now RM166,888 (3-door) and RM169,888 (5-door); an almost RM34k increase. VGM has yet to release any official statements, but based on the revised prices on their website, a price hike seems imminent.

Do share with us your thoughts/opinions on this topic by commenting in this thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VW Polo GTI.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	447829  

Last edited by Won; 07-13-2012 at 06:46 PM.
Won is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-13-2012, 06:01 PM   #2
5bhp Stock

Liked: 0 / 0 Posts
Default Re: VW's Polo GTI sees a price increase?

why price increase ? got any new ?
raytooth is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-13-2012, 06:14 PM   #3

Liked: 30 / 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to detomaso_runna Send a message via Yahoo to detomaso_runna Send a message via Skype™ to detomaso_runna

same same but price increase.i just cancelled my booking due to price increase. better buy recond mini cooper with that kinda price. or buy vw mk5.
Old 07-13-2012, 06:24 PM   #4
5bhp Stock

yes...if u buy mini cooper u can join we club penang mini club...we got gathering and more...
https://www.facebook.com/pages/North...93979287286746
Old 07-13-2012, 06:25 PM   #5
5bhp Stock

if u buy mini cooper u can join we Northern Mini Owners Club....we got gathering and more....
The Following User Disliked raytooth For This Un-useful Post:
jack12322 (07-15-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 07:12 PM   #6

Liked: 17 / 4 Posts

Any news of golf gti?
Old 07-13-2012, 07:32 PM   #7
600bhp Member

Liked: 83 / 66 Posts

never liked a Volkswagen so it doesnt concern me muahahahahha
xMika is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-13-2012, 09:55 PM   #8

Liked: 1,168 / 502 Posts

Pure profiteering. Malaysia boleh! AP holders are getting fatter and fatter.

WTS: Original Denso Iridium Power Free Shipping
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/engine-and-performance/423770-denso-iridium-power-spark-plugs.html
ixeo is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-13-2012, 10:16 PM   #9
50bhp Junior

Liked: 31 / 18 Posts

why?RM165K++ is kind of overprice for a pocket rocket.
jdm 19 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-13-2012, 10:48 PM   #10
50bhp Junior

Liked: 38 / 26 Posts

Rumours has it that we need to thank another leading German brand for muscling in on VW. Hear the same fate happened to the Passat CC. Some German brand is such a leading seller that they need to fear another 'lesser' brand. Real idiots if the rumours are true.
tIANcI is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-14-2012, 12:38 AM   #11

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

malaysia standard, 1hp =rm1k.... :-)
react22 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-14-2012, 09:23 AM   #12
Won
'(00) | Contributor

Liked: 2,209 / 374 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tIANcI View Post
Rumours has it that we need to thank another leading German brand for muscling in on VW. Hear the same fate happened to the Passat CC. Some German brand is such a leading seller that they need to fear another 'lesser' brand. Real idiots if the rumours are true.
I have heard similar rumours of this as well; there's a chance that the price increase wasn't VGM's idea afterall. I've heard that many people on the waiting list have cancelled their orders; RM34k is a lot of money and makes the Golf TSI suddenly look like 'good value'.

Follow me on Facebook, just click on my sig above!
Won is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-14-2012, 11:51 AM   #13

Liked: 44 / 21 Posts

unless there is any substantial upgrade to the car for the tremendous price increase... it's a BOO!!!!!!
zuruzuruz is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-14-2012, 12:29 PM   #14

Liked: 157 / 73 Posts

Camry... GT86 and now Polo GTI....

keep increasing the price.... i know who to vote for in the coming election.
dancerface (07-18-2012), DanzEterna (07-17-2012), ehdrian (07-16-2012), IketaniX (07-18-2012), ixeo (07-18-2012), SideWaysGrey (07-31-2012)
Old 07-14-2012, 08:04 PM   #15

Send a message via MSN to cRuZ1011

sounds like bad press for the VW brand in Malaysia... hopefully it doesn't affect the brand too badly given that they have been doing a good job in building the goodwill of the brand of late.... most of the peeps who placed their booking earlier would probably feel that VW are profit first and customer second with this type of stunt....
cRuZ1011 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

Zerotohundred.com > Content > Automotive News

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
Toda's K20/K24 Fd2 Ep3 Dc5 Cl7
Last Post Today 05:24 PM
  r3 steering spacer
Last Post Today 04:12 PM
  kawasaki z800 exhaust
Last Post Today 04:04 PM
  Mugen Twin Loop Exhaust For Honda Vtec
Last Post Today 02:50 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top