Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Other Options > Automotive News

Tags
2008, ae86, toyota

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2007, 02:09 PM
wheels are made to roll

Default 2008 Toyota New AE86

The rumors were right, Toyota has resurrected the iconic AE86 from the 80s, the new drift legend vehicle will be out by winter 2008.

Here are the vital statistics, body length of 3950 mm, width of 1650 mm and height of 1350 mm. the "AE08"? features a 1.5L 2NZ-FE engine with 120PS/6500 rpm and torque of 14.8Kgm/3800 rpm in a body that weighs in at 1000kg.

It will be powering through a 5 speed transmission. And the best part is, the car will cost under 1.5 million Yen. Isn't that great?

Relevant Articles:
-http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforu...achi-roku.html
-Winding Road » Archive » Japan Report: No Quelling Toyota AE86 Revival Rumors
-Toyota considering return of rear-wheel drive AE86? - Autoblog
-Toyota considering return of rear-wheel drive AE86? | eMagi - Fighting the evil of boredom

Source: Autoblog, Best Car

Article: davidv00

Last edited by Tom; 08-03-2007 at 07:06 PM. Reason: spelling correction
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 03:19 PM
50bhp Junior

Default Re: 2008 Toyota New AE86

oh my g....why don't they juz maintain the old shape aarrrrrrrrghhhhhhh...
Old 08-03-2007, 03:20 PM
50bhp Junior

Its a must have ride,beautifully resurrected .
Old 08-03-2007, 04:25 PM
100bhp Junior

thumbs up for this new look!....looking forward for this..hehehe....TOYOTA rulez
Old 08-03-2007, 04:38 PM
1000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to fritz

The shape is still there. Just that the surface is smoother..Less drag?...
Thumbs Up! Let's wait winter 08'. Toyota RoX
Old 08-03-2007, 04:48 PM
2000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to Daniel Lee

Ho Ho...
The all time favourite drift machine is reborn.
Old 08-03-2007, 05:16 PM
5bhp Stock

Now I know what I wanna buy for myself in 2008 or early 2009... Roughly RM50K (based on the conversion rate of 30:1 from 1.5M JPY)...guess our "custom-thing" won't tax so much for 1.5-liter lar hoh? :)
Old 08-03-2007, 06:30 PM
100bhp Junior

Legend continuously born..
1.5 ltr but still can drift..
driftmaniac!!!
Old 08-03-2007, 06:31 PM
5bhp Stock

OK.. The first impression I got was "How come so familiar wan?"

Hate to be a party pooper but all the pix above are photoshopped. lookin properly and the pix arent even photoshopped properly. can see that the person who posted the pix used the smudge tool and it's messy.

pic 1. is alot like a 350z body.. look at how the bonnet shapes and the lights i reckon are probably from an rx8

pic 2 and 3. to me the sides are stolen from a celica and it shows right up til the rear where the taillights are a deadgiveaway! celica's taillamps. and the body and front headlamps suggest a scion.

pic 4. i guess a scion and celica too.

don't get ur hopes up too high la.. this one not real for sure wan. look properly =) compare pix to the cars i just mentioned n u will see the similarities
Old 08-03-2007, 07:01 PM
50bhp Junior

andrew, wat u said is relevant, but i still wish this is for real..
Old 08-03-2007, 07:23 PM
5bhp Stock

yea initially i too was excited.. i was like wah! so nice body n all... then look properly.. EH? how come so fake wan..

to add further la.. the front bumper from the first pic u go look at the nismo 350z... same wan. just tht added tht funny shark like thingy at the bottom.

and the 2nd n 3rd pix... u look at the fender arches can see tht they are not proportionate.

and the fourth pic i just looked at it.. could be COULD be lah lol a skyline body with cut n paste job here n there

no offence to anyone and i earlier wen i said 'the guy who posted i dont mean this guy here in zth.com who posted ie davidoo' i mean whoever who started circulating these images. i wish it was true oso lorh! haihs. cheerios!
Old 08-03-2007, 07:37 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to chinozie

Quote:
Originally Posted by curio888 View Post
andrew, wat u said is relevant, but i still wish this is for real..
yup...me 2nd that...the rumors is getting bad to worse...
Old 08-03-2007, 08:18 PM
1000bhp Senior

Wa. The front veli nice la... but how come the rear.. like celica...
Old 08-04-2007, 01:10 AM
2000bhp Senior

is this for real?? or just rumors.....

Anyway, the car looks pretty good.....
Old 08-04-2007, 02:03 AM
50bhp Junior

Hachirouku nicer hehehehe