Yokohama AD07 withdrawal syndrome

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
Since my AD07 botak already and I cannot find any old stock size 195/55/15, I've tried to calculate how much 4 pieces AD08 would cost me.

I did the math and the cost is = too much for me to afford!

So I downgraded to a set of Yoko S-drive (205/50/15, $320/piece).

I am now having some symptoms of AD07 withdrawal syndrome. They are:

1) Loosing my hearing. Because I swear I'm not hearing the tire noise anymore.. It like I've added soundproofing. So quiet that I can now hear the radio at low volume. and no more shouting in the car while driving....
2) Fear of corners . I am no longer confident at taking corners at my normal speed while using the AD07.
3) Depression : I hate myself! Why can't I afford nice things for my car ?? Why is my pay not increasing as the Yen increase??? Sobb....:banghead:

Anybody else facing the same symptoms?

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
yaikks...i dont have those symptoms cause i never used those tires...now that i read this..i must say im kind of glad i didnt...but i am on sdrives and its good...

---------- Post added at 07:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:27 PM ----------

2nd hand AD07 still can get what...brand new must see your luck...i heard some ppl still got

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
You are not alone.

Btw, I've tried S.Drive b4. It sucks. I find the tyre wall of S.Drive too soft. The car wobbles during cornering.

Have u tried Hankook Ventus R-S2?

I have and I can tell u that in terms of dry grip, if AD07 is a 9 point out of 10,
then the Hankook Ventus R-S2 is an 8 out of 10.

Plus the Hankook R-S2 is cheaper than AD07. Too bad... Hankook R-S2 also low on stock bcs
they wanna clear stock to make way for Hankook R-S3.

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
The S-drive does feel slippery during taking fast corners.
So now I just slow down during corners, hahaha..
I need normal tires with higher treadwear life anyways. Ekonomi Meleset! My AD07 can last only 1 year only.

Will wait for Hankook RS-3 price before decide anything. Hope it will not follow AD08 and RE-11 pricing ......

joshua7paul

Jun 6, 2009
tires...really a headache at times..zzzz...gonna downgrade to 15" soon...in preparation for the worst if econ is getting from bad to worst =p

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
i've recently swap back to my old AD07 for fun....
agree wif the noise dat AD07 made compared to my R1R....
suddenly feel dat my wheel bearing havin prob....

as for threadwear....
AD07 is quite a lasting tires la....
R1R seems like the longkang getting lesser n lesser everytime i look at it....

as for grip, both oso i'm confident.....
but i notice AD07 requires warm up, white R1R feels grippy right from the start anytime anywhere...
in wet, R1R can "cut" water better than AD07....

but mamatAE111...
wif the price u paid for the S-drive, u edi can buy R1R size 195/55/15

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
Right! i did not try to find R1R because treadwear is only 140! Drive slowly also tire will wear out. I drive long distance, if AD07 lat one year, R1R will last 8 months only!
Will wait fo hankook RS3 review.

I need to moonlight another job lah.....

---------- Post added at 07:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:06 PM ----------

Right! i did not try to find R1R because treadwear is only 140! Drive slowly also tire will wear out. I drive long distance, if AD07 lat one year, R1R will last 8 months only!
Will wait fo hankook RS3 review.

I need to moonlight another job lah.....

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
Dry conditions :

R1R - 4.5 (lower then others in this list)
AD07 - 4.6
AD08 - 5
RS-2 - 4.8
RS-3 . 5

RS-3 lost to AD08 due to wet conditions, 2points...
but RS-3 win back to AD08 by 1 point, due to noise level...

AD08 for 195/50/15 cost nearly RM500 !!! :banghead: :banghead:
i guessing...RS-3 will follow by closely...!!!

Anyone experienced both R1R and RS-2 ??? :wavey:
Appreciate on your feedbacks !

owh...BTW...how much Toyo Proxes R1R - 195/50/15 cost now days ?

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
i paid RM320/pc for R1R (195/55/15) 6mths ago.....
dat's the best price they can give for 4pcs purchase....

azbro

Sep 21, 2008
Yeah..I though I was the only one....I also dunno which tires to change now after AD07.....AD08 is totally out of the question due to the price issue....

Tires I'm going to get:
Toyo R1R...so so OK, trade off between wet and dry better than AD07...but 140 wear is something to think abt as well
Hankook R-S2...Dry will equal the AD07, but wets if AD07 can do 80km/h...R-S2 only 60Km/h
Toyo R888...out of the question...i dun need only outright dry grip...at least some wets grip is also important...good as a track tire...but on the street?..wasting prime rubber on highway drive and also bumper2bumper traffic
Parada Spec2...soft sidewall...
Bridgestone models....too expensive...I heard the RE-11 more expensive than AD08...only a few lucky souls got it cheap in Singapore when it did a launching there...no chance anymore.
Falken RT615- no size...

But Federal 595RS-R...maybe I'll get these...not as cheap as AD07...and I really dunno how it will perform..getting this is a sort of gamble for me...treadwear I heard is also same as R1R...140....anyone knows this stuff made from where?

pk47

Jun 8, 2004
Bro azbro, thanks for the details information. I just change to Toyo T1R, because of hardly find AD07 in the market and AD08 stil not in the market yet exept 15", and is dam expensive for 15", is close to RM300 per pcs.

azbro

Sep 21, 2008
Bro azbro, thanks for the details information. I just change to Toyo T1R, because of hardly find AD07 in the market and AD08 stil not in the market yet exept 15", and is dam expensive for 15", is close to RM300 per pcs.
Bro. thanks for the reply....but you said which one is close to Rm300..T1R or AD08 for 15inch?

wokie dokie....

i'm really2 :P interested in this Mivec 1.5 Mods...as i am new in this big boys toys games :D ....also currently my car is a :( 1.3 GLi wira sedan...looking at moding the car to a 4G91 heart, but then i when i found out about this mivec 1.5 thingy..i'm really2 :P interested to learn more about it...

:) hoping the PRO's, Sifu's & current user of the mivec 1.5 to help me on the specs, pro & con, engine power output, cost and also the items needed to make...