WHY Check engine light off? (blacktop 20v)

bus_3rd

May 18, 2008
Hello all..
want to ask everyone about mycar problem..

When i drive..nothing different happened i've seem..
2days ago i drive my corolla..ENGINE BLACKTOP 20V.
Suddenly mycar shutdown itself..
after that..i try to start but cannot..
the battery light is ok/on..all the power such as radio,lamp,wiper can on
then i look at my check engine light its OFF..

now im stuck with my car..
dunno what the problem :mad: :confused: :banghead:

HOPE SIFU2 CAN HELP ME :adore:

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
engine check light bulb KO perhaps...
try to open the meter cluster n replace or swap it first...

once done...run an engine diagnosis...

if no error code appeared...open up ur ECU ...follow your nose, smell if they any burned smell and look for any burned mark...

bus_3rd

May 18, 2008
check engine bulb KO?
i think if CE bulb KO..the engine still can be start..rite?

diagnosis?huhu..must towing my car to shop la..too far from city huhu..

if the ECU ok not burn..so what next step i should do?

---------- Post added at 12:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:42 AM ----------

UPDATE: finished checking myECU..nothing burned smell...board clean n clear..
so..what next must i check?

bus_3rd

May 18, 2008
cranking sound?
dont understandla chin..(tak faham la chin)
push on the switch just hear the starter n engine want to start only..like normal we start engine but doesnt start..

*sorry for english broken

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
did u check the fuse box..? did the engine oil light on when key on? just a guess...

bus_3rd

May 18, 2008
did u check the fuse box..? did the engine oil light on when key on? just a guess...
yup..engine oil light is on when key is on..
and before this engine oil light is also on..after engine start then the engine oil light is off..

FYI engine oil i change every month..

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
u should do this..

1. check fuse.. mayb burnt
2. open ur ECU & test it at a wshop.. or try other ECU on ur car
3. check ur spark plug
4. check fuel line..

hmmm.. what else? :hmmmm:

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
if engine can crank, all u need is fuel, spark and oxygen.

try checking the fuses, ecu, fuel pump, fuel regulator, spark plugs/cables, distributor, coil, ignitor...

bus_3rd

May 18, 2008

try checking the fuses, ecu, fuel pump, fuel regulator, spark plugs/cables, distributor, coil, ignitor...
engine can crank..fuel half tank, spark ok, oxygen dunno..
but is it possible with that prob make the check engine off?
if error on any part the check engine will be tell like blink2 rite..thats tell something prob..
but this prob the check engine totally off..

is it possible the ECU KO already eventhough not burned on circuit?

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
Try using a wire a shorting the TE1 and E1 terminals in the "DIAGNOSIS" black box near the coil. this is to re-confirm if your bulb is KO or not. if it starts to blink then i think u better take your ECU for a checkup.... paging ECU sifuuuu

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
that's why I've told you to check the engine light bulb first...
once changed, from there you can check the check light n run diagnosis...

or else if bulb is working fine...still no engine light...most probably wiring problem...

where's your location...?

bus_3rd

May 18, 2008

that's why I've told you to check the engine light bulb first...
once changed, from there you can check the check light n run diagnosis...

or else if bulb is working fine...still no engine light...most probably wiring problem...

where's your location...?
im at kelantan

Hi, i am driving satria with first gen mivec. Unfortunately my alternator worn out recently. Is there any alternative for replacement since the same mivec alternator is really hard to find. Thank you.