Why are 2nd fords so cheap?

P

prolog

Is it because it's hard to find parts and high fuel consumption?

My budget is around 9K.
Obviously I don't want a Kancil..

I was thinking of Daihatsu Charade around 1992,
but then there are many telstars Sedan, bigger, with power steerings and power windows..

So are telstars reliable?
How about ford laser?
Why are fords so cheap?

I'm not going to make heavy use.
Just driving from point A to B..
Do you recommend me ford?

P

prolog

rollakid said:
9k.. buy ke70 and fix it..

enough to go from a to b, and very reliable.

is that corolla?
with 9k, i can only get rust-bucket corolla which is older than i am..
i hate rusts.
looks do matter to me to some extent

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
prolog said:
is that corolla?
with 9k, i can only get rust-bucket corolla which is older than i am..
i hate rusts.
looks do matter to me to some extent
not really... 5k is going to get you a rust bucket, 9k can get you a decent one already.. if you look hard enough.

Ingolstadt

Dec 26, 2005
www.evomalaysia.com
simple cars, not much of break down problems. perhaps it'll be a hass to source parts.

Guys, the availability of parts is not totally becoz of the Brand, but rather the specific model.

DewA_LavaU

Jan 11, 2004
Bintulu
Starlet EP82 turbo great pocket rocket oso.

hey dude whats is your others requirement other than 'getting from point A to B'.u shuld consider oso maintenance & parts coz old car can give u a lot of headache.y don u use 1k from your budget for kenari/kelisa downpayment & the rest is for simple mods (e.g tinted,14inch rim,mild exhaust 'sound' & 'not overdress' skirt+lips) and u'll be proud of it :shades_smile:

jz my another 5cent opinion :_:

P

prolog

DewA_LavaU said:
Starlet EP82 turbo great pocket rocket oso.

hey dude whats is your others requirement other than 'getting from point A to B'.u shuld consider oso maintenance & parts coz old car can give u a lot of headache.
Maintainance is not a problem for me..i guess..
But I don't want any breakdown and get stranded on a deserted highway..

ken yeang

good old proton saga is good too. damn tough car and pretty reliable. can find a decent one for abt 5k. The steel bumper is damn solid. When langgar with proton Wira, the Wira's bumper will fall off while the saga's bumper just suffer minor paint scratch!!!!

andy_coupe

Apr 30, 2006
London
With RM9k, why not get a Proton Iswara which is kinda bullet-proof technology (since you don't have too high-tech stuff to worry about) and also lasting. You can update the looks easily via the new model bumpers or after-market add-ons. I've tried many cars but honestly, for all it's worth, Iswaras are a good and easy-to-maintain model!

Alternatively, go for a big bike! You have the looks and the fuel economy; glamour and style... minus the traffic jam. I have a Kawasaki easyrider- 250cc Eliminator but beautifully modified to a 800cc Vulcan Classic easyrider. Recently painted and overhauled too. Invested RM5k in the bike this year, and if you're interested you may end up with a fair bargain for just RM6k. Hehe...

putra4767

Sep 13, 2004
car

You may get a saga megavalve 1992 model either auto a manual

If i were were u, i'll go hunt for a good saga 1.5s or I (auto) last model....

Shud be around 7-8k depending on cond...Cash bargain can give u a gud deal...

I bought one myself last year for RM10K cash.1owner silver colour 1992 model
Very-very happy with it....