What you get with poorly prepared spraying.

DarkAccoon

Hi Guys,

Would like to share a practice work with the community on why you should never rush a paint job.

Below is a spoiler that has heavy oxidation on the clearcoat which should not have happen as the car is only 5 years old and well taken care of by the owner. Note that only the spoiler display such symptoms.

Notice that there is no reflection at all on the spoiler.

A closer look reviews.... scratches.... oxidation and basically the touch feels very rough (rougher than a 2000 grit sandpaper...)

No reflection of the bottle

After 2 pass of Optimum hyper compound with a single sided wool pad. Ada sikit reflection ya

A 50/50 shot.

Macro shot on the inside paint. The basecoat. Notice the amount of scratches. These can no longer be safe as it happen below the clearcoat. Results of POOR PREPARATION during spraying.

Another not so clear 50/50 shot (i am horrible with this camera.)

At this point of time, i find it pointless to continue compounding or polishing the spoiler anymore. Will probably sent it to respray.

This is my first write up so please excuse me for any mistake or unorganized structure.

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
well done writeup! showing the power of the hyper compound!

DarkAccoon

s1tl: oh yeah, hyper compound is HYPER.

eohl79: i am currently limited by the size limit of zth photo uploads. Not too sure how to host larger photos. Trust me, i used a dslr to grab these and the pics were at 3264 X 2448 resolution.

*edited cause i ter-address wrong person*

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Nice writeup bro... You can chose display original size instead of thumbnail. But resize to 640 x 480 before going so la.

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
well said. Hyper Compound is HYPER! hahaha:biggrin:

DarkAccoon

Nice writeup bro... You can chose display original size instead of thumbnail. But resize to 640 x 480 before going so la.
Thanks man, I just realized I could do that. Watch out on my newer post. No longer thumbnails but the size did become.... a bit weird.

DA : that's a Myvi isn't it? Apparently it's a widespread epidemic amongst Myvi-ers. Mine's in worse condition than your friends one.

DarkAccoon

DA : that's a Myvi isn't it? Apparently it's a widespread epidemic amongst Myvi-ers. Mine's in worse condition than your friends one.
Yes, its a myvi. hmm.... what i understand was that the spoiler was installed outside by the sales rep when she purchased the car. So i assume the spoiler was also painted by outside workshop.

My wira spoiler is showing similiar symptoms and it was also a rush job by the painter.

DA : Mine was stock from the factory and it's already like that. My other Myvi is starting to show similar signs.

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
thedetailers.blogspot.com
welldone again master One kennot be (u simply did it again)

Congrats ...u show the heart matter over head matters

Keep them coming & very educative & infomative

Cheers on

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
Could it due to the weather? or the Sun.

DarkAccoon

unlikely but i would not discount that possibility.

Reason being is that the entire car is perfectly fine. Only specifically the spoiler.

So its either poor worksmanship or cheap item used. Can't say for certain.

---------- Post added at 11:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:31 PM ----------

Btw, those that are just starting to show similar signs, better take preventive measure by sealing or coating the part before its too late....

To all sifu......

Need help here. Currently having problem with my throttle body for 4G13 engine (Proton Wira fuel injection).
REV up & down non stop (air-cond off).
REV normal when air-cond on but will be REV up & down once air-cond temp automatically cut off.
Workshop checked with the reading system said that there is 0 step. Must change new throttle body. Inside gears already replaced last year.
If, look for new throttle body. Can I use 1600cc or 1800cc throttle body from proton as...