wat about Canon PS A80

bryan90s

Nov 24, 2003
planning to get one...the 270 deg rotate lcd is nice...

comment? <_<

simplythebest

good choice i think, if u take your own picture you can actually see properly before you snap .. good choice B) , i'm using the a70 :P

sterling^moss

Dec 18, 2003
Malacca
great camera! compact yet powerful. only a few minor flaw

-1.5" LCD is a bit stingy, but smaller LCD size reduces power consumption

-uses AA batteries. from previous experience. a grand daddy minolta digicam. AA batteries cannot last very long. so need to invest quite a sum for a few sets. but then again. mine was a grand daddy digicam.

-upgrading problems. if u're an enthusiast. then u might have to fork out a sum of $$ to buy an adapter b4 u can attach any lens/filter (eg wide angle lens, tele lens, UV filter, ND filter etc. ) on yr camera. i dunno how much is the adapter, but expect it at least > RM 100

-max aperature only at f 2.8. so should think twice abt it if u like to play with the depth of field

-no hot shoe for external flash. so u can only rely on the built in flash. external flash can yield better exposed shot with bouncing technique

- the protruding lens might take a bit of time while starting up/ shutting down the camera. and also need to take xtra care, try not to swing/shake the camera while the lens is out.

these are just minor ones. but the camera rewards u with high quailty pics, very detailed for its class @ a price other brands kenot beat! esp Sony :angry:

the camera itself is worth to mention oso, solidly built. a combination of metal & plastic keeps the weight of the camera down.

but nothing beats a hands on approach. if u happen to have any fren using this camera. pinjam & use it 4 a few days.

just my humble opinions. i'm a newbie in photography :)

devil

A friend of mine bought this camera..
She say this camera got Digital SLR type of feature ...

Me being a newbie... dunno wat's the different of SLR.. hehe!

Wondering anyone care to explain a bit ah .. hehehe

sterling^moss

Dec 18, 2003
Malacca
heavy ar?? quite ok for its klass la. G5 is way lot heavier than a80. both have almost same features. just tat G5 is a 5 MP digicam

Booost

but wat bout ixus400 or v3??? compare to A80! can anyone enlighten me? :( i dunno much bout cameras!! but planning to get either A80 or ixus400

bryan90s

Nov 24, 2003
i choose A80 is becoz of the rotating lcd screen...u knw sometime is very hard to ask ppl take photo for u especially when u r going out with alone or with gf

btw wat camera has this feature too

sterling^moss

Dec 18, 2003
Malacca
Originally posted by bryan90s@Feb 13 2004, 11:25 AM
i choose A80 is becoz of the rotating lcd screen...u knw sometime is very hard to ask ppl take photo for u especially when u r going out with alone or with gf

btw wat camera has this feature too
rotating LCD? a lot mate. canon powershot G4 & G5. nikon coolpix 8700. minolta dimage A1. all are high end cameras. so...a bit pricey. i'm not very sure how much. but should be well over $3k. the cheapest here is G5. $2.5k+ with free gifts.

try using a tripod + timer. tat should help to take better pics rather than rotating the LCD screen.

but wat bout ixus400 or v3??? compare to A80! can anyone enlighten me?  i dunno much bout cameras!! but planning to get either A80 or ixus400
ixus 400 is more to point & shoot cameras. less manual functions for u to play with. so if u're into photography. A80 would be a better choice. as 4 those who's gonna buy a new digicam. try to wait 4 a few months. coz a lot of cameras are rolling out soon. like canon powershot S1 pro, ixus 410, a75 etc..sony oso got a few models take a look here

canon

sony

booost, change to black supra aledi?? joined blackie's gang ar? :rolleyes:

Booost

ehhee.....moss, u oso changed to AR already ar?? ekeek..nice pics!! where to get it? PM me!!
sorry OT :$

hhhm....ixus410...must be quite xpnesive then!! but ill wait n see...:P

HI,

any one tried before water injection ?........

where can the high pressure pump, not fuel pump...
and the nozzle,,,,

where can get in malaysia, hm i saw those fan have spray bubble water too but where to get the thing ?.........