Vios to Altezza

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
My mechanic say the same thing, Got one time my vacuum hose came off and mt VR was boosting 1 plus bar. Nice power to have, but mechanic mentioned your car now 20 plus years old, even though the engine is built to be turbo, keep at stock 0.6 boost. Boosting pass 1 bar add very high stress to the engine......lol
welp.... *looks outside* yea... almost 20, 1.3 bar....:laugh:

Well what's past is past, sometimes some tuners just don't have that fate coincidence with you, i am pretty sure they did well with others but also disappoint some in the process. Am happy to hear the E36 found new life in the hands of new owner. Perhaps you also don't have that fate coincidence with the car, that's why its' giving you so much nightmares. For now, its time to recollect finances, and use 1 or 2 years to find, perhaps an E90 ?
I spend a shit ton on that E36. It'll be hella more than 1-2 years man. Probably 5. Hahaha... sob sob... sigh

Anyway I am trying to find means and ways to recollect my cash back.

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
I spend a shit ton on that E36. It'll be hella more than 1-2 years man. Probably 5. Hahaha... sob sob... sigh

Anyway I am trying to find means and ways to recollect my cash back.
Yeah i read that you spent about 26k, which is also the same price i paid to settle all my E46 converted including mods like enable manual mode of auto gear, low temp thermostat, radiator, used high speed fan, front brake system, FICD, and Premium adjustable

I erm... sigh... spent more than that. I didn't declare everything. It was more like 40k

DNGFashion

Apr 20, 2017
Actually if I had done the conversion myself the car would've costed me 40k instead of the 26k I paid.

This mech only had to look at my ex-e36 and pointed out all the issues with the car. He's pretty much sorted out all the problems with the car and my friends wife has been boosting around with 460whp horsepower (Mainline dyno.. figures are about 20-30% less than Dynojet) without issues..
Mind sharing who and where about of this mechanic

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
I erm... sigh... spent more than that. I didn't declare everything. It was more like 40k
WTF mate ! That's painful to know ! I think another 20k + is for refurbishing the interior ?

Mind sharing who and where about of this mechanic
Yeah sure. These guys located in Pendustrian Puchong - Wai N Lin. Ah Wai is the head mech and Ah Lin his brother is the 2nd guy. The helper and youngest of the lot is Ah Wei. Lots of Ah's.

WTF mate ! That's painful to know ! I think another 20k + is for refurbishing the interior ?
Man - you don't know the half of it. First day I had it stripped inside the carpet was soaking wet. Aircon pipe drain wasn't connected and seeping into the cabin. Smelt like wet dog. Rear seats were never used so the leather had dried up and peeled like scabs. Almost all the wiring was bunched up and left hap-hazard under the carpet.

Best thing was some of the wiring work was so shoddy it didn't even have insulation tape protecting the twist connections. Then I found one direct from battery 4ga power cable straight into the cabin connected to..... nothing. Exposed and had it shorted to ground bye bye something. I had sooooooooo many live wires exposed to the wet carpet man.... it's a miracle it didn't burn down. Then the main fan and aircon fan were connected to ONE relay so you can imagine how melted that relay was. I spent a shit ton fixing up the interior and wiring. Re-doing the wiring and wiring harness was all there. Then grounding was so bad I had to redo that too. Oh and the modification to the fueling system was so scary too, that took a small chunk of my money to fix too. Jeezuz.

Admittedly I spent some cash doing the autofoam treatment to stiffen and quieten down the car so that was one sum of money I probably shouldn't have spent. Then I spent some money on new suspension too. HLSH from a famous brand that I don't want to mention because they had absolutely rubbish aftersales service.

Basically my friend who bought the car just needs to fix up the engine mis-matches and potentially a new standalone because the shitty spitronics ECU was absolutely garbage in managing the car. Made it worse when no one knew how to tune it too, including the distributors own tuner who somehow managed to cause an engine fire..... my engine.

Anyway my story is a long one. I don't want to think about it anymore because it's no longer my car. My friend untung all the new bits and pieces I spent including a new turbo housing, wastegate and shit tons of other things I changed..

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
Yeah sure. These guys located in Pendustrian Puchong - Wai N Lin. Ah Wai is the head mech and Ah Lin his brother is the 2nd guy. The helper and youngest of the lot is Ah Wei. Lots of Ah's.

Man - you don't know the half of it. First day I had it stripped inside the carpet was soaking wet. Aircon pipe drain wasn't connected and seeping into the cabin. Smelt like wet dog. Rear seats were never used so the leather had dried up and peeled like scabs. Almost all the wiring was bunched up and left hap-hazard under the carpet.

Best thing was some of the wiring work was so shoddy it didn't even have insulation tape protecting the twist connections. Then I found one direct from battery 4ga power cable straight into the cabin connected to..... nothing. Exposed and had it shorted to ground bye bye something. I had sooooooooo many live wires exposed to the wet carpet man.... it's a miracle it didn't burn down. Then the main fan and aircon fan were connected to ONE relay so you can imagine how melted that relay was. I spent a shit ton fixing up the interior and wiring. Re-doing the wiring and wiring harness was all there. Then grounding was so bad I had to redo that too. Oh and the modification to the fueling system was so scary too, that took a small chunk of my money to fix too. Jeezuz.

Admittedly I spent some cash doing the autofoam treatment to stiffen and quieten down the car so that was one sum of money I probably shouldn't have spent. Then I spent some money on new suspension too. HLSH from a famous brand that I don't want to mention because they had absolutely rubbish aftersales service.

Basically my friend who bought the car just needs to fix up the engine mis-matches and potentially a new standalone because the shitty spitronics ECU was absolutely garbage in managing the car. Made it worse when no one knew how to tune it too, including the distributors own tuner who somehow managed to cause an engine fire..... my engine.

Anyway my story is a long one. I don't want to think about it anymore because it's no longer my car. My friend untung all the new bits and pieces I spent including a new turbo housing, wastegate and shit tons of other things I changed..
Lesson to TS and all of us here who wants to keep or buy an old car, all the above might be something we might ran into, especially if we don't know the history of certain cars. With you capability, pretty sure you will be rolling in another fast car (define your fast) very soon. I am stopping all car mods effective Jan 2020, with this pandemic hit us so harrrdd. I think i will be stopping it until next year end, until things start to look abit better. However, what needs to be fixed must be fixed ... Stupid lower arm bushing went out during these times, together with the rear arm bush ... Considering its already 21 years old, i think those bushings consider quite durable since they never been changed before. Should i go with Hardrace bush ?

Thanks,
Ken

Lesson to TS and all of us here who wants to keep or buy an old car, all the above might be something we might ran into, especially if we don't know the history of certain cars. With you capability, pretty sure you will be rolling in another fast car (define your fast) very soon. I am stopping all car mods effective Jan 2020, with this pandemic hit us so harrrdd. I think i will be stopping it until next year end, until things start to look abit better. However, what needs to be fixed must be fixed ... Stupid lower arm bushing went out during these times, together with the rear arm bush ... Considering its already 21 years old, i think those bushings consider quite durable since they never been changed before. Should i go with Hardrace bush ?

Thanks,
Ken
Hardrace bushings are great. I know not many brands (available to us) have bushes available for BMWs. Hardrace and Superpro have bits and pieces of bushings for E36 but not everything.

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
Hardrace bushings are great. I know not many brands (available to us) have bushes available for BMWs. Hardrace and Superpro have bits and pieces of bushings for E36 but not everything.
Or i just buy a fullkit from UK, its quite cheap for set of lower armbar and bushing with meyle bush in it, will that be better to hold 1JZ torque ?

I don't know tbh. I feel even stock is good enough but I like how it feels when I went and did Superpro last time in my old car.

Wayne_92

Mar 28, 2020
Wah suddenly so many replies and moving into BMW territory, sorry for the late reply, was flooded with work..

It's a Toyota. Parts are not that easy to wear down if you change everything properly and not skimp on maintenance.
Yeah, im estimating atleast 8k ready to accommodate the new change of parts one-go (bushings, new o2 Sensors, timing belts and water pumps, solenoid, Ignition coils, oil gasket, normal fluid changes) in hopes to have a hassle free ride for few thousand miles. but correct me sifus if my estimation is off target :grimacing:.

I've been reading bout the issues this car may pop-up, and SEEMS, seem la.. not much on Engine and gearbox issues. Most issues would be the solenoid, o2 sensors and plugs. Any altezza owner can validate? :sweatsmile:

If you’re going for an AUTOMATIC, might as well get an E90 325i with an in-line straight 6 engine with a ZF 6 speed automatic.

That screaming BEAMS engine isn’t all that fun without a manual, and since you’re a casual driver, no 4 banger comes close to the in-line 6 for smoothness.

Also, the current ZF 8 speed automatic used across all BMW is the best automatic transmission in the market right now. Period. The E90 is using the predecessor ZF 6 speed, which was the best 6 speed of its time. Not as seamless as the 8 speed, but still very good. So if you want an auto, why not get the best one for its time.

If you want godlike fuel efficiency, the E90 320d. If you cover a lot of KMs then get this for sure.

Next thing people will talk about reliability, cost of maintenance etc. For such an old car, both the Altezza and BMW, wear and tear is certainly there. Lots of things need replacement, rubber parts, AC coil, radiator etc. Oh for the same money I believe the BMW will be a younger car than Altezza.

Now comes the argument of the badge, Toyota vs BMW. Usually, Toyota is easy to maintain, due to abundance of spare parts in Malaysia, and ease of maintenance. That being said, comparing a Vios and Altezza is far fetched. Parts for Vios is super easy to come by, you can be stranded in Kota Bharu and still able to easily get spare parts there, worse case scenario you can go to UMW Toyota there. But remember you can’t do the same with an Altezza. Whereas with the E90, it was sold here in Malaysia, so there are still BMW specialists all over Malaysia that service it and carries parts for it. Don’t go to BMW dealerships they will slaughter you.

With your income and budget, DO NOT get a modified car. Maintaining a stock one at this age will not be easy. Getting a modified one will end up #1jzparking
Would agree with you bro ixeo, I've heard that the BMW E46 & E90 driving experience is awesome. I driven a F30 328i for a moment when CNY during late night in city area.. It was lovely wei... that was what poisoned me to get a RWD, haha. Of course, its a newer car la, cant expect the same experience for older gens of cars.

Personally i would try to avoid BMW cause most friends and relatives have sold off their old ones due to a few headache in maintaining it. Like fix this part, the other parts becomes gone case. I didnt ask too in depth.. but just the summary of it made me quite skeptical of their running reliability. Then again, it could be the age of the car like you have mentioned. But this is all my personal view la (Hope no BMer's gets offended :sweatsmile:) and do correct me.

For the 325i engine with inline 6 of 6L+ engine oil capacity, Im assuming a higher maintenance cost for regular interval services (E.g. Spark plugs & oil change)? Plus, roadtax is doubled from altezza being a 2.5L :frowning:.

Based on what i've gathered, i think altezza could be the balance? Have more performance than a Vios, though not as great performance as BMWs, but have the reliability to last like a Camry? that is IF, most of the major wear and tear parts are changed before driving out one.

With your income and budget, DO NOT get a modified car. Maintaining a stock one at this age will not be easy. Getting a modified one will end up #1jzparking
Haha, definitely will avoid them for now.. Heard alot of horror stories about modified car. Even if i do get the altezza, my aim would be to keep it well stocked and running, except for few handling tweaks (Arms, Bars, Coilovers, etc.). Wont be hardcore whacking it on tracks all the time.

Thanks,
Ken
Haha i will take note on that, brother ken. Im not sure if Vios is considered fast ah, but its well taken care off with minor tweaks by installing ARB's and struts bar with steel brakelines. I do throttle harder on highway corners from time to time :grimacing:. Though i think have change my driving habit when it comes to RWD. But like what izso said, I think its best for me to go a test drive 1st and see what are my expectations and considerations on it. really cant wait for this Virus to go away..

Btw wanna ask, i heard altezza always have this Lower arm bushing issues and ball join issues. Most of the bushings i can find on the web are "Hardrace" brands. They dont supply Original Toyota or any other alternative OEM bushings anymore for altezza?

And do coilovers replaces entirely the need for absorbers and springs? The stock absorber almost 3k for 4 sides :coldsweat:. If thats the case, wouldnt coilover be a better option?

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
Wah suddenly so many replies and moving into BMW territory, sorry for the late reply, was flooded with work..

Yeah, im estimating atleast 8k ready to accommodate the new change of parts one-go (bushings, new o2 Sensors, timing belts and water pumps, solenoid, Ignition coils, oil gasket, normal fluid changes) in hopes to have a hassle free ride for few thousand miles. but correct me sifus if my estimation is off target :grimacing:.

I've been reading bout the issues this car may pop-up, and SEEMS, seem la.. not much on Engine and gearbox issues. Most issues would be the solenoid, o2 sensors and plugs. Any altezza owner can validate? :sweatsmile:

Would agree with you bro ixeo, I've heard that the BMW E46 & E90 driving experience is awesome. I driven a F30 328i for a moment when CNY during late night in city area.. It was lovely wei... that was what poisoned me to get a RWD, haha. Of course, its a newer car la, cant expect the same experience for older gens of cars.

Personally i would try to avoid BMW cause most friends and relatives have sold off their old ones due to a few headache in maintaining it. Like fix this part, the other parts becomes gone case. I didnt ask too in depth.. but just the summary of it made me quite skeptical of their running reliability. Then again, it could be the age of the car like you have mentioned. But this is all my personal view la (Hope no BMer's gets offended :sweatsmile:) and do correct me.

For the 325i engine with inline 6 of 6L+ engine oil capacity, Im assuming a higher maintenance cost for regular interval services (E.g. Spark plugs & oil change)? Plus, roadtax is doubled from altezza being a 2.5L :frowning:.

Based on what i've gathered, i think altezza could be the balance? Have more performance than a Vios, though not as great performance as BMWs, but have the reliability to last like a Camry? that is IF, most of the major wear and tear parts are changed before driving out one.

Haha, definitely will avoid them for now.. Heard alot of horror stories about modified car. Even if i do get the altezza, my aim would be to keep it well stocked and running, except for few handling tweaks (Arms, Bars, Coilovers, etc.). Wont be hardcore whacking it on tracks all the time.

Haha i will take note on that, brother ken. Im not sure if Vios is considered fast ah, but its well taken care off with minor tweaks by installing ARB's and struts bar with steel brakelines. I do throttle harder on highway corners from time to time :grimacing:. Though i think have change my driving habit when it comes to RWD. But like what izso said, I think its best for me to go a test drive 1st and see what are my expectations and considerations on it. really cant wait for this Virus to go away..

Btw wanna ask, i heard altezza always have this Lower arm bushing issues and ball join issues. Most of the bushings i can find on the web are "Hardrace" brands. They dont supply Original Toyota or any other alternative OEM bushings anymore for altezza?

And do coilovers replaces entirely the need for absorbers and springs? The stock absorber almost 3k for 4 sides :coldsweat:. If thats the case, wouldnt coilover be a better option?
Vios is a good for its league, a car that help lots of my friends in building their careers and businesses until they are financially stable and get their ideal car. I would say keep it as your daily with low maintenance costs.

This is ZTH style, original topic will sway to others stuffs eventually so get used to it :). Altezza is very uncommon car in Malaysia, if you look for parts at Ebay probably you will see more. Any car with bushing will have issues eventually, not to mention a 15+ years old car. Hardrace is a good brand, i also want to upgrade this brand of bushing to my E46 but i consider cheaper and durable option.

Stock absorber gives you the comfort and performance where most people can accept, it will definitely one or 2 levels above Vios as its sports tuned. I would recommend get properly designed and performance proven coilovers like BC Racing, Tein, F-Tuned, or the one i am using Premium (Ex-Titan).

Well, my advice to TS would be to go find Altezza owner groups on FB, not sure if they are still active now as most of them are no longer in the modding phase, and just maintain and drive. Over there you will also get real life feedback on running one.

Don't ask questions like "easy to maintain or not". Too vague. Ask questions like, have the Altezza ever leave you stranded. Or was there a time you couldn't get parts. Etc. Easy is relative. What is easy to you may not be easy for me.

As for alternatives in that price range with a RWD. Other than BMW I cannot think of anything else.

A few second ago i saw my cars picture in the internet..the suspect want to sell the car which is lower price than the market...i really2 recognized the part of the car..that belonging to me before..but have been stolen a year ago.....So,,,what should i do now??any member can help me??