Turbo cars don't have intercooler

potato

Oct 15, 2009
Notice most family car turbo cars like Merc, BMW, Audi, Volvo, VW, Peug don't come with any intercoolers? For Malaysian weather is it sufficient, or it's bad of the turbo & engine in the long run?

Last time Merc, Audi don't do big boost on their compressor/turbos for lower spec models but nowadays we see most of the has increased the boost to gain more power with smaller engines, which in terms translate to higher stress to the engine & more heat.

You'd see Japanese Turbo cars usually comes with Intercooler stock but their boost are usually much higher.

I know whether it's small boost of big boost an intercooler is always good to have, but seems manufacturer are pretty confident that their turbos can go without intercoolers.

But of course for engines like 335i with big boost they dare not save the intercoolers.

Or is it planned so that they can make profits out of repair & replacement once the warranty period expires & problems start occuring?

VTEC LoVeR

Jun 30, 2010
Kulim
Hi bro, as far I know, all the turbo will be attached with the intercooler. Either is an air cool or water cool type. And the location of this part will not necessary at the center of the front bumper and very obvious. They are hiding in some where and when we 'cucuk' them as we think it is a NA car, later on, we just able to smell their smoke only...

BeCool

Jan 4, 2006
I know some car dun have intercooler with turbo charge, not necessary to have intercooler if the car boost is under certain level.
If not mistaken boost under 0.6 should be ok without intercooler. Unless high boost =)

nadziad

May 14, 2011
johor
i have read some articles like the golf the intercooler stay with the engine and they use water intercooler...that make their engine compact and powerful..correct me if i'm wrong.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
if not mistaken, golf gti intercooler sandwiched with the radiator...

euro cars usually have hidden intercooler

even japanese car with oem intercooler usually hidden except for evo i guess...

V-8

Dec 22, 2007
correct me if i'm wrong.all high pressure turbo's have intercoolers,but for low pressure or soft turbo's some have intercoolers and some dont.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor

SURBO????

bo093

Jul 6, 2011
'The 3.0 L (2,960 cc) VG30ET was available in early production with a single Garrett T3 turbocharger (6.7 psi (0.46 bar)) and a 7.8:1 compression ratio. The USDM version produced 200 hp (150 kW) and 227 lb·ft (308 N·m). In April 1987, the "W"-Series VG30 was released, horsepower was bumped to 205 hp (153 kW). ALL '87 models featured a T3 turbocharger (6.7 psi (0.46 bar)). In 1988 compression ratio changed to 8.3:1 and the turbo changed to a single Garrett T25 turbocharger (4.5 psi (0.31 bar)) to reduce turbo lag. No VG30ET was ever factory equipped with an intercooler as they featured low boost pressure for fast response.

It was used in the following vehicles:

1984–1989 Nissan 300ZX Turbo
Nissan Leopard
Nissan Gloria/Nissan Cedric (230 PS)
Nissan GTP-ZX Turbo Race car (Not-Production)'

Quoted from wikipedia, VG30ET

One of the japanese engine without intercooler.

Can run, probably less efficient only. Last time one Ford model had BOT without intercooler......

boi

Sep 4, 2008
boost response is quicker if didnt use intercooler but it will increase intake manifold temperature...
if want to counter it can use water injection kit...
normally turbo engine without intercooler came form early 80s car such as mazda XG...