Turbine Doubts

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
Hi brothers and sisters,

I have a very general question to ask, hope i can learn for you all sii fuus.

If an engine with a stock turbine with no boost controller can boost up to 0.6bar; then, a bigger turbine takes over and it only boost 0.4 bar.

Why is it like this? :X-:

Is it the bigger turbine would be heavier that exhuast gasses would escape through drain pipe rather than turning it? Please compare. :confused_smile:

Thank you so much in advance. :_:

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Remember to throw away the boost limiter... I threw mine away n boost went up to 0.9 bar.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
first let us know wht engine n wht turbo
new turbo n old turbo

there are few reasons
1st ur actuator is already weak
then check ur actuator flap could have hairline cracks
check ur boost cut selenoid

could also be that ur new turbo has an actuator to open up at 0.4

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Remember to throw away the boost limiter... I threw mine away n boost went up to 0.9 bar.

Hi bro, previously was boosting at 0.9bar with a Manual Boost Controller. Then i took out the controller hoping to boost at standard pressure. See See~ Aiks~ 0.4BAR~ :confused_smile:

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
first let us know wht engine n wht turbo
new turbo n old turbo

there are few reasons
1st ur actuator is already weak
then check ur actuator flap could have hairline cracks
check ur boost cut selenoid

could also be that ur new turbo has an actuator to open up at 0.4

Hi bro,

Okay, the engine is B8T 180

As i know the stock turbine is VJ20

Now VF10 turbine

Actuator opens at 0.4bar :confused_smile: how do i check this?

Thank you so much. :_:

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
If confirm actuator kaput, time for a wastegate... hehehe...

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
If confirm actuator kaput, time for a wastegate... hehehe...

Wow, hahaha~

How much would it cost to chuck in a wastegate?

Erm, the thing is that i don't really know kaput or not. :confused_smile:

Please give some hints sii fuu~

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Well, if original Tial 38mm, should be around RM 900++.

If those Thai-made clones, RM 400++.

I'm using StreetGate-38mm, made in PRC. So far, ok. Spare parts same as Tial. Cost? RM 600.

Anyway, since u already have a larger turbo, why not do a 'banana' manifold also n chuck the wastegate on it.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Well, if original Tial 38mm, should be around RM 900++.

If those Thai-made clones, RM 400++.

I'm using StreetGate-38mm, made in PRC. So far, ok. Spare parts same as Tial. Cost? RM 600.

Anyway, since u already have a larger turbo, why not do a 'banana' manifold also n chuck the wastegate on it.

Thanks bro! :_: I'll put it on my upgrade list liao.

Can the original actuator be serviced? :confused_smile:

Thank you thank you.

jambunk86

Jun 19, 2005
Kajang
ken!...

wah, another b8 pilot...im using the thai wastegate...once broken the diapharm...after tuka, ok...hope help u a bit...btw im using b8t too...vj23 original...hehe...

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
ken!...

wah, another b8 pilot...im using the thai wastegate...once broken the diapharm...after tuka, ok...hope help u a bit...btw im using b8t too...vj23 original...hehe...

Wow JAM!

Nice to meet you. Thank you so much for the comments. :_:

It seems like B8 is getting unpopular soon compared to others. :confused_smile:

Boosting pressure at? :mouth_closed: Wuuhuuuu.

Hi Guys, I love turbo cars so i'm planning to turbo my CPS in a few year time. But, right now i'm just researching all the options and ways I can mod my car in the future.

I have a tonne of questions but this is the main one.

What's the difference between 4g93T, 4g63T, GSR and EVO 3 engine?

People usually go for GSR as it is said to be the most powerful. But will it be better if I just turbo my original engine? Less hassel with JPJ endorsement and such i assume? Any...