Things Are Not Really Cheap in JB?

idmanotic

Oct 6, 2013
Hi guys! This is what I am thinking about. I am from SG and I go JB to shop, makan, repair car etc once in a while.

I went today and at a plate of rice that cost me RM6 and a can of coke RM2. Total RM8. If I take exchange rate into consideration, RM8 is acutally quite cheap.

I don't really know about salary in JB. but I just feel that spending RM8 on a meal is not exactly cheap unless you are earning at least RM4-5K a month?

Btw, this is just a shop along the road side, not shopping center or restaurant.

So, I just think cost of living is actually quite high in JB. I feel its cheap because of the exchange rate.

devious17

Kay Ell
with just RM4k-5k and a bachelor you will probably be just scraping through the month.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
Thank you ah jib gor, I had a Maggie goreng ayam at mamak for RM7.00 last night. Thank you again.

Lucky the mix rice I go regularly at the road side is only maybe 30 - 50 sen extra. But usually i roughly can estimate how they count so just take roughly the amount cost for the dishes. 1 meat, 1 vege and tomato ketchup beans - RM5-RM5.80 Not including any drinks.

next time must wear torn pagoda t-shirt, patched up short & japanese slippers, slip a crumpled rm10 in your shorts as well & some coins....
maybe they can give a cheaper price haha...Oopps but remember to park your BMW far away. :biggrin:

next time must wear torn pagoda t-shirt, patched up short & japanese slippers, slip a crumpled rm10 in your shorts as well & some coins....
maybe they can give a cheaper price haha...Oopps but remember to park your BMW far away. :biggrin:
Good idea but I think I can park my SLK right in front of them and still get cheaper price :biggrin:

driving SLK means still can afford economy rice, unless u ride those old school bicycles (the ones without brake, got to use your feet to stop) & park it infront.

Use leg to stop, sounds like BMX wor...consider rich :rofl:
So instead of park BMW far away, BMX also have to park a distance :rofl:

Can only afford BMX

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Gotta find some ulu roadside place to eat.
My place, Jaya One still okay. The back lane there, take a mountain of rice, 2 dishes. RM3.50 if vege.
My friend Egg and Drumstick. RM5. Still, it is good in PJ/KL.
So it depends on how willing you are to find, to walk, to endure the cleanliness.
And don't order drinks. Take from office. :biggrin: Or just bring mineral water, refill.
Life.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
I normally have my breakfast, lunch and dinner outside. But now I make my own Egyptian omelet, French toast, Malaysian half boiled eggs, fresh milk, Arabica coffee and Cameron tea for breakfast.
JB food is not that cheap compared to KL.

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Had nasi lemak ayam with egg for RM6.50..

Lucky the mix rice I go regularly at the road side is only maybe 30 - 50 sen extra. But usually i roughly can estimate how they count so just take roughly the amount cost for the dishes. 1 meat, 1 vege and tomato ketchup beans - RM5-RM5.80 Not including any drinks.
Extra meaning increase in price? But 50 sen of RM5 is 10% increase woh!.....:banghead::banghead:

---------- Post added at 04:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

You have read many durain buying stories....hahahahahha:rofl:

Hi

My inspira braking system not so good...anyone have idea how to improve?