the Blind and the Beauty

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
Hi friends

I got to work on a BMW, my first German ride. In our small island, it embodies beauty, quality, comfort and pride.

However, its eyes have gone from worst to blinded. i had to restore the same with a little patience and a lot of passion.

Please enjoy the transformation..

Upon arrival

Headlights washed and clayed

THE LEFT SIDE

Nearer... not appearing a much damaged as the right side...

Let's see what close inspection reveals

From different angles

Extreme close-up

A medley of defects from swirls to deep scratches and...

.... stone chips ... so many of them

starting to turn opaque.... and

... OMG..... this hurts

a very deep scratch...

Correction in progress...

Localizing remaining defects... and

TA DA

same same but new.... only restored with Almighty's grace

Transparency is the only acceptable standard

the LED is not forgotten

Hello!

Remember

Now

THE RIGHT SIDE

Close -up

Blinded beauty

Like a brick wall, it should have a very high score on the opacity scale.

Can you see the LED?

Another view

close-up

and surprisingly it was hiding many more defects underneath it.

The Afters

Transparency is the key

Light allowed to travel

Right side done

The ex-brick-wall headlight

Remember

Now :nomore:

Beauty revealed

Thanks for reading. Your comments and thoughts are most welcome.

Zaid

Impronte

Oct 10, 2011
nicely derive..

dunno when is my baby turn.. glass full with watermark, body full with swirl, headlamp look like both sights (rabun defat&rabun jauh) already..

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
thanks so much for your encouraging words buddies

Great work! among all detailing I love headlamps restore the most!
:top: the beauty lies in the eyes

defining work of the master
still noobie la :biggrin:

nicely derive..

dunno when is my baby turn.. glass full with watermark, body full with swirl, headlamp look like both sights (rabun defat&rabun jauh) already..
learned from the sifus, many things can be done, with a little and a lot of passion :idea:

really eye opener article!
thanks buddy, here's what i did, thought of sharing it before, but simply forgot

here's what i did

Basically an inverse zenith method to go least aggressive
Washed with a MPC available locally
clayed with Uber clay
Wetsand 1500 grit mirka sandpaper with megs sanding block
Got down to 800, then 600 (still little done in terms of correction)
Coarser grit 400 then 320 grit mirka sandpaper
moving up to 600, 800
Still higher 1500 grit (Sifus' rule at this point i made sure i removed the 800 grit marks- didn't have the 1200 grit paper)
Refined with 2000 grit and finally with 2500
Compounded with Menz PG S34A on 4" LC orange pad via Makita rotary
Polished with Menz 203s on 4" LC wool via the rotary (to get the best of both the cutting power of the wool pad and the smoothness of 203s)
Finished with PO85rd on 4" LC white via the makita
sealed with Menz PowerLock

hope it helps :itsme:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Nice job. I know this takes a lot of time and patience as BMW's headlamps are so hard.

Impronte

Oct 10, 2011
nowadays manufacturer almost using plastic 'eyes'.. are there any difference process for both materials.. (glass&plastic type)?

Basically an inverse zenith method to go least aggressive
Washed with a MPC available locally
clayed with Uber clay
Wetsand 1500 grit mirka sandpaper with megs sanding block
Got down to 800, then 600 (still little done in terms of correction)
Coarser grit 400 then 320 grit mirka sandpaper
moving up to 600, 800
Still higher 1500 grit (Sifus' rule at this point i made sure i removed the 800 grit marks- didn't have the 1200 grit paper)
Refined with 2000 grit and finally with 2500
Compounded with Menz PG S34A on 4" LC orange pad via Makita rotary
Polished with Menz 203s on 4" LC wool via the rotary (to get the best of both the cutting power of the wool pad and the smoothness of 203s)
Finished with PO85rd on 4" LC white via the makita
sealed with Menz PowerLock

hope it helps :itsme:
Yup, thanks.
Did follow some of your work done, will post when I compile the pictures for my first headlamp challenge....:driver:

Hi there,

Anybody know of any clutch upgrade for Saga BLM? My original clutch even after replacement is not holding well...

Thanks and Regards.