*TAKING ADVANTAGE!* Need URGENT advice from friends & experience ppl in ZTH.

Dear Bros of ZTH,

This is what I was told by my friend, so I'll briefly explained it as detail as possible
what is going on. Need your kind advice ASAP. As he is in a great dilemma and
depressed as the cost is too much for him to pay. Thanks!

A friend of mine got into a small accident on 24th of March 2012
He accidentally *Kissed* a Honda Insight Rear Bumper & both came
down to check the damage. Results both suffered from just a minor dent and a bit
of scratches.

SO, end up discussing about paying for the damages. My friend told the owner of the
Honda Insight that he know an Uncle from a workshop who can nicely do it for him as good
as new, told him that is the best way he could do to pay for the damages. So, both exchange
numbers and would keep in touch somehow.

End up one day, he call up my friend to meet up to discuss further on the payment & repairs.
So, he went to a restaurant where his parents went with him as well to settle with this
MR.A (Honda Insight Owner).

He told my friend, the cost of the REPAIR is...
(repair? I thought the agreement was to repair at an Uncle's workshop that my
friend recommended?)

RM2500 :thefinger::banghead:

So, my friend was shock then discussed awhile, price went down to RM1900
:damnmate:

I told my friend? WTF!? Repair for rear bumper cost RM1900!?? :mad:
I said, he change the whole freaking rear bumper or what!?

I could even get a full bodykit at that price. :banghead:

My friend: That's way too much and RM1900 is too much.
MR.A: That's the price, cuz of you are the one who knocked my bumper some of the metal parts
behind the rear bumper damage as well"
My friend: Sorry, I cant afford to pay that much...

Still i was stunned with that explanation and I think my friend here is being taken
advantage here just cuz he look like those very timid and innocent guy.

So, conclusion, I said that is very unfair to you which that was not what was agreed
on the day of the accident. My friend only agreed to pay for the cost of the damages
when repaired a workshop that my friend knew.

But it seems that this dishonest owner change his whole rear bumper or watsoever things
that he changed and bill my friend which is what I suspected. No repairs on bumper would
cost RM2500 and yet can reduce price to RM1900...Lamborghini bumper ka? :thefinger:

No police report was made previously. Since both agreed to settle outside but this is way
too much. Daytime Robbery in public.

So, my friend thought maybe every month pay him RM300. I said no, I said why not u try
to tell him that example if he were to knock your car from behind & I changed my whole
rear bumper and charged you RM3000 will you pay!? I can even say that you knock my
bumper end up my muffler and etcs also need to change.

Will that be fair? Cuz I change without your consent and out of our agreement and then
bill you?

Please advice guys...will let him know the best way to settle this as he do not want
any hassle as well.

Question:
1) I just want to know if anyone knew what's the price of a Brand New OEM Rear Bumper
of a Honda Insight?

2) What advise would you guys suggest for this case?

3) What can my friend do? Should he just ignored it since it has already passed 24hours or
check the price for such repair from the uncle and paid him accordingly?

To me such minor damages will not even exceed RM500.

Thanks in advance guys.

Danz_Eterna would love to get your advice too..thought of calling you yesterday LOL! :rofl:

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
  1. No idea.
  2. Report and claim under your friend's insurance since it is so costly, might as well just pay RM300 for akuan salah and sacrifice the NCD for the next insurance renewal. But it could be troublesome since your friend did not report within 24 hours after it happened, also subject to what car was your friend driving then compare how much the difference paying the insurance in full the following renewal with what he/she is paying now (assuming 55% NCD max). If just slight difference then settle it privately, otherwise just claim.
  3. Same as above.

My friend driving Saga FL. I also thought of it before since it has come to this, is best to just lodge a report
and claim insurance.

His car is just about 1 year so no worries on NCD.

Somehow, how will the process be by claiming insurance? I mean cant judge how bad is the damage
since repair was made.

Thanks btw bro!

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
Contact the insurance agent that do the insurance renewal for your friend, they will know what to do for the claiming process. Otherwise just contact taiko EvolutionZ :)

mick87

Apr 19, 2009
wtf?? to repaint a bumper wif minimal damage is only rm 150-300 only, wat the heck?

He changed Lambo Bumper gua...or some sort of Aftermarket bumpers :rofl: Really terrible mia orang la...extortion betul...

mick87

Apr 19, 2009
my previous experience was this guy he crashed his car into my driver side, damaging my driver door, right fender n the right corner of my front bumper, so we discussed n agreed to send my car to his ideal workshop nearby. I just leave my car thr and he settled the bill once done. This is the right way to do if u dont wan to involve insurance claim. That guy is frenly, we even go out for a drink while waiting to collect my car the next day.

wafuk

May 6, 2011
a friend of mine had the same incident, immediately went to a repair shop, got an estimate from the repair shop, both agreed with the price and settled on the spot..lucky at the time both of them had the time to go to the repair shop and the shop was near..summore both was not picky or anything.

in any case would like to know also the best approach to resolve this kind of issue like your friend. keep us updated bro.

if me ah...rm1.9k i told him can go to h*ll...
i would therefore make a police report.....say he jam brake infront of me then police will saman me rm300, cos
its my fault no matter wat. i get my bro in law to settle the saman for me rm100. all kautim hehe....

i save rm1.8k.

---------- Post added at 11:15 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:02 AM ----------

the price for new rear insight bumper rm1.6k, excluding paint.....

or maybe the fella just touch up the dent abit then bought this.
Honda Insight Mugen ABS bodykit with paint - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Johore - Mudah.my

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Hmm..you can actually contact Honda Parts or SC to get the quote for the parts involved. Or even some spare parts/accesories shops also knw the price. Get a few references, then show to the Mr.A. RM1900 for a dent is extremely terribly horribly vegetably ridiculous for a Honda. Tell Mr.A and come up with a new terms n conditions as:

1. He did not follow the orally agreed terms and conditions.
2. His price for repair is very expensive.

Show him the quote you get from suppliers/repair shops. Since it is over 24hours already, if the Mr.A insisted on your friend to pay RM1.9k, then he can just ignore it. Worst come to worst, just both party report police again. But if both parties also dun have photographic evidence, then the police might just ignore as well. I believe Mr.A would not want this case to go to court also ler...summore you have quotes from suppliers and repair shops..so even if go to court, your fren can counter sue for other damages by inconvenience caused.

Whenever we get involved in an accident with others, must snap pic when possible =)

My dua sen advice...this is what i will do

in an event of an accident,
i always take pic of the roadtax, ic & driving licence, car number plate, pic of the driver,
damage on both cars. then quickly make police report, cos u need to protect yrself incase the other party
tries to sue u.......if the other party wants to settle outside, better also go ahead, u could always cancel the
report later on, only after he has paid the money la.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
in an event of an accident,
i always take pic of the roadtax, ic & driving licence, car number plate, pic of the driver,
damage on both cars. then quickly make police report, cos u need to protect yrself incase the other party
tries to sue u.......if the other party wants to settle outside, better also go ahead, u could always cancel the
report later on, only after he has paid the money la.
Agree. But most of the time..ppl would try to settle sendiri and dowana report police if possible. Unless big accident till you gotta claim insurance..then mayb need police report? :banghead:

nd4ever

KL, PJ & S'ban
If I'm the friend of yours who involved in the accident, I don't even bother to pay even a single cent to the Honda Insight owner. It's just too ridiculous for me to pay RM2,500 for the bloody small tiny repair to the rear bumper. I will dare the owner to go lodge a police report on this too & I bet he can't do anything as it's over 24 hours after the accident happened. If the owner is so damn smart, then go by all means to claim from my insurance. I'll just ignore him & get over with it. If the Honda Insight owner still insists on the RM2,500, I'll reverse my Saga FLX & full throttle onto his car again on the spot with damage exceeding RM2,500 then I'll pay him. Hahahahahaha........

dawg

Nov 29, 2003
dawgsevo.blogspot.com
I am thinking that the honda driver is going to replace his bumper. Or he will get it touched up for below RM500, and quote your friend the price of a full replacement so he can pocket the extras. This is the mentality of most people, they take advantage and they have the absolute right because its your friend who was in the wrong. As much as we disagree with the Honda driver's action, we have to be realistic that who doesn't want to earn quick buck? Its a matter of moral, and this honda douche is a bastard.

Next time when accident, do the following:
1. Take a picture of the car damages on the spot (all parties involved be it 2-3-4 car pile up)
2. Take picture of road tax and car plate
3. Get contact information of all parties, decide if police is going to be made within 24 hour.
4. Assess the damage, is it going to roughly cost more or less than RM3k?
5. Call your insurance on the spot and explain the situation, they can provide assistance, guidance, tow trucks. If damages below RM3k, do you want to claim express insurance or settle with the owners on the spot?
6. The person behind is always wrong! If this is you, you should be reporting the accident to protect yourself. If the other party turns around and report behind your back, you can be in pretty bad shape. Pay RM300 (with a possible discount) rather than get ants all over your back later.
7. If your insurance is Kurnia, grats on having the shitty one amongst every others.

Your friend doesnt need to pay if he doesnt want to pay. Ask him to take it to his insurance and let them settle it, the honda driver will probably end up getting a patch up work from the panel workshop. The workshop will then earn the $ difference instead of him and this will serve him what he deserves, leaving his car for days to be done and no $. Or you can offer him RM300-400 and tell him nicely take option 1 panel workshop or option 2 give him RM300-400 and sign an agreement + witness.

Agree with all the taikors here.

Offer that bugger RM300 take it or leave it cuz he never followed the gentlemans agreement to go to the workshop of choice.

Or you can offer RM300 or take his car to the workshop for a 2nd opinion. If it's already done then too bad. Take it or leave it RM300.

ANyone knows any Reliable and not expensive workshop that specialist in

a) Auto Gearbox Specialist?

1) (input name, address , contact number here)
2)
3)
4)
5)

b) 4g93t Mitsubishi Lancer GSR Expert or specialist?

1) (input name, address , contact number here)
2)
3)
4)
5)

THANK YOU ALL