Suzuki Swift: 1.5 (m15a/zc21): Discussions/Opinions

ymloo

Hi All Sifus here,

Really need help in the rims & wheel department. I am considering on changing my stock rims to either 15"x6/7/8j or 16"x6/7/8j but I m not sure which tyre profile and offset to use as the original is +45, and I find it not as easy a task as I thought or maybe I m looking at the wrong places. Any sifus here can recommend any good place for a swift rims?

Been using swift as my daily runabout for slightly more than 1 yr and I been loving it since, even my weekend car been eating dust as I get to park nearly everywhere in KL with the swift :wink: but I m considering getting a turbo within a couple of months..still in the midst of brain washing wifey

Appreciate all the help and thanks in advance :driver:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Hi All Sifus here,

Really need help in the rims & wheel department. I am considering on changing my stock rims to either 15"x6/7/8j or 16"x6/7/8j but I m not sure which tyre profile and offset to use as the original is +45, and I find it not as easy a task as I thought or maybe I m looking at the wrong places. Any sifus here can recommend any good place for a swift rims?

Been using swift as my daily runabout for slightly more than 1 yr and I been loving it since, even my weekend car been eating dust as I get to park nearly everywhere in KL with the swift :wink: but I m considering getting a turbo within a couple of months..still in the midst of brain washing wifey

Appreciate all the help and thanks in advance :driver:
I'm on 16 x 7jj, offset +42. 205/45/16. tyres with no rubbing. Unless you wanna play hellaflush style,stanced style. Then i suggest you go for 16 x 8jj tyres 205/45/16 or even if you dare use 195/50/16 and please remember to roll you fender to avoid rubbing. If 15" you choose 15 x 7/8 also can, offset find those +35 would be sick... Tyres can be 195 or even 165 on 7jj. :driver:

ymloo

I'm on 16 x 7jj, offset +42. 205/45/16. tyres with no rubbing. Unless you wanna play hellaflush style,stanced style. Then i suggest you go for 16 x 8jj tyres 205/45/16 or even if you dare use 195/50/16 and please remember to roll you fender to avoid rubbing. If 15" you choose 15 x 7/8 also can, offset find those +35 would be sick... Tyres can be 195 or even 165 on 7jj. :driver:

Thx bro :proud:, mind if I ask u for a pic of ur rims? coz wanna see if 205/45/16 be too small compare to the stock ie. would the gap be bigger since 45 profile is way thinner thn the ori 60.

I think 15" x 7/8j with +35 would be a good choice from your recommendation :biggrin::driver:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004

A bit thin la.. hehe.. :driver:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Thx so much bro :adore:

Wah nice rims and nice brakes too :love:. Hows the ride though? Crashy?
Thanks, ride much more comfy because of the tyres are softer. But if you change to 50series will be more comfy. But do take note if you take hard corners the tyre may flex a bit. This is why i stick to 45series. And i pump the air 220psi instead of 200psi.. Else you may look at RE002 too.. it's also not bad.. or RE11. :biggrin:

vyruzj

Nov 19, 2003
Thanks, ride much more comfy because of the tyres are softer. But if you change to 50series will be more comfy. But do take note if you take hard corners the tyre may flex a bit. This is why i stick to 45series. And i pump the air 220psi instead of 200psi.. Else you may look at RE002 too.. it's also not bad.. or RE11. :biggrin:

I am using 16x7 offset +42 rims as well. I am currently using 205/50 R16 tires. The fender gap is lesser (looks nicer). As per bro l2s_turbo, tyre may flex during hard corner... I am using KUMHO hard compound tires.... not really dat comfy even with 190psi front and back... next will change to Nexen and try :p

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004

I am using 16x7 offset +42 rims as well. I am currently using 205/50 R16 tires. The fender gap is lesser (looks nicer). As per bro l2s_turbo, tyre may flex during hard corner... I am using KUMHO hard compound tires.... not really dat comfy even with 190psi front and back... next will change to Nexen and try :p
Will you ride be bit heavier when on 50series? But mine can feel the road feedback once i change from 195/50/16 to 205/45/16.

vyruzj

Nov 19, 2003
Will you ride be bit heavier when on 50series? But mine can feel the road feedback once i change from 195/50/16 to 205/45/16.[/QUOTE

not much difference after change rims and tyres... mebbe the lightweight rim offset the bigger and wider tyre.. original wheel and tyre size is 16 x 6 offset +50 with 195/50 R16 tyre..

ymloo

Got mine yesterday...15x7j, offset no idea as the guy jz say about 30 something :stupid: , anyway using 195/55 tyres i find the handling not as good as stock :s: , as what u guys said the tyre kinda goyang/flex during hard cornering maybe 205/55 would be a better option....

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Got mine yesterday...15x7j, offset no idea as the guy jz say about 30 something :stupid: , anyway using 195/55 tyres i find the handling not as good as stock :s: , as what u guys said the tyre kinda goyang/flex during hard cornering maybe 205/55 would be a better option....
How much is your tyre PSI? What brand and model you are using? Some have soft wall tyres some have hard wall tyres..:driver:

ymloo

How much is your tyre PSI? What brand and model you are using? Some have soft wall tyres some have hard wall tyres..:driver:
Using Bridgestone Turanza...ehh not sure wht is the PSI as the tyre guys jz pump it for me, didnt cross my mind to ask him :dong:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Some of the useful upgrades done.. no need too many bars.. like one of the Bro mentioned in Swift Club SG.. Just a set of good coilover and these for streets is sufficient enough.. unless you are trackie...

:proud::driver:

Great ATF to share...

---------- Post added at 03:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:35 PM ----------

Using Bridgestone Turanza...ehh not sure wht is the PSI as the tyre guys jz pump it for me, didnt cross my mind to ask him :dong:
Mine is Michellin PS3.. due to the soft sidewall compounds.. i pump it to 220Psi.. slightly stiffer but at least i do hard cornering it doesn't flex that much.. and the compound made in Germany vs Thailand is different.. it's softer... :biggrin:

ymloo

hi bro, mind sharing whr u get those done..looks great :love:. Does it take long to get it done and also does it really work? As u knw swift loading space is aldy at the bare minimum, was thinking if there is other option thn the one u have in the booty.:driver:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
hi bro, mind sharing whr u get those done..looks great :love:. Does it take long to get it done and also does it really work? As u knw swift loading space is aldy at the bare minimum, was thinking if there is other option thn the one u have in the booty.:driver:
Done it in jb. The bars are off the shelves ones.. only need to install.. the bar is not really a hindrance la it sits just behind the car seat.. still better than those who put woofer inside.. mine put under seat.. so no prob.. :biggrin:

<iframe width="335" height="250" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/eB6R3h05Qh4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Watch this video of the Audi heritage explained and the introduction of the new Audi TT RS. The Quattro drivetrain has been here for almost 3 decades. A great heritage explained in the video and definitely reasons why our beloved friend Izso, loves one. Here's to you buddy! Enjoy the video