Steering Vibrate, on wheel balanced already..

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
to all the sifu's, pls help me diagnose my problem.

i changed to a new set of wheels and right after that, i noticed my steering vibrates when i hit 120km. below that, its fine.

brought back to do "on-wheel" balancing, it didnt vibrate 1 bit. so the mechanic said, possible due to the rear, and then he went to balance my rear.

tested it on the hway, still vibrate @ about 120km/h.

problem is, sometimes it starts vibrating @ 100km/h - 120km/h, then it'll stop when i go over. the i slowed down, then brought it back up to 100km/h, no vibration.

wth? sekejap ada sekejap takda...

i've singled out these few potential probs, maybe u guys can add in so i can check

1. tire makan 1 side?
2. wheel/hub bearing?
3. c/v joint needs more grease?
4. lsd problem?
:confused:

jy_1990

Feb 24, 2009
I am having the same problem! but i guess it's because of the imperfect rims... can i know if your rims are new rims?

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
I had the same problem too a few months ago. Problem solved when I change my steering rack and the front tyres (botak already).

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
Rims are new. Not used.

Steering rack? My tuner said my steering lately got alot free play, possibly on the verge of dying.. Aiyoo. So many problems coming at the same time.

Thanks. Will get them checked.

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
not so soon bro, probably will only visit my foremen next saturday, that is, if he is free to troubleshoot.. else i'll just drive @ 80km/h HAHAHAHA

last time i kena this because my tyre is cheap indo tyre where when thread almost botak the tyre wobble....ekekekek

but it might worth checking your tie rod also...

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
last time i kena this because my tyre is cheap indo tyre where when thread almost botak the tyre wobble....ekekekek

but it might worth checking your tie rod also...
tie rod , driveshaft.. get it check

check those things..

if still vibrate, jack ur car & try shaking ur tyre.. u'll see which part is loose

:wink:

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
happens to me too, when go to the shop, it turns out the OEM rim bengkok. . .

most likely due to masuk lubang. . .
Rim was 17". forgot the tyre profile. . .
don't want to change rim yet, so had to use spare tyre, the worst case bengkok become spare tyre and the least bengkok one to the rear. . .

probably need to look for 16" rims la after this. . .

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
im quite sure my rims are fine, just got new set. anyway, will update when i find out.. else, i might just leave it as i dont drive it often..

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
your rims replica or ori rims ?

In the 1960s, metallic hues ignited the marketplace with a colour explosion –
70's there were also plenty of neutrals on vehicles.
80's white was the top vehicle choice, and then you started seeing red and black – especially in the compact market
90's were really interesting: it started with white being the strong colour and in the mid-nineties, dark hunter green – like the Ralph Lauren green – became very popular across vehicle segments.
Through 2000 to 2010 silver was dominant.
That was...