Skunk2 cam using skunk valvespring or supertech?

alex27

Sep 30, 2006
Has any1 tried skunk2 tuner cam stage 1? I'm planning to get them. Planning to use d cam with tuner valvespring n stock retainer. But a fren offer me supertech valvespring. Aren't d supertech too stiff? Feedbacks any1 or comment?

alex27

Sep 30, 2006
I know d supertech wud fit. But isn't it too stiff. Seat pressure is 70 pounds. Won't this cos wear quickly. Skunk2 Tuner is at 50 pounds. Furthermore if using supertech vs n using stock retainer. Wont my retainer break easily due to stiff vs. Comments any1? Let me know. As i can save budget

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
Has any1 tried skunk2 tuner cam stage 1? I'm planning to get them. Planning to use d cam with tuner valvespring n stock retainer. But a fren offer me supertech valvespring. Aren't d supertech too stiff? Feedbacks any1 or comment?
have tried this s2 tuner3... very smooth n best idling....
mild to end power is good...
if s2 tuner 1 better you take the jun3 la...

alex27

Sep 30, 2006
i mean the supertech vs. any1 tried them b4? a lot of pple in uSA using supertech, but they use in high applications. If light cams for everyday using supertech vs with stock retainer. can it be use everyday?
Jun too expensive the cams hehe

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
aiyah... even tep r cam can costs around rm1k++....
find some 2nd hand skunk2 or jun3 oso around rm2k++...
last time i sold mine jun3 cam below 3k....

alex27

Sep 30, 2006
ok ok u win. i have the cam already in hand la hehe
hey abt the supertech vs how? hehe can use?

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
u got s2 tuner 1 eh???
ok la can fit with stock retainer... oso the same with supertech ma...
dun too overrevvin sudah...
heheh.... rite

alex27

Sep 30, 2006
even no over rev. but the super tech vs seems hard oh..

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
hehe.. afraid the vspring eat the cam meh....

eg9_05

Jun 7, 2007
like that better u use what u plan to use lo..since u takut this n takut that
finish story,...

D-IV

Mar 11, 2006
I guess you didn't get your answer. Anyway, i'm using the , old model last time and pressure was about 70lbs. Basically it can clear using s2s2 to SK2Pro2. Although i haven't been using the cams yet, the titanium retainer is holding up pretty well with rev around 8200rpm and its my daily last time. Basically, when choosing the springs, be practical on the RPM and the camshaft selection. Select whats in the range of the cam lift. With stiffer spring, its kinda hard on the timing belt so you might want to opt for a stronger belt or non-china made timing belt.

Hope that helps you. Ps. skunk2 stage 1, just use the OEM type R, its enough to clear.

Oh yeah, valve spring don't eat the cam. The stiff valve spring wears out the retainer, if the springs are TOO stiff and revving crazily. Remember, race engines are rebuilt frequently, so think about it. That goes for every part of the engine, not only the retainer.

alex27

Sep 30, 2006
thx for d info. how long have u ben using the supertech retainer? mileage?
i opt for the stage cos its slightly higher than CTR cams, 11.9m intake n 11.0 exhaust. so i doubt ill be able to use type r valvetrain. What cams are u running DIV?

super fei lo

Sep 4, 2007
y dont u sell it of...
then get a set of omni power VS and retainers...
or maybe Brian Crower......
i think it wont cost u must...
try ur luck on used ones since ur cam's lift is not really high...

sell it of.....
get the cash

alex27

Sep 30, 2006
hehe i'll try. do u recommend putting the supertech Vs with my stage 1 fei lo?
maybe i just order down one tuner series Vs or Blox Vs. i prefer using stock retainer as aftermarket will get worn quickly

Im thinking of buying a car and renting it out when im not using it. Is there a rental need for suzuki swift sport? Are hatchback easy to rent out?