its abit uneven , is it ok to do it , or am i going to face slip if i skim

sexycar

Feb 10, 2004
©ït¥ ðf Thïêvê§
pressure plates are not really expensive... since u made the trouble of opening
the gearbox, just change a brand new one. A brand new plate will last you
quite long.. do it once & it will save u a lot of unknown problems from skimming
your existing pressure plate

jinkl

May 22, 2004
pressure plates are not really expensive... since u made the trouble of opening
the gearbox, just change a brand new one. A brand new plate will last you
quite long.. do it once & it will save u a lot of unknown problems from skimming
your existing pressure plate
exedy semi race costs 400-600

Elitehunter

Dec 6, 2006
yup. better change a new ones. and better don't skim the pressure plate.

flushafteruse

Jun 2, 2004
fire down below
juz use 1st until its finish,n juz change new one more worth it from u skimed it..

p/s-but better beware from the plate makan your flywheel....

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
try it before on a exedy hyper single for e7.no problem.still grippy
as usual.as long as u skim it around 0.5mm.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
hehe my mech so scared to skim it
i tink at the end he used a sandpaper machine n just smoothen it a little

Last edited by a moderator:

jzkzlz

Jan 16, 2007
digitalgadget.cjb.net
skimmed plate with imperfect balance of thickness will cause the system getting worst. uneven surface of the plate is quite normal for a normal car due to wear & tear. that's y when changing the clutch disc, it is recommended to change the plate, bearing & oil seal all together.

if it is a performance plate, sure i will also try to skim 1st cause it is expensive. Lol.

RS gang

Feb 19, 2006
www.egoldmalaysia.com
Hi jin..
Have u done the skimming work..??
Just wanna know the result...Coz i'm thinkin to do so...Thanx.

We love automotive designers. They truly allow their thoughts and ideas to run wild and are free of all marketing and sales leashes that dictate everything from a how a vehicle should look like, to which market segment it caters for, and to some extent the power figures and such. Independent designers don't have that crap around their necks, just take a look at this old-school Audi...