Rotary Engine no good lah

tokaido

Jul 2, 2006
rotary suck fuel out of the world... (powerful engine but tears the owner's pocket.. kahkahkah)

RERider

Aug 7, 2004
Putrajaya
Riding an RX is the greatest joy. Your money, your joy.:driver:

dzeriez

Mar 21, 2008
Anyone heard about this name ... Gary Chua?

He was our legendary rotary racer in the late 70's and early 80's, raced with his SA and FC at Batu 3 race circuit. Those days he had a workshop specialised in RE located at Jln Kilang, PJ Old Town.

Indeed he is still operating there, not for RE of course but as the official Perodua Rally Team service centre.

Perhaps someone cld approach him and bring back his RE skills and experience to be shared with us.
hi guys, i do not owned an rx but im one of the biggest die hard fans on rotary and rx's

meet this guy once and chat with him when i stop buy that place. ( i stopped by coz i saw a grey FD there, just wana look it closer and snap few pic. Then found out that was his car! hoho. so generous even let me open the door and get the feel sitting inside. urgh. ) Indeed he's a nice guy, friendly and still operating there.

why dont u guys go for a visit.

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
How well do rotary engines cope with sustained high RPM; for example if I were to drive from KL to JB with consistently high speeds. I drive a GTR now and the RB26 does not handle high RPMs well so you need a few mods.

I've always liked RX7s and the current price makes it seem like a good weekend car but I'm really into high speed runs not so much track etc. What sort of mods would I need other than power upgrades of course.

jzafddc5

Jun 21, 2010
Rotary engines (with good compression) are rev happy engines. To maintain its rev say 5krpm at 5th gear would bring u to approx 200kph+ (depends on final drive ratio as well lah) is not a problem...as the engine can take up to 8k rpm without sweat.

The essential part is the cooling system though.. as rotary will loose compression tremendously if u over heat it, drive it hard when its not warmed up properly etc. There are threads about this done by the rx7 sifus in the rotary forum..which is very very beneficial for a new rx7 owner.

Rotary engines are great and very durable if maintained properly...and is an engine that u MUST take it to redline every now and then..which is the best part!!

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
Yes, I wouldn't overlook cooling (used to run twin oil coolers, aftermarket FMIC, radiator etc). What's the top speed of an FD RX7; assuming stock gearing etc but making good power. From what I've read so far, it doesn't seem to require a ridiculous amount of maintenance. Seems to be in line with other modified cars (referring to frequent service, oil levels etc etc) so I'm not discouraged yet.

I think I need to read more on this; at least I can come back better informed and ask more detailed questions. Thanks for your reply.

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
top speed is rated at 265km/h.... but there are more things u need to take note.... the old age of the car.. making the wheel, drive shaft bearing is worn compared to new cars...and take note that RX7 under carriage is not designed for more than 200 km/h... because the rear end tend to scoop air instead of channeling it out delivering downforce... ur worst nightmare is the rear bumper flew off as it scoops air.... in order to drive long times at 265 km/h you need to sort out the aerodynamics... especially the under carriage...

zane_al

Oct 8, 2010
1. Rx is a guzzler. Maybe 1rm/km in racing mode.

2. Maintenence comparable to BM's.

3. Never seen any fast Rx's on the highways.

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
top speed is rated at 265km/h.... but there are more things u need to take note.... the old age of the car.. making the wheel, drive shaft bearing is worn compared to new cars...and take note that RX7 under carriage is not designed for more than 200 km/h... because the rear end tend to scoop air instead of channeling it out delivering downforce... ur worst nightmare is the rear bumper flew off as it scoops air.... in order to drive long times at 265 km/h you need to sort out the aerodynamics... especially the under carriage...
Just so we're clear, we're talking about the FD right?

To be honest, I never considered the airflow under the car because I was more focused on the shape which compared to the R34 definitely has less drag. I've taken the 34 up to 300 and it holds steady no problems but you can feel literally feel the wind resistance. I use APP side mirrors and they just slam shut at those speeds. I figured an RX7 would be more suited but perhaps this isn't for me.

I will do more research, see what others have done etc. Should be a good read at least.

1. Rx is a guzzler. Maybe 1rm/km in racing mode.

2. Maintenence comparable to BM's.

3. Never seen any fast Rx's on the highways.
You expect people to believe someone with 6 posts? :hmmmm:

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
it's all about downforce.... and lift.... upper side and under side of the car can cause either lift or downforce...

yes it's Rx7 FD3S we're talking about... and you have to consider.. most FD now weights 1100 KG to 1200 KG only... compared to R34... it's like feather vs rock.... if i'm not wrong.. R34 easily weights 1600KG...

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
it's all about downforce.... and lift.... upper side and under side of the car can cause either lift or downforce...

yes it's Rx7 FD3S we're talking about... and you have to consider.. most FD now weights 1100 KG to 1200 KG only... compared to R34... it's like feather vs rock.... if i'm not wrong.. R34 easily weights 1600KG...
My STI Spec C was a bit heavier than the FD but I guess we're talking about a whole different car already. Even then, I never went past 250 in that car.

The GTR is 1600kg before adding the fuel tank of fuel, my roughly 100kg worth of audio and then me means it was probably closer to 2 tons. I guess that's a huge factor and I guess the diffusers (mine being a V-Spec II) and GT wing actually serves a purpose.

But I cannot forget driving an RX7, year 2000 model in Australia. Was stock except for exhaust, intake, basic mods really - and it was quick. But more importantly, it turned! Hahah since then my gaze has always lingered when one drives by but always deterred by my lack of understanding and not being able to separate the truth and myths about rotary engines. It's always negative, passed on as fact.

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
very true.... rotary is a whole different level of understanding...
you gotta forget how many pistons, what's piston ring using, how many valves, what's the stroke, how many degree cam... ahahaha
we only talk... what porting, how many mm apex seal, who made the seals...... we're a bunch of simpletons....

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
very true.... rotary is a whole different level of understanding...
you gotta forget how many pistons, what's piston ring using, how many valves, what's the stroke, how many degree cam... ahahaha
we only talk... what porting, how many mm apex seal, who made the seals...... we're a bunch of simpletons....
Simpleton is a bit negative. Perhaps minimalist is better. But you're right the learning curve is steep.

adamckc

Mar 26, 2006
probably to best way to learn abt fd is to feel it, by owning it, like to love malaysia is to know malaysia. ha ha. :biggrin:

[PIMPIN];4503711 said:
Simpleton is a bit negative. Perhaps minimalist is better. But you're right the learning curve is steep.

Can we DIY the Viper alike voice module?

So when we open/lock our car, it ll got the "Viper armed" and "Viper dis-armed" sound.

Feel annoying & bored with the standard alarm sounds which are di di, du du, doink doink sound like that -_-lll

Any DIY expert can share how to DIY this? Since nowadays, Fake BOV sound oso can DIY oledi, i think this voice module will b more easy, right?:cool: