Road To Race Conversion

Racing6006

Oct 29, 2004
I have a road going car and want to convert to a full track car. The problem is I don't know who can good job for cheaps.
I don't know who can do wiring, tuning, dieting, handling etc.
Please help. Thanks zero ppls

Racing6006

Oct 29, 2004
Thanks bro, I know cheap things not good, but sometimes people see merc or bmws, they think cher ching....money!....so before I can open my mouth...hentam me alreadi....
And oso, who can honestly say they can modify continentals....?? can i put apexi ...cannot....can i put hks...cannot...continental mah...
but will give them a try....any more suggestions...??
Thanks Dino and Levin

Racing6006

Oct 29, 2004
Also...if my car is converted to track use....what happens to the car grant...?
still have to get road tax and such...??

dreamy

Dec 25, 2004
actually if u use for track use~ n ur car is full wif rollcage things
then ur car canot go on da road d(i mean is dont kena catch la)
ur grant road tax bla bla bla still need to pay ~
coz mostly trackcar~ r from japan som wholecar/ chop b4 de
coz if KASTAM fella caught those car .... either duit kopi kaw kaw or
ur car kena rampas~
so if u got grant wif ur trackcar nth to worry bout

Racing6006

Oct 29, 2004
Dreamy...like that ahh...so still have to pay road tax...but cannot use on the road...damm dodol the rules...i thought can sell grant or something like that....cilok here cilok there....or road tax cheaper abit...
then ppl sell piang cars all cheap cheap can kena kantoi with kastam for no grant....?
how about those bring in porche and skyr34 for racing...? all got proper grant and pay tax?...and they use for track....wahhh some ppl in mesia damm rich now.....

Racing6006

Oct 29, 2004
OK....

now i tell you what i've done....
I started with an engine transplant, a manual transmission conversion from an auto box,
harder springs, and absorbers, straight flow exhaust and rims.
my plans are....
1) now i am finding my wiring is screwed, because my car is more than 15 years old, and had been painted 3 times. So new wiring and engine management is on the list.
2) my body is a bit overweight...so dieting is also on the list. I plan to do the liposuction myself using my friends tools and equiptment, but scare loh....cut here cut there weld here weld there....first timer man...still virgin...
3) maybe i will talk to TITAN for custom coilover setups for the car...just wondering if they can tailor for sepang track....suspension parts might have to be tailor made ie the arms camber etc....i oso dunno talk onli...
4) I have to send my exhaust system for a re-do, I think the back pressure is not right....
5) roll cage....
6) engine power upgrade....still dreaming.......hmmmmmm
7)wI already said i dunno how to convert...help me laaa....

Dino@Casper

May 13, 2005
P.J
Conti also want put piggyback wan mah.. why cannot only need spend time find the wire signal... i have seen alfa's with piggyback

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
just an advice for u. make sure engine power upgrade is last on the list. u dont need much power in the beginning. just make sure all parts can take the pounding of track driving...

Racing6006

Oct 29, 2004
Thanks khoyos....but my car is 15 years old...meaning that there is a mechanical enjection system compared to the advanced cars nowadays. I do want to convert to EFI first before i could do anything...that is modifying the engine...maps turbos...bla bla bla....

Strengthening the car and the parts yeah I do want to do it first maybe I could do it myself...outsourcing machining shops and steel fabricators....but is it worth my time and effort to R&D myself..or is it better to go to specialists?

I think my main concern now is the handling, like you said the parts for pounding, the weight and the engine. honestly, my engine is ok but the wiring is like spagetti after the engine transplant.

If I would do things DIY, then I simply throw away all the unnecessary stuff, but i don't really know which is which. I'm scared of throwing important things for example stuff needed to make the engine start. Or cutting important structure members of the chassis.

I don't know what are the necessary items in a race car, in terms of electrical wiring. logically air cond have to go. but power steering ? some race cars have them...is it important...?? How to make your own fuse box...with relay switches? Why race cars have no radiator fan? Only when I start dismantling the car then only i know what is what and if it is important huh.....

Dino@Casper

May 13, 2005
P.J
What car are u using??.. race car no radiator fan cause there is no need for it.. simple ur car is most of the time running at high speed that is why we use the air flowing through the radiator to do the job.. the fan is belt driven therefore if there is a fan it would mean strain on the engine waste of power

DRiftAGster

Jul 6, 2004
hi, i am no expert but some tips that may help.

grant - or whatever u call it, it is up to u whether u wan to continue paying the road tax. things u need to consider - IF u stop paying road tax, ur car is not road legal anymore, ofcoz with expired roadtax (which also means no insurance coverage), you can use the temporary plate (those blue big plate) that is costly. but take note u cannot use for daily drive, just to go on Elite hway and go to SIC and hopefully no traffic cops waiting for u along the way, they will still kacau u if they see u. best way is still to tow the car on tow truck.

But even if u continue to pay roadtax, u cannot go on the road because of the extensive mods that u have done, it is still illegal.

next thing to do i think is to strip the whole car, remove all unneccesary parts/sound insulation etc. for a start you dont need to cut bodyparts yet. just strip till only the frame is left, then send for spot welding & get the rollcage in.

wiring, you dont have to worry much cos the mechanic u go to will rmove 80-90% of the wiring, what is left is only for the engine to run and also brake light, headlamp, hazard light and maybe the speedo/tacho meter, water & oil temp.... some ppl even remove the dashoard and just leave the meter there... later on maybe u can get a fibre/PU custom made dash.

handling -- u r right about seeking reliable suspension specialist to get the best setup, but if u r tight on budget, then have to trial and error using aftermarket brands..... but this is not a good advise...hehehheee

it is fun to DIY but unless u have basic knowledge about car mods, otherwise, u will end up wasting more time & money when u fail in DIY...heheheee.... almost 80% of workshop in Sunway and PJS area workshop (links, GT, hyper racing, amoil, Millenium, N1 etc etc) can help u with all these, these are simple mods they do most of the time -- no matter japs on conti, these basics are still the same....

only difference is probably engine mods, some of the japs aftermarket will not fit ur car....so good luck... thats the little bit i know....hopefully it helps.

V8_nutter

Racing6006 said:
I have a road going car and want to convert to a full track car. The problem is I don't know who can good job for cheaps.
I don't know who can do wiring, tuning, dieting, handling etc.
Please help. Thanks zero ppls
Which category you want to enter ? is it a "sunday race" or aam race ? For guidance, Sunday race is for leisure only, then the SIC have different category that might interest you. 1. Classic car (fully mods old school) 2. Super 1600 (fully mod 1600cc) 3. Supercar. You can log on to SIC website to know more.

MEDIA MEMBERS GIVE THUMBS UP TO NAZA MEDIA SHUTTLE SERVICE

The Malaysian F1 race is over; but Naza KIA – the Official Media Shuttle for Sepang Circuit - will continue to make its presence at the F1 track to serve media members on duty.

“We have had only good comments from the media members especially photographers – local and international – of the media shuttle service and the Naza...