Relation between crank, conrod and piston

boxcar_racer

Oct 3, 2007
anyone can tell me the relation between crank, conrod and piston??
for your info, i'm planning to upgrade my 4G63(7bolt)..but it seems that my crank is damaged.
My friend suggest 4d68 as replacement..but when i google the crank specs a lil bit different..
therefore i need some answer on relation between crank, conrod and piston so that i can match with scat and wiseco piston..

boxcar_racer

Oct 3, 2007

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
4D68
bore : 82.7mm, stroke : 93.0mm, compression ratio : 22.4 (fyi, this isnt the highest compression for a diesel, lol)

4g63
bore : 85mm, stroke : 88mm

i see a big difference between the stroke, what mod was suggested to u to fix in d diesel crank? i wud highly suggest u get a proper crank shaft from the 4g63 sir

need xtremeleo's help.

---------- Post added at 01:14 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:13 PM ----------

4D68
bore : 82.7mm, stroke : 93.0mm, compression ratio : 22.4 (fyi, this isnt the highest compression for a diesel, lol)

4g63

i see a big difference between the stroke, what mod was suggested to u to fix in d diesel crank? i wud highly suggest u get a proper crank shaft from the 4g63 sir
i just mentioned your name, u already replied :driver:

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
I've a friend who use diesel crankshaft in his 4g63T 2.2liter... his block bocor edi after 3 years of usage...

4D68

4g63

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
what i can see is, the crankshaft will be bigger for the diesel, as it has longer stroke..

the block bocor kat mane? at the side there ker? what went wrong? if the crank didnt fit in the block (no clearance), it wud punch a hole in the block as early as the engine has been cranked up. damaged after 3 years sounds like sum other problem but clearance.

if in doubt, get the original size jer..

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
not sure which part bocor, just when it happened he call me for assistance... when I arrived at the workshop, he just said blok bocor.... gonna salin engine lantai

I didn't bother looking though :banghead:
what i can see is, the crankshaft will be bigger for the diesel, as it has longer stroke..

the block bocor kat mane? at the side there ker? what went wrong? if the crank didnt fit in the block (no clearance), it wud punch a hole in the block as early as the engine has been cranked up. damaged after 3 years sounds like sum other problem but clearance.

if in doubt, get the original size jer..

jinkl

May 22, 2004
ok let me put it into calculations

4d68 - tall block by 6mm,93mm crank,150mm rod

4g63 - short block,88mm crank, 150mm rod

take the 4g68 crank n plonk into the 4g63 engine , u gain 93-88= 7mm
7/2 = 3.5mm

which means , ur piston going to be out of the block by 3.5mm thus u need a shorter piston

on shelf wiseco is the 4g63 stroker piston which is lower by 6mm
bt u can opt for CP piston which is offered for eagle 94mm stroker

i do not believe in taking a wiseco sr20 or wiseco vg piston , then machining it to fit the conrod n piston pin, further checking valve clearance n etc , spend a lil more and get the CP 94mm stroker piston

most 4d68 projects fail , cos of cut, paste , machine ,bush , clerance :D
y do it , when there are more stuff ready on the shelf

*errr..jin..how about if we use shorter conrod???

but have to measure piston skirt clearance also when the crank de-stroking rite?? :adore:

jinkl

May 22, 2004
*errr..jin..how about if we use shorter conrod???

but have to measure piston skirt clearance also when the crank de-stroking rite?? :adore:
shorter custom conrod will be much much more expensive than custom pistons
and one more thing, shorten the conrod will bring down the revlimit of the engine

boxcar_racer

Oct 3, 2007
ok let me put it into calculations

4d68 - tall block by 6mm,93mm crank,150mm rod

4g63 - short block,88mm crank, 150mm rod

take the 4g68 crank n plonk into the 4g63 engine , u gain 93-88= 7mm
7/2 = 3.5mm

which means , ur piston going to be out of the block by 3.5mm thus u need a shorter piston

on shelf wiseco is the 4g63 stroker piston which is lower by 6mm
bt u can opt for CP piston which is offered for eagle 94mm stroker

i do not believe in taking a wiseco sr20 or wiseco vg piston , then machining it to fit the conrod n piston pin, further checking valve clearance n etc , spend a lil more and get the CP 94mm stroker piston

most 4d68 projects fail , cos of cut, paste , machine ,bush , clerance :D
y do it , when there are more stuff ready on the shelf
huaaa..too much work..i think i going for 4G63 crank..less work..RVR crank can fit ar??

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
good decision sir, any 4g63 can do. isnt the evo3 crankshaft lighter then the other old gen 4g63 ker?

Hi everyone. 2 weeks ago, I was hanging around my mechanic's place doing nothing better than sleeping, gossiping and talking CXCK and laughing laudly... Realizing my mechanic was busy dismentalling a CAMPRO 1.6 engine to overhaul, I decided to get my hands dirty and help him up...

As we were busy dismentalling the engine, we chat about CAMPRO 1.6 BOT failure on Crank and we realizeD BOT DOES NOT FAIL THE CAMPRO CRANK, BOT ONLY ACCELERATE THE FAILING PROCESS OF THE CRANK....