Recommended Semi Slick Tyre

TomicaGTR

Jun 6, 2010
Hi frenz and sifus,

Just curious in selecting which semi slick tyre that suit for track day. Not to say for racing but just to enjoy better grip and handling during driving. Welcome everyone to propose any choice with opinion, price and more importantly where can buy. Thanks!!!

---------- Post added at 05:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:32 PM ----------

Just to add on the spec. I'm running on 235/45/R17

Are you referring to road use and track day play type of semi slicks. If yes, then have Federal 595RSR, GY RS Sports, Falken RT-615, Toyo R-1R, Yoko Adavn AD-08, Dunlop Z1 Star Spec, BS RE-11
If more serious type semi slick then Federal FZ-201, Toyo R888, Yoko A048.
Price you have to check. I saw some of the tyres in Hup Shun, Sunway.....

TomicaGTR

Jun 6, 2010
Are you referring to road use and track day play type of semi slicks. If yes, then have Federal 595RSR, GY RS Sports, Falken RT-615, Toyo R-1R, Yoko Adavn AD-08, Dunlop Z1 Star Spec, BS RE-11
If more serious type semi slick then Federal FZ-201, Toyo R888, Yoko A048.
Price you have to check. I saw some of the tyres in Hup Shun, Sunway.....
Thanks bro. My intention is to have dedicated set of 17" tyre and wheel only for track day play play. My daily road use is 18" and think not suitable for track day. Furthermore, 18" the price is terrible. Will consider your recommended choices..

EG9

Subang Jaya
Get Federal FZ201 or Toyo R888 since it going to be your dedicated set for track day

TomicaGTR

Jun 6, 2010
Yup will consider those 3 based on the price. Now mission to look for the place where can get 'em. Thanks bro vr2turbo n EG9..

Base on price Federal should be the cheapest if not mistaken. Try the bigger shops like Hup Shun in Sunway.
If not try calling the importers, but I am not sure which of them carry this model

1) Key Vector Sdn. Bhd. Tel: 603-7987 1889 suppose to be distributors of Federal Motorsports tyres.

2) A-One Tyres Sdn. Bjd Tel: 603-5637 7887 suppose to be distributor of Federal Range of tyres, mention competition tyres too.

TomicaGTR

Jun 6, 2010
Base on price Federal should be the cheapest if not mistaken. Try the bigger shops like Hup Shun in Sunway.
If not try calling the importers, but I am not sure which of them carry this model

1) Key Vector Sdn. Bhd. Tel: 603-7987 1889 suppose to be distributors of Federal Motorsports tyres.

2) A-One Tyres Sdn. Bjd Tel: 603-5637 7887 suppose to be distributor of Federal Range of tyres, mention competition tyres too.
Thanks bro!!

zhafri_abdullah

Feb 5, 2012
quick question guys if you don't mind... how about a set of tires that perform well in the dry but doesnt behave like ice skates should it rains a bit during a track day...? don't think i can afford to bring both dry AND wet tires to a track day... Heard the Federal 595 RSR is quite the all-rounder... :)

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
quick question guys if you don't mind... how about a set of tires that perform well in the dry but doesnt behave like ice skates should it rains a bit during a track day...? don't think i can afford to bring both dry AND wet tires to a track day... Heard the Federal 595 RSR is quite the all-rounder... :)
ready for fit trackday 2.0?? haha. kantoi.

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Anyone knows the price for Kumho KU36 205/50/15, Federal 595RS-R 205/50/15.
Please name the Shop and the estimated price.. Thanks...

mADmAN

Anyone knows the price for Kumho KU36 205/50/15, Federal 595RS-R 205/50/15.
Please name the Shop and the estimated price.. Thanks...
KU36 i about RM320 thereabouts....at kin alignment iirc.

595RS-R is RM420 in a shop i checked in sri muda