Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
Famous last words. I often hear such statements but in reality, ends up as "it's never enough"

Or maybe I misunderstand. 220whp is enough for a start. Then begins the chase for more HP
Brah please don't pecah my wayang so fast lar ... hahaha
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,308
6,392
5,213
KL
After BOT, i really doubt so, unless its a Myvi with YRV engine, or some black magic engineered Myvi.
Oh how you doubt the king of the road... the Myvi 1.5 will beat your turbo Inspira off the road and for the first 50-100m will stay in front. It's once your turbo really kicks in and your engine capacity rolls in that's when you overtake. But by then you would have already reached the next traffic light....

Hahaha!

Serious note : The myvi is very light weight. Even the auto the TCU is setup very aggressively for low end torque except for the 1st batch Myvi auto. The others are all strong low end torque.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
  • Haha
Reactions: 6UE5t and alcyon

koshin

Known Member

koshin

Known Member
Feb 1, 2018
51
15
8
Vietnam
Oh how you doubt the king of the road... the Myvi 1.5 will beat your turbo Inspira off the road and for the first 50-100m will stay in front. It's once your turbo really kicks in and your engine capacity rolls in that's when you overtake. But by then you would have already reached the next traffic light....

Hahaha!

Serious note : The myvi is very light weight. Even the auto the TCU is setup very aggressively for low end torque except for the 1st batch Myvi auto. The others are all strong low end torque.
myvi fanboi
 
  • Haha
Reactions: Izso

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
Oh how you doubt the king of the road... the Myvi 1.5 will beat your turbo Inspira off the road and for the first 50-100m will stay in front. It's once your turbo really kicks in and your engine capacity rolls in that's when you overtake. But by then you would have already reached the next traffic light....

Hahaha!

Serious note : The myvi is very light weight. Even the auto the TCU is setup very aggressively for low end torque except for the 1st batch Myvi auto. The others are all strong low end torque.
Hahaha not to piss on Myvi or anything, even with Lancer CVT, the "King" can only lead for a very very short time when dragging from stand still. I found Vios more of a threat than Myvi though. Especially NCP93, just freaking weird those Dugong Vios are sooooo fast when it comes to traffic light drag.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,308
6,392
5,213
KL
Apasal you are having 2 things you hated at home for ????? Are you mad ???
One is wifes, another is moms. both of which is not mine.

Folks, got a Unichip Q ripped out from a Lancer Halfcut from Singapore, wondering if this Unichip Q + Turbo Module can fulfill my AFR Tuning ?
If it's just AFR I don't see why not. But i don't know what else your Lancer may require to run so I'll reserve comment.
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
Dear All,

In the end i stick with TD04HL-13T, the cool side is more fitting to my Lancer unlike the Garret M24 AR60, needs too much work. The TD04HL-13T should flow as well as TD04-15G, so it should be quite good in response and moderate peak power. I am targetting at 0.7 bar MAX, should be seeing 220whp easily.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 6UE5t and lsm1991

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,442
175
663
PJ
Dear All,

In the end i stick with TD04HL-13T, the cool side is more fitting to my Lancer unlike the Garret M24 AR60, needs to much work. The TD04HL-13T should flow as well as TD04-15G, so it should be quite good in response and moderate peak power. I am targetting at 0.7 bar MAX, should be seeing 220whp easily.
thats a rex turbo kan?? if not mistaken similar to the 15T? would the latter be easier to pnp?
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
thats a rex turbo kan?? if not mistaken similar to the 15T? would the latter be easier to pnp?
Hello, the turbo came out from a Volvo S60 T5 2.3T, rated at 240hp at 0.5 bar of boost. Yes the housing is very similar, if not same with 15T and we can modify the cool side housing to move more air later on. But, that's for later project if i am not satisfy with 220whp.
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,442
175
663
PJ
Hello, the turbo came out from a Volvo S60 T5 2.3T, rated at 240hp at 0.5 bar of boost. Yes the housing is very similar, if not same with 15T and we can modify the cool side housing to move more air later on. But, that's for later project if i am not satisfy with 220whp.
interesting, rex seems to have a similar turbo, i guess since ur making a custom extractor and all, pnp-ness isnt a concern
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
interesting, rex seems to have a similar turbo, i guess since ur making a custom extractor and all, pnp-ness isnt a concern
I bought a custom cast iron manifold with T2 Flange, i still need to custom a short flange to mount the turbo, i did internal wastegate delete and trying to rotate the compressor inlet housing a little bit backwards to better attach the intercooler piping. Will be using external wastegate for better boost control. My turbo came off a 2.3T 5cyl Volvo Engines, made by Mitsubishi and from imported from Japan. I am sending the turbo for recondition and also check if i can change the exhaust side housing to another turbo housing so that we don't have to customize any flange, less flange is better.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,308
6,392
5,213
KL
I bought a custom cast iron manifold with T2 Flange, i still need to custom a short flange to mount the turbo, i did internal wastegate delete and trying to rotate the compressor inlet housing a little bit backwards to better attach the intercooler piping. Will be using external wastegate for better boost control. My turbo came off a 2.3T 5cyl Volvo Engines, made by Mitsubishi and from imported from Japan. I am sending the turbo for recondition and also check if i can change the exhaust side housing to another turbo housing so that we don't have to customize any flange, less flange is better.
your life my dream man! wanna mod means just mod. :biggrin:

who gonna tune the car?
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,442
175
663
PJ
your life my dream man! wanna mod means just mod. :biggrin:

who gonna tune the car?
quick get a car then u can join him... inspiras also decent value now... tho i am told alot spanco cars on sale now so careful
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
your life my dream man! wanna mod means just mod. :biggrin:

who gonna tune the car?
Harlo what you talking about ... pura pura macam. I am not sure who to remap the ECU after we tap it up, any suggestion ? I tried JC Racing before, satisfied but want to try different tuner. I am using Ralliart ECU to control the engine, since using any piggyback will throw CEL, i ma as well as go with something proven working.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lsm1991

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,442
175
663
PJ
Harlo what you talking about ... pura pura macam. I am not sure who to remap the ECU after we tap it up, any suggestion ? I tried JC Racing before, satisfied but want to try different tuner. I am using Ralliart ECU to control the engine, since using any piggyback will throw CEL, i ma as well as go with something proven working.
if the ralliart can do whats needed, and u can get it for cheap enough go for it
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
Some reference for you, similar car build.
After some brainstorming and crack some heads, we decided that the MHI TD04HL is not suitable for my Lancer as the flange adaptation is too much of trouble. I am back to the Garrett M24 T28 Turbo, after measuring the flange, i realised that this T28 turbo has a T3 compressor flange, hence i bought a T2 to T3 flange adaptor and see whether they will join up perfectly together. If i am not mistaken, this T28 turbo came out from any RB series engines, ranging from RB20 - RB25, it is good for 0.9 bar boost for daily use and very responsive down low at 2k RPM.
 
Last edited:
  • Haha
Reactions: lsm1991

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
Dear All,

Finally able to bolt up the T28 turbo to my cast iron manifold after sourcing a T25 to T3 Turbo Adaptor, the kit comes with a 28mm wastegate which i may not able to use it, due to clearance issue in the engine bay. However, the screw holes on the adaptor will need alittle modifications for them to fit right, fortunately, the T3 side is direct fit. After bolting up the turbo kit on to the engine, we will know to fabricate the piping. Picture as below to show the adaptor, manifold and T28 turbo.

Capture.JPG
 
  • Like
Reactions: lsm1991

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,308
6,392
5,213
KL
Dear All,

Finally able to bolt up the T28 turbo to my cast iron manifold after sourcing a T25 to T3 Turbo Adaptor, the kit comes with a 28mm wastegate which i may not able to use it, due to clearance issue in the engine bay. However, the screw holes on the adaptor will need alittle modifications for them to fit right, fortunately, the T3 side is direct fit. After bolting up the turbo kit on to the engine, we will know to fabricate the piping. Picture as below to show the adaptor, manifold and T28 turbo.

View attachment 580229
You my hero la. Modding car in economy like this. Hahaha

You seriously not gonna go standalone?
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
You my hero la. Modding car in economy like this. Hahaha

You seriously not gonna go standalone?
Well the car is already dismantled some parts and can't move at this moment, might as well as keep the project going.

I am changing to EVO X stock ECU, just need to tap few wires to link up the Boost Control Solenoid and IAT sensor. Then go for remap. Standalone took too much money and time.
 
Last edited:
Well the car is already dismantled some parts and can't move at this moment, might as well as keep the project going.

I am changing to EVO X stock ECU, just need to tap few wires to link up the Boost Control Solenoid and IAT sensor. Then go for remap. Standalone took too much money and time.
Hi bro.. I'm doing the same thing with what youre doing.. but my goal is around 500whp.. I'm doing this on my inspira ownself.. its a budget build.. so I'm always sourcing for cheap parts..
 
  • Like
Reactions: Izso

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
Hi bro.. I'm doing the same thing with what youre doing.. but my goal is around 500whp.. I'm doing this on my inspira ownself.. its a budget build.. so I'm always sourcing for cheap parts..
Dude, 500whp on FWD Lancer/Inspira is most likely uncontrollable due to torque steer issue ? And 500whp sounds like not budget build, your turbo will be more expensive than my kit here hahaha. Please share your journey of BOT with me too, i am interested to know. My kit is almost complete, just collected intercooler piping, IAT sensor, Evo X fuel pump. Now looking for either OEM 3 bar MAP sensor or OMNI 3 bar MAP sensor.
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,434
175
1,663
Dear All,

This one has nothing to do with power mods but moving the battery to the trunk will clear more room for air intake piping and other mods. Charging seems stable and strong. Enjoy the pics.

Battery 2.jpeg
 

Attachments