Does rear disc conversion do help alot in braking power? or its only slightly better thn rear drum?
i sorta agree to that... i did mine merely for looks. heh heh heh....TitanRev said:Hate to admit it but cars with all round disc looks better too...hehehe:_: give ppl that "i got lots of Hp" feelings...
coz ebrake works best on drum brakes... i heard many face difficulties using ebrake after changing the rear to disc brakes... even parking on slopes also cannot stop...TOMEI-R said:All round disc does look better. But it depends on your driving style and ways. For track racing, rear disc brakes seems to help a lot especially when u are going at top speed and then braking to go into a slower turn. It helps to hold the car in line during braking and braking is much more effective.
But some friends prefer drum brakes for autocross events because they say drum brakes work better during slow speed turns and braking.
Just my 2 cents.
normality78 said:not only both of u. im totally lost here
if like that, upgrade ur brake pump+servo first lor...fzavier said:mmmmm....me too. Im also contemplating on changing my rear drum brakes to dicsc but not sure of the improvement in stopping power. My front brakes are discs by the way. Hope someone will help see things clearly. Appreciate that!
dont forget the brake bias valve. It creates the front and rear distribution correctly. or else u`ll screw up your brake distribution which might lead to accidents or spin outsSkYwAlKeR said:coz ebrake works best on drum brakes... i heard many face difficulties using ebrake after changing the rear to disc brakes... even parking on slopes also cannot stop...
what i heard from friend, procedure of brake upgrades;
- better brake pads
- brake pump and servo
- upgrade front rotors
- upgrade rear rotors
coz rear only takes up about 30% of overall braking performance... front is more important, 70% of the stopping power....
correct me if wrong...
mayb u can get wira 1.6L for set front and rear... if u want more extreme, get GSR or EVO brakes lor...:regular_smile:doppelganger said:bump :D
i drive a wira 1.3. wanna change front discs only. wat model would be suitable? should i change the pump & servo? wat would the cost be for servo+pump+disc+pads?
brake bias valve??.... where is it located??... expensive??...narx said:dont forget the brake bias valve. It creates the front and rear distribution correctly. or else u`ll screw up your brake distribution which might lead to accidents or spin outs
but thn you're the professorBLaCkHoWLiNG said:banyak mad scientists here ...see oso scared...
my car is 1800cc but comes with stock rear drums... :sad_smile:SkYwAlKeR said:coz as far as i know, all cars with displacement above 1600cc must have all 4 disc brakes front and rear...
1.8L with drum brakes??... old school car arr??....Cow said:my car is 1800cc but comes with stock rear drums... :sad_smile:
sigh.....car was manufactured in 1997 :(SkYwAlKeR said:1.8L with drum brakes??... old school car arr??....
i notice some 1.6L honda also has rear drum brakes....:Not_Impressed:
You mean that a car with ABS can also jam the brakes? Or do you mean the drum brakes lock up more easily than discs?boyzone said:Rear braking only perform 30% of the overall braking.
People go to disc is because :
to prevent rear wheel jamming when high speed braking..
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
![]() |
Altis rear disc brake to vios ncp93 | Car Modification | 8 | |
W | Wira/Satria GTi 1.8 vs EVO3 rear disc | Car Modification | 3 | |
Q | wira rear disc brakes | Car Modification | 1 | |
![]() |
Rear disc brake for hyundai getz, any sifu can help? | Car Modification | 14 | |
![]() |
Upgrade BLM rear drum brakes to wira 1.6 disc brakes | Car Modification | 10 |