Random Shot: GT3 RS 4.0 in SS2 Petaling Jaya - 1 of 600 rarity

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000

Driving through the infamous SS2 food connoisseur square last week or so, I glimpse upon this rare beauty. This 997 GT3 RS 4.0 is 1 of 5 in the country, 1 of 600 in the world and currently the most powerful GT3 ever produced backed by a race derived 8250rpm 500bhp 4.0 flat-6.

Picked from the GT3 RSR race car parts bin, the 4.0 engine churns on titanium con rods and a lightweight crankshaft resulting in an explosive 125bhp per litre and 8000 mind blowing revs.

The Lightest GT3 RS ever, it has plastic rear windsreen and rear windows, GT2 RS carbon bonnet, front fenders and carbon seats. Even the carpets are lightened.

Zerotohundred comes in at 3.8 seconds and tops out at 310km/h. There is no PDK gimmick here, but a pure 6-speed manual 'box.

The sticker that matters.

The front canards actually produce enough downforce to compliment the flat underside for front end stability at no less than 150km/h of course.

Gimme that 997 RS!

Strict discipline. The new 911 GT3 RS 4.0. - YouTube

Porsche GT3 RS 4.0 track and road test HD - YouTube

0-300 km/h Porsche 911 GT3 RS 4.0 (Motorsport) - YouTube

WinterAngeLs

Feb 22, 2011
RM 1.38mil monster! Nice shot! Gotta love those white center lock wheels.

Btw, isn't that the 911 turbo is faster and better value?

Erm...i believe better value doesn't apply on porsche...haha

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000

yup, you can stare at the center locks all day,

Turbo = Really Fast
RS = Really Serious

looks legit
trust me it is, either that or it must have been a really convincing one,
but there's another 911 in town sporting replica 4.0 livery

WinterAngeLs

Feb 22, 2011
If memory serves me right, the turbo's peak is lower than 8k rpm. Thus, a quicker zth time but again, perhaps the turbo's PDK doesn't need high rpm while the RS 4.0's 6-speed manual is a must...with heel and toe as complementary of cuz...:burnout:

cRazYee

Oct 7, 2005

no 911 turbo isn't as fast in corner
this is race spec 911

---------- Post added at 03:09 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:08 AM ----------

If memory serves me right, the turbo's peak is lower than 8k rpm. Thus, a quicker zth time but again, perhaps the turbo's PDK doesn't need high rpm while the RS 4.0's 6-speed manual is a must...with heel and toe as complementary of cuz...:burnout:
i found something really interesting, european racer hardly heel and toe

center lock wheels?! How the heck does the guy change his tyres!? LOL!

Very nice car.. but Porsche is probably the only company in the world where you pay more for less equipment. LOL

Porsche... *The widow maker* :biggrin:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
This is a gem... Nice post! OMG if I see this in person I would jsut suffocate...

skazareth

Feb 8, 2007
Izso, i dont think he has a problem to change wheels. his mistress does. :biggrin:
he can swap with carerra gt wheels also meh.

elsm80

Mar 21, 2006
Lovely, dainty, focused and desirable BUT it'll still get eaten alive by the 2011 GTR.

Stormvolution 9

Jun 18, 2005
Datuk Derreck's car~~~ He is the 1st Msian to get the 4.0RS!!! Malaysia just got 5 units of 4.0RS from the total 600 world wide... Officially... Haha... Means through Porsche Msia... But more than 20+ enthusiasts paying for the deposit for this car starting from a year ago... So, more than 18 of them ended up very disappointed!!! ^.^

During the launching when the key was past to Datuk, there was a man offering RM2mil to Datuk for the car, but tht guy was told to "dream on"~~~ Haha... U got the $$$... But not the car~~~

Nice pics... Thx for sharing!!!

Won

Sep 2, 2010
Definitely very rare find. I'd heard about how many offers came in for the allocation of the RS4.0; and how many people were left disappointed. Really nice find, Tom!

For me, I think I will stick with "Really Fast" instead of "Really Serious"! :biggrin:

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
This is one rare gem that I would like to drive myself
4L boxer engine with 500BHP on tap, plus it is pure NA ^^

bangkai_jk

Sep 4, 2005
m
Spotted a blue RS 4.0 at Taman Eng Ann, Klang as well on last saturday with red accents.

My eyes just roll big and couldnt talk at some point hmm..

Notice most family car turbo cars like Merc, BMW, Audi, Volvo, VW, Peug don't come with any intercoolers? For Malaysian weather is it sufficient, or it's bad of the turbo & engine in the long run?

Last time Merc, Audi don't do big boost on their compressor/turbos for lower spec models but nowadays we see most of the has increased the boost to gain more power with smaller engines, which in terms translate to higher stress to the engine & more heat.

You'd see Japanese Turbo cars usually...