Quiet tyres

m a v [3] r i c k

9,000 RPM
Nov 21, 2003
Any quiet and rain tyres to recommend for size 205/45/17? Thinking of Advan Fleva but seems getting quite a bad review.
Doesn't expect great grip in dry but expecting good grip in wet.
Most important is quiet

m a v [3] r i c k;1064694064 said:
Any quiet and rain tyres to recommend for size 205/45/17? Thinking of Advan Fleva but seems getting quite a bad review.
Most important is quiet
Performance tyres in wet and dry will be under UHP category therefore would not be that quiet. Probably can try Goodyear Asy3 or if can get cheaper the Asy2. Then there is PS4 also to choose from....:biggrin:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Have you seen the grooves in the dB V551? Small and tiny that is why very quiet but not good for rain......lol:biggrin:
I learn from your suggestion last time in that thread for my friend's tyre. You suggested V551, hahahahaha. :biggrin: But at the end he went for PS3.

All depends on individual priorities. Like my friend, he wants comfort and quiet over performance then V551 suits him well, but TS even though wants quiet, but talk about grip being more important......lol:biggrin:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
All depends on individual priorities. Like my friend, he wants comfort and quiet over performance then V551 suits him well, but TS even though wants quiet, but talk about grip being more important......lol:biggrin:
For me, I'll just go with the tyres that you are using like Asy 3. If it is good enough for tyre sifu VR2, then it will be good enough for me. :biggrin: But not for my current wheels now.

But I always testing around. If Asy3 not out yet will still be on my Land Golden woh! You dare use....hhahahhahhaha:biggrin:

Try Yokohama Advan dB V551?
These are stupidly bad tyre in the rain. If you go slow 80km/h max then it's fine. But it's crap in the rain. Quiet ok la.. not too bad. Costs more than PS3.

m a v [3] r i c k;1064694064 said:
Most important is quiet
Bro, if you want wet performance you need either PS4 or Assy3 (Michelin or Goodyear). The PS3 is not a quiet tyre and PS4 supposedly is an improvement in terms of noise but water grip is as good if not better than PS3 but feedback is generally it's quieter. Only VR2Turbo knows Assy3 tyre since he's using.

btw bro, 205/45/17? Not 215? Anyway 45 profile will be noisy la. Such low profile will be noisy

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
Confirm ps3 not quiet. Since change wheels, sound is like amplified. Anyway is compensate by muffler and radio...lol

These are stupidly bad tyre in the rain. If you go slow 80km/h max then it's fine. But it's crap in the rain. Quiet ok la.. not too bad. Costs more than PS3.

Bro, if you want wet performance you need either PS4 or Assy3 (Michelin or Goodyear). The PS3 is not a quiet tyre and PS4 supposedly is an improvement in terms of noise but water grip is as good if not better than PS3 but feedback is generally it's quieter. Only VR2Turbo knows Assy3 tyre since he's using.

btw bro, 205/45/17? Not 215? Anyway 45 profile will be noisy la. Such low profile will be noisy
Got 205/45R17, this size for those cannot fit 215, and noise mostly from pattern and wear not aspect ratio.

By now, I have tried all 3 GY Asy.
From Asy to Asy2, I could feel the vast difference with better grip compound and 3D block design. Asy 3 also have improvement but I think the improvement is less because Asy 2 already very good.
Even in their website the wet handling and dry braking only 4% improvement, only wet braking improvement is now 9%.
For me there are more improvement also because I have fitted 225/45R17 now over my previous 215/45R17, because cannot wait......lol:rofl:

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Yeap..agree that PS3 is not quiet. When new it was quite ok..but when worn (or chipped lol) its terrible. Just slightly better than RSR

PS3 195/50, RSR 205/50, wider contact, bigger grooves, harder also, sure more noisy......lol:biggrin:

m a v [3] r i c k

9,000 RPM
Nov 21, 2003
Thanks for the replies guys.
Basically this will be for my stock daily ride. Not looking to attack corners with it but at least can travel safely on highways 140-160kmh on dry. Car soundproofing is pretty bad, hence the need for quieter tyres.
I've tried PS3 before but it is rather noisy, no doubt grip is good (but soft sidewalls).
Is Goodyear Asy3 quiet? Never heard of a quiet Goodyear tyres.
Is PS4 much quieter than PS3?
Since V551 is bad in rain, I'll skip that.
What's the price like for PS4 or Asy3 size 205/45/17?

m a v [3] r i c k;1064694254 said:
Thanks for the replies guys.
Basically this will be for my stock daily ride. Not looking to attack corners with it but at least can travel safely on highways 140-160kmh on dry. Car soundproofing is pretty bad, hence the need for quieter tyres.
I've tried PS3 before but it is rather noisy, no doubt grip is good (but soft sidewalls).
Is Goodyear Asy3 quiet? Never heard of a quiet Goodyear tyres.
Is PS4 much quieter than PS3?
Since V551 is bad in rain, I'll skip that.
What's the price like for PS4 or Asy3 size 205/45/17?
Asy2 was cheaper than PS3 last time, but lately I heard they priced PS4 quite well. Asy3 one thing is from EU so tax factor might not be favorable. Check both and see before buying, since now Asy3 have been launched in MY already.....:driver:

hey ppl.....

was just wondering....the new proton saga claim 83 hp on engine but i am sure its less on wheels.... my question is that can we convert the SOHC to DOHC? issit as simple as ading another cam..... ? or can we change it into high cams? how much does it cost to convert?

i also want to know the expected results...like 83hp to xxx HP...? can it be done? thanks u sifu and other brothers..