Question on RPM meter

MrBinn

Feb 21, 2005
Kuching, Sarawak
I am currently driving a satria 1.3 GLI. If I want to install an aftermarket RPM meter, do I have to get the signal from the ECU? Also, if I unplug the wiring to the ECU, will that mess up the programme in the ECU? Please advise. Thank you.

brother

Apr 29, 2005
cheras,kl
can u show ur rpm meter?got any pic?from i noe got 2 type RPM meter 1 is the eletrical 2nd is mechanical...for the mechanical no need to conect to ecu if ur's 1 is electricall need to conect to the ecu :rock:did u DIY try to plug in the RPM meter?u batter go work shop plug by 4man....if u wrong plug it wil remove all the setting in ur car!!!! :cool:

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
satria 1.3 got ecu? you need to tap the signal from ur alternator

monoiz3339

Sep 1, 2005
SG BESI
Try to use wira or lancer with rpm meter. Just replace the meter plug n play a new one.It is much easier.U can get the meter about RM150.00 only

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
MrBinn said:
my rpm meter is the digital type one. Anyone DIY this before? would appreciate it if anyone can guide me. Thanks.
try to see ur car got ecu or not lo....if dun hv then coil wil do ther job

ecu located at front passenger seat....under dashboard...hv a look

khaixtreme

tap it from ur alternator.... i've done that before and there's no problem with it. Locate ur alternator and look for the socket, unplug it... there's about 4 terminal if im not wrong. One of them is ur rpm wire...

g88

Jan 28, 2004
tap from distributor will do...no need ECU

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
my car caburetor got ecu
but without any connection!
my friend left over in my car one!!!
hahahahahah
:)

The words to describe this video can’t be stringed together to form a grammatically correct sentence. That’s due to the fact that most of the words you would associate with the video are all superlatives that exceed the boundaries of reality.

Heck, I’ll bet some of the words you would want to use probably don’t even exist yet. Nonetheless, it’s important to note that the video is very much on the artistic side of...