piston ring gap

jo1

Dec 8, 2004
does anybody know where can i gap my piston ring to the required spec.? is there any machine shop that have the tools or provides this services?

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
kenot buy proper sized rings meh ?
why wanna gap urself ler

jo1

Dec 8, 2004
ring need to be gap when you want to run at abnormal operation such as excessive boost pressure and lot of nitrous shot.... you need to check piston gap for every cylinder to ensure all the individual ring is gap properly fill.. there is no plug and play item for hardware since there is always tolerance during the manufacturer of the product... give me the ring that being gap from factory that maintain the same gap when install...

cipan_supercas

Feb 4, 2004
www.draxecu.com
You can use a piece of diamond file to gapped your ring to the specs. File only one side to have the other side as reference. A steel file is not up to par when precision is concern where it's not sharp enough and may ruin your ring.

Let say in 1 month time car is in top condition
I have 8k in hand
What modifications should i do
I am running on Stock EVO III except for the Air Filter KNN
What i have in my mind is to boost 1.2bar - 1.4bar
What should i do .. Suggestions please
Absorbers are not done also.
What i have in mind is

- 1.5way LSD gearbox
- Triniti Clutches + Exedy Cover
- SMT6 or - Microtech Ltx8s
- Electronic Boost Controller
- Bosch Fuel Pump
- Greddy Type-R BOV
- SS Intercooler pipings + Samco's
- Titan +...