Owning an evo

vspec

Rookie
Oct 9, 2005
Tehran
dear all evo sifus,

finally after salivating for such a long time, i had my chance to own a real evo.

i went to one of the used car dealer nearby the MRR2 and tested the red E7. after testing it for a few round up and down the MRR2, here's what i found on the E7.

1. all the tarmac/gravel/snow indicator were ON at the same time. tried to play around with the AYC button but nothing happen.

2. when the turbo start to spool, the car start to jerks and you can feel it start jerking around 4k rpm.

so my question is, should i stay away from this car?

p/s: if there any of sifus here planning to letgo of his/her monster, feel free to pm me.:driver::driver:

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
the best is to request to drive it to an evo specialist to inspect it...what is the price....mileage, condition of car..i.e paintwork, interior, engine etc.....

vspec

Rookie
Oct 9, 2005
Tehran
bro Evoz,

price is ard 108k, mileage ard 96k km, condition of the car is quite ok, interior is clean, paintwork still ok. u mentioned evo specialist and since i've been reading this forum for quite a while, i did saw alot of evos sifu such as you, mistaken identity, tomicagtr, pabloiceman and many more in here. maybe i can ask you guys to come with me and have a look ard? :biggrin::biggrin:

bro Tomei-R,

am I?silly me i guest. :biggrin:

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
bro,
easiest way to find out the car condition is to do datalog.
the ecu will tell u everything of current condition of the car.

vspec

Rookie
Oct 9, 2005
Tehran
bro,
easiest way to find out the car condition is to do datalog.
the ecu will tell u everything of current condition of the car.
thanks for ur opinion bro

tatayoung

Feb 7, 2007
It's good that you posted here bro.I tested it.I know the dealer you're talking about,as you head for batu caves along the mrr2 if you're coming from zoo negara/melawati area it's on the right correct.He has quite a few sports cars,at the time there was a silvia and a subaru v8 parked on either side.Plate starts with 'J',red in colour but the bonnet area is grey,blitz nur spec exhaust,black 18 inch rims,that's about as much as i remember.I drooled over it and went to see it quite a few times.If that's the one then the price has dropped.He was asking for 114k at the time.I was not impressed,the drive wasn't smooth,and the car has been there for awhile bro.He couldn't explain to me as to why it was resprayed.I eventually ended up taking an airtrek turbo instead from a dealer in kepong.

I'm not saying that you shouldn't go for it,if you're happy then by all means go ahead.But it's dodgy the way he's had it resprayed for no apparent reason at all.You've saved up for an evo,just be sure to get at least a decent one.For that one specifically i recommend you take a panel beater/ketuk mudguard guy with you.Check light and stuff could just be an exhaust sensor but if the body isn't straight then i'm not so sure bro.Ultimately it's your call.

Cheers..

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
AYC indicator all ON you also want to consider? I would stay away for such cars. Ask around MLOC members if anyone is selling, or go to Mudah, there are plenty of choices. Don't get blinded by the modification bits you see in the car, take time and find a good condition one. 108K is not really cheap for Evo VII. I think the price now should be below 100K. Just my personal opinion.

dawg

Nov 29, 2003
dawgsevo.blogspot.com
If the AYC lights are all on, it is a code to inform that the AYC has problems and you will need tools to read the ECU what error code is it. Maybe there is air trapped while bleeding the AYC when they serviced or the AYC is not funtioning properly etc... Need something like ECUFLASH to tell what error code.

p3jal

Jan 20, 2007
1. all the tarmac/gravel/snow indicator were ON at the same time. tried to play around with the AYC button but nothing happen.
<-- this happen to my friends car. the problem is ayc parts kongs... i think u should survey on mudah because now e7 price got 95-110k also got...last time i see 1 white e7 converted e9 facelift also 95k bro...relax and still survey to get an a better evo bro..if can buy e9 loh =D

vspec

Rookie
Oct 9, 2005
Tehran
bro Tatayoung,

I see. When i test drive the car ,acceleration not very smooth and jerks alot. Anyway thanks for ur advice. It just that the way they present the car quite tempting though.

bro Stutzedward,

Really appreciated ur advices. They even told me that they are going to remove the snow sensor and I was like WTH? :thefinger:

bro Ehdrian,

Yeah sure, I'll drop him a call later on. Maybe I'll ask evos taikor to join me to view the car if they have the time.

bro Dawg,

Mind telling me where/who can I use/borrow this ECUFLASH?:nurse:

bro P3jal,

E9 is bit off with my budget :biggrin:I still take my time to survey ard rather than rush and end up feeling sorry for myself :biggrin:

Mistaken_Identity

Aug 11, 2005
Johore Bahru
Take your time bro... Take it easy... Don't make a wrong decision that will haunt U later... There's a few possibilities on the 3 lights ON... Worst case scenario is the AYC pump failure.... U can find a used unit from a half cut, but as far as I remember, it won't come with warranty.... Nowadays, there's a few E7 on sale... Take your time to go through it.... Bring someone that well versed regardin' EVO... U can asked EvolutionZ to help U since he's one of the EVOLUTION guru here....:wavey::wavey:

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
108k for an E7??? Way over priced man...
I got mine Aug last year at 97k only... Engine is stock la, only few stuff like adjustables n rims...
Take ur time n survey bro...
The link bro ehdrian posted looks like a good buy.., but it was advertised for quite some time d... Dunno whether izzit sold o not...

Pictures showing the 2010 livery of Kimi Raikkonen's Citroen C4 WRC, and the Finn's WRC race-suit, have been released by Red Bull.

In stark contrast to his Ferrari red ensemble of 2009, Raikkonen's new colour scheme is predominantly blue.<!--more-->

His car features an all-blue bonnet, and blue pained...