Optimum Coating : Day 1 of 9 Toyota Mark X with wetshine.net

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL

First of all, we would like to show our greatest appreciation to Scholl Concepts Asia for giving us the opportunity to try our their new professional line products. We are proud to be able to work with wetshine.net on this particular combo detailing with the help of Scholl Concepts products. Our client has bring to us a Toyota Mark X, fully imported from Japan and it came with FOC full swirls. Being a japanese car, the paint hardness for these luxury sedans are mostly medium to hard. This is a major problem for us, read on to find out more.

We had some camera malfunction hence the initial upon arrival photo could not be retrieved but here are some damages on the paint surface we had.

The car is about 5 years old. Having maintained by road side washes, the paint is fully swirls up with tonnes of scratch all over the car.

And being a black car, these damages are very obvious to the naked eye, led, halogen spotlights and also under the sun.

Most damages are so visible that even under natural lighting, we can spot them.

These scratches are so deep that it caused the paint to be hazzy and the gloss could not shine through.

The hardness of the paint would also affect our work flow and even the depth of correction we were able to reach.

If you don't get the picture of how seriously damaged the car was, not a single area was clear from swirls.

We started the correction process right after a detailed wash and clay. With just 1 pass of Scholl Concept S3 Gold Edition cutting compound, the results were quite promising.

Here we have a center 50/50 shot of how much swirls the Scholl Concept S3 Gold removed with just 1 pass.

But because we were not very familiar with the product, we took some more tried to familiarize with it and we were able to reach this result on just 1 or 2 passes of compound.

Before...

After...

We also took some detailing into depth by correcting the side pillars.

Although we were able to cut through most of the swirls but some were just too deep. With a Paint Depth Gauge we measured the entire car so that we would not be removing too much of clear coat.

We personally wound not say that this is a perfect full removal but due to the neglect in maintenance, this was the best we could do.

Some deeper swirls remains but most were sucessfully removed.

We finished up on the paint by using Scholl Concept's S17+ on their selected polishing pads on a Dual Action polisher. Results as per below.

Finally, we sealed the paint up with Optimum Coating (Pro). After about a 16hrs 2Detailer hardcore non-stop detailing, we put our work to an end and finished up. Exhausted but satisfied with the results, the owner too was speechless of the transformation. Due to the time of the day was already about 10pm, no sun shots was taken.

Stay Tuned For Day 2 of 9

DarkAccoon

phew... for a minute there i thought u were going to spend another 8 days on this already beautiful results.

Awesome awesome.

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
phew... for a minute there i thought u were going to spend another 8 days on this already beautiful results.

Awesome awesome.
We were spending 16hrs on the car, but 2 man job. so if you calculate into 1 man job it would be 32hours

SevenDust

Feb 10, 2006
That's a massive improvement from before to after! not to mention pretty expensive products too hahaha way to go guys! now waiting for day 2...Btw, the paintwork looks like it has not much orange peel, aye?

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
was previously involved in an accident, had spot repairs, some areas had heavy orange peels some areas has lesser. I am guessing the car is a premium league in Japan hence better quality for the paint system. The repainted parts was quite heavy on the orange peel but fortunately the Scholl also helped reduced some orange peel.

Bonus gratitude screenshot from our official facebook page by Scholl Concepts Asia

For more information on Scholl Concepts company reputation and information do visit. This is not advertising but is merely to help you understand how HIGH END is scholl concepts.
http://www.schollconcepts.com/

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
That is my dream car. And you make it look dripping wet as heck...

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
hahaha thanks bro. u doing good too so many porsches

Hi all, as per topic, can a 1.8 manual inspira engine fit into a waja/persona/gen2? Coz my fren plans 2 convert his car, so was thinking of taking up the engine. Btw, how much does the engine costs outside? Hope to get some valuable feedbacks from sifus here... Thanks