newbie needs serious help!

weikhee86

Known Member
Dec 10, 2005
Kuala Lumpur
hey guys..i'm a newbie here. currently i drive a proton tiara..1996 model.. i have some questions here..firstly i'll provide the details about my car..

1. Never had an engine overhaul ever since the car was purchased.
2. Sometimes when i drive at high speed, the car goes up and down..it is like riding a horse...any problem? or is that normal? what can be done to reduce this?
3. Front tires are wearing out...planning to change them..any good brands..i have about rm300 for both tyres..is it enough to get low profile tyres?
4. Got wind sound when driving fast...
5. My rear ride height is rather high..a lot higher than the front ones...will it affect performance or increase wind resistance at high speed?
6. Wat can be done to improve the car's performance and handling and how much would it cost? No engine swap here..too expensive..
7. There are a lot of so called fuel saving device on the market nowadays...which is the best? air charger or fuel charger?
8. Would installing voltage stabilizer kill the car's battery? Ironically, after installing it, my car battery went flat 2 days after that...the mechanic said water not enough...is it caused by the voltage stabilizer?
9. Will installing racing plug cables increase fuel economy?
10. Can the carburettor be tuned?

That's all guys..thanks!

yinho

Known Member
Sep 27, 2004
Visit site
2. Cars going up and down means your absorbers are not doing its job. try to press each side of your suspension, if its not critically damp means its time to change your absorber
3. R u using original sports rim?
5. R u using stock suspension?
6. Personally i would prefer to improve the suspension setup because the original suspension is way too soft for a good cornering.
7. STOP believing those fuel saving gadgets. There are some thread here that provide good explaination. Search
10. Carb can be tuned. Go for engine tuning if u really wan to save fuel.

rollakid