Need Help with tyres for drift...

kugan81

Known Member
Oct 19, 2004
Penang
Visit site
Hi there all,

I am new to professional drifting. I have a Toyota Celica 1985 RWD which used to be an Automatic(Looks like an AE86 but is much wider). I used to drift with the Auto Gearbox on the sand and i got a hang on how to drift with the help of Tsuchiya (Drift Bible) and really love it.

The problem I am having is I recently changed my Toyota's powerplant to a 1JZ GTE (2.5 litre TT) from a Supra. I managed to get the Supra's subframe and rear differential installed with LSD but i am not sure of the tire size for my car. I have no one to advise me. I already bought 1 set of Enkei RPO1 16" the front is 7 inch wide and the rear is 8 inch wide and i managed to get Yokohama 16" 215/50 series tires for the front and 16" 235/50 series tires for the rear and i am ok with this setup for my normal daily use. the part i am unsure of is when i want to go drifting for example join a SSO or maybe go for a drift practice in Batu Kawan what tires should i use. I tought of getting my self another set of rims which are 7 inches wide for example 16" 205/50 for the front and rear. DOes this work? waht do you guys use when u guys are dirfting. Do i need to get another set of rims similar to my current ones or can i use the rims with 7 inch width for both front and back. Please help. My Car Picture is attached

kugan81

Known Member
Oct 19, 2004
Penang
Visit site
will the 7 inch wide rims work in the rear ?

thanks for the info guys but will the 7 inch instead of the 8 inch wide rims and tyres work for me during drift ? can i use the 7 inch wide rims and a 205/50 series tyres on both front and back? or is my current setup the best ?

wenshen

1,000 RPM
Jul 24, 2004
PEEjay
driftneyland.blogspot.com
dude.. normally drift setup is the rear tyres are extended outER abit and the front wheels are left inside un touched.. u can either do the extention with widening the tyres or use spacers..