Need Advice for Adjustable Cam Pulley (DOHC Engine)

szeeonn

Jun 6, 2007
for turbo
u have been using mat speed 272/272 ?

how's the timing issue ?
only worried timing issue lol

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Back to the adjustable cam pulley ..

the purpose of it is to adjust the timing to increase power at certain RPM.. not all the way from 1k - 10k..

eg.
15degree advance to increase power at 1k - 5k..
0 degree to increase power at 5k - 10k..

it also depends on what engine u use.. not all engine respond to the setting the same way.. because of their design..

and also if u use big cams such as 272/260, u must rev very high to achieve the desired horsepower.. NA tuned..

for turbo usually they use bigger turbo.. or twinturbo..

i suggest find a good tuner for ur engine & learn from them..

Gudluck :burnout:

For Toyota 4AGE engine read this

http://www.billzilla.org/4agmods.htm

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Back to the adjustable cam pulley ..

the purpose of it is to adjust the timing to increase power at certain RPM.. not all the way from 1k - 10k..

eg.
15degree advance to increase power at 1k - 5k..
0 degree to increase power at 5k - 10k..

it also depends on what engine u use.. not all engine respond to the setting the same way.. because of their design..

and also if u use big cams such as 272/260, u must rev very high to achieve the desired horsepower.. NA tuned..

for turbo usually they use bigger turbo.. or twinturbo..

i suggest find a good tuner for ur engine & learn from them..

For Toyota 4AGE engine read this

Bill Sherwood's Modified 4AGE Page
Haha... That page is my early source of knowledge too... Still very useful! :burnout:

93na

Mar 9, 2009
i agree to that.. a good tuner is the answer.. he be able to advice you on to do.......

szeeonn

Jun 6, 2007
hmm guys ..
which cam suitable for my turbo
270/260 or 272/272

tq

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
hmm guys ..
which cam suitable for my turbo
270/260 or 272/272

tq
Mayb u can list down what u've done with ur engine so far..

1. What engine?
2. Stock turbo or aftermarket one?
3. How much boost?
4. Exhaust header & pipe?
5. Air filter?

because tuning an engine is about balance.. not like add this = add power.. sumtimes we add sumthing, the power goes down..

:driver:

szeeonn

Jun 6, 2007
Mayb u can list down what u've done with ur engine so far..

1. What engine?
2. Stock turbo or aftermarket one?
3. How much boost?
4. Exhaust header & pipe?
5. Air filter?

because tuning an engine is about balance.. not like add this = add power.. sumtimes we add sumthing, the power goes down..

:driver:
4G93 Turbo , E3 turbo , Want to boost 1.3 , exhaust Banana pipe 2.5 inch bend (2wd tank)
air filter ? got kena mengena ? i dunno lol .. i din install air filter yet .

tq

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
4G93 Turbo , E3 turbo , Want to boost 1.3 , exhaust Banana pipe 2.5 inch bend (2wd tank)
air filter ? got kena mengena ? i dunno lol .. i din install air filter yet .

tq
max cam size u can go with aircond is 270/260 duration, 10.00mm Lift..

and u might need an aftermarket ECU to tune it well..

air filter restrict air intake.. so, u'll loose power if u use the standard one..

szeeonn

Jun 6, 2007
nice info bro ..
bro if i put in 270/270 .. would effect car engine timing?
the timing will up down up down ..?
or how ?

coz if power concern, 270/270 more power right ?

i am going to Emanage after put in hi cam

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
nice info bro ..
bro if i put in 270/270 .. would effect car engine timing?
the timing will up down up down ..?
or how ?

coz if power concern, 270/270 more power right ?

i am going to Emanage after put in hi cam
yes, it will effect ur timing..

better go for 270/260

szeeonn

Jun 6, 2007
haiz . i also pening2
ppl say exhaust ?MUST LARGER becoz need more exhaust gas spool the Turbo

so now i am very confused ..

szeeonn

Jun 6, 2007
u order online ?
from australia ?
how much it takes you ?

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
i adjusted my pulleys and was able to produce up to 90lbft on a std 4g91, two set of mountings were damaged/broken on the first day. i had to leverage out the torque curve across the revv range or i am risking yet another set of engine mounts, lol. now using full rubber racing mounts, but wit top end setting, for dat peace of mind

so, no big difference? i dont think so..

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
u order online ?
from australia ?
how much it takes you ?
no la.. i dont own a 4G93 Turbo..

what i meant was my reference come from that website..

u can find the same cam at Sunway, etc.. and i think it's cheaper..

Hey guys,

I've heard several stories of shops charging customers for doing balancing off wheel and then charging them again for doing off wheel balancing. Please be careful and take note:

For example: If a shop takes your tyre out and balances it, charges RM5 and then put it back on your car.... drives your car and then finds it's still out of balance and then he chooses to do an 'on wheel' balancing and charges you RM30 he SHOULD NOT charge you the other RM5 earlier simply because he was...