Nearly 1/4 Proton's Money Evaporated Within A Day !

MeraBoy

Feb 6, 2007

Nov. 21 (Bloomberg) -- Proton Holdings Bhd., Malaysia's unprofitable state-owned carmaker, posted a record one-day decline (22%) in Kuala Lumpur trading after the government ended alliance talks with Volkswagen AG.

Proton slumped 19 percent after Malaysia's state investment unit yesterday said it scrapped a year of talks to give the carmaker more time to reverse five quarters of losses. A strategic alliance can be considered later "if necessary,'' the agency said in a statement.

"They don't have the resources to make it on their own,'' said Raymond Tang, who oversees $5.4 billion at CIMB-Principal Asset Management Bhd. in Kuala Lumpur. "The company needs new technology from a partner.''

A turnaround now hinges on Proton's ability to develop models and increase sales in overseas markets including China, Iran and Thailand. While sales in Malaysia for a new car rolled out in August beat company forecasts, that won't be sufficient for the 24-year-old automaker to go it alone, analysts said.

"Although management has done a commendable job at turning around the company, it probably won't be enough,'' said Vincent Khoo, head of research at Aseambankers Malaysia Bhd. in Kuala Lumpur. Proton still needs a partner, he said.

Proton today fell 92 sen to 4.02 ringgit, the biggest daily decline since it sold shares for the first time in March 1992. The stock has slumped 39 percent this year, giving the company a market value of 2.21 billion ringgit ($653 million).

Poor Brand
Proton lost 589.5 million ringgit last fiscal year. The search for a partner followed the end of an alliance with Mitsubishi Motors Corp. in 2004, and the loss of half of Proton's market share to rivals such as Toyota Motor Corp.

"Proton lacks global competitiveness as it has a poor brand image, has no real global presence to speak of and lacks the necessary technology to compete,'' Sharifah Farah, an analyst at CIMB Investment Bank Bhd. in Kuala Lumpur with an "underperform'' rating on the stock, wrote in a report today.

Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said today the government isn't considering a bailout of Proton because the company is showing signs of recovery.

"There is no question of bailing out,'' he told reporters. "Proton is doing well today.''
The new Persona sedan, introduced in August, notched up 22,000 bookings by the end of October, Malaysian Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop told reporters late yesterday. Proton, which planned to sell 4,000 of the vehicles a month, may report a profit in 2009, Nor said.

Manufacturing Emblem
"We must give Proton management the flexibility to move on and carry out its turnaround plan,'' Nor said. ``We are not saying there will be no strategic partnership. It's a very attractive idea, but we also have to look at the interest of the country.''

Protons, driven by taxi drivers across Malaysia, are among the cheapest cars on offer in the Southeast Asian nation. The carmaker was set up in 1983 by then-Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad as a manufacturing emblem. The Saga saloon is still on sale more than two decades after the first model was produced.

General Motors is still interested in Proton, Rob Leggat, a spokesman for the Detroit-based carmaker, said yesterday in an e-mailed response to questions.

Proton's turnaround plan includes offering all its models in Thailand by the end of November, Nor said yesterday. Proton aims to sell cars in India and to double exports this year and next, it said in September. The company in July agreed with Jinhua Youngman Automobile Manufacturing Co. to sell cars in China.

Old Talks
Proton respects the decision made by the government,'' Zainal Abidin Syed Mohd Tahir, managing director of the Shah Alam, Malaysia-based company, said in a statement. "We will continue to work harder and introduce new models.''

The Persona, which was Proton's first new car in more than a year, may help the automaker return to profit as early as 2009, analysts at Hwang-DBS Vickers Research Sdn. said in August.
The Malaysian government controls Proton though a 43 percent stake held by Khazanah Nasional Bhd., Malaysia's state- owned investment unit.

Proton and Volkswagen jointly ended the talks, the Wolfsburg, Germany-based company said yesterday. Initial negotiations between the two companies collapsed in January last year after the parties failed to agree on terms, including control of the maker of Waja and Wira sedans.
The German automaker will now expand its sales and service network in Southeast Asia, in particular within Malaysia, it said in a statement. A partnership with Proton offered Volkswagen access to a regional manufacturing site.

Source:
Bloomberg.com: Asia

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
by day 4,proton gone....got chance 2 get better tech,better quatity etc,dnt 1... but sum ppl jst wana save der water face... ego....

MeraBoy

Feb 6, 2007
by day 4,proton gone....got chance 2 get better tech,better quatity etc,dnt 1... but sum ppl jst wana save der water face... ego....
padan muka, now also no more face already ! haha

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
Quoted from text: "There is no question of bailing out,'' he told reporters. "Proton is doing well today.''

Yea right thats just because other cars have this stupid 300% taxation and we are forced to buy junk from proton. Its like forcing shit down our throats and using tax payers money to get your own gains and face. If there were no 300% tax on foreign motors we all would be driving better made, better built, and better aftermarket service too.

Protecting our country's pride, yea bullshit. Before they do that they should think of what products their selling first.
Its like selling a half baked bun when you hike up the prices of all other buns, then we have no choice but to buy the half baked one.

rideon

Jan 7, 2007
hey i like ur word u used there mokomoko.. real charm to show what Proton is realy aare....

QuickRide

Aug 31, 2007
mokomoko letting the government why a lot of people do overhauling on their car :P

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
phase II ~ make {force} malaysians scrap all 10-15year old cars & this will help spur "growth" {since it protected u know which manufacturers will benefit} in malaysian auto industry :driver:

:bawling:

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
now der saying NO TIME frame,so dis wud mean,proton can take der time in improving....new model?? persona is selling well. no need 4 a new model,saga still selling..quality? was der any quality in proton in d 1st place?? wats goin on wit proton???? so sad laaaaa......

MeraBoy

Feb 6, 2007
now der saying NO TIME frame,so dis wud mean,proton can take der time in improving....new model?? persona is selling well. no need 4 a new model,saga still selling..quality? was der any quality in proton in d 1st place?? wats goin on wit proton???? so sad laaaaa......
...need not feel sad, just DUN BUY potong car since now is the buyer market ! So long as is managed/ran by monkey/katak bawah tempurung (whichever u call it), Quality is NOT an agenda in their SOP.

RocketMan

Mar 23, 2006
Cheap cars, low quality, low safety features, not all models come with ABS and airbags..so majority will be dying in an accident...hey, its a new method of population control i guess...hehehehe...
I enjoy driving cars...
protons is actually good theoretically but the way they deliver their product into realization shows stupidity and negligence....
Being one of the owner.
Their aftersales really sucks! Their salesperson sucks too!

doppelganger

May 5, 2006
Nice one proton...while trying to save your water face..why don't you just dig your own grave and put all your shame into it...The PEOPLE wants their money worth..not a bunch of half baked cars tied together with lies and corruption. Hey, wasn't AFTA supposed to be implemented last year? With proton without a partner, you can bet that AFTA will not get implemented until the next millennium. I pray that some other company will use underhanded tactics to acquire proton...the same way Porsche took over VW... Amen