ICE -In Car Entertainment

MTX Thunder 3000 12in Subs

kerhan27

Oct 23, 2004
:ph34r: TO ALL ICE TAIKO AND SIFUS OUT THERE.

I'm a NEWBIE in this ICE stuff so i need some opinion reguarding this particular SUB.

what is the sound quality like?
what is the price for a used unit?
how is the brand? is it good?

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
1. sound quality is where your system is balanced and the bass plays low and tight. good front imaging from the driver and passenger seats and where sound imaging comes from one source which is the front.

2. what is your budget. start with your budget or else ppl will recommend you a 10K system.

3. good or bad depends on what are you looking for.

hope this will help.

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Originally posted by kerhan27@Jan 26 2005, 08:28
:D Thanks appleyard.

wat about the price? new and used? :ph34r:
hahaha...appleyard is right...if not later unker Pieces recon u 2 get his Lotus SEAS....7K onli mah... :P :P :P

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Originally posted by Bert@Jan 26 2005, 15:05
Not so expensive lar
hehehe...4 u mah... :P

7k i can get amp...comp set...caps....so many many more edi... :lol:

kerhan27

Oct 23, 2004
:lol: Does anyone know how much it cost for a 2nd unit? :D

i'm asking cos my fren got 1 extra and wan to sell to me. So i wan to know wat price will be reasonable. <_<

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Originally posted by Bert@Jan 26 2005, 16:36
I meant the lotus Seas is not 7k... chepaer than that... its only abt 1/2 of what u posted
oh...heehhe...

sorry...got the wrong info <_<

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
i notice the voice coils of the MTX sub is normally a little
bit smaller than the same RMS watts range sub.

let say 250rms of xxx brand has a 2" voice coil, but mtx
250rms watts only has 1.5"/1.75" voice coil.
so is it a pros?

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Originally posted by artnet@Jan 26 2005, 20:47
i notice the voice coils of the MTX sub is normally a little
bit smaller than the same RMS watts range sub.

let say 250rms of xxx brand has a 2" voice coil, but mtx
250rms watts only has 1.5"/1.75" voice coil.
so is it a pros?
mayb all mtx stuff is small? :rolleyes:

their amp 4 xample...frickin small but yet powerful...

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
dunno.

15" is 2" voice coil, the 12" sub is 1.5" voice coil, then 8" sub is only 1"voice coil. 250w rms.

for bazooka sub, 12", 2" voice coil, 10", 2" too. only 8" is 1.5"voice coil.

so wht does the voice coil do?

Bert

Nov 16, 2003
Muddy Delta
the voice coil is what makes the cone move up and down. based on the electrical pulses from the amp, the vc gets charged and reacts to the magnet to make it move. That moves air and makes noise.

usually larger VC = more pwoer needed but depends on VC design and usually what wire used.. copper or aluminum

icechong

Apr 12, 2004
i m having one MTX T6212 12" sub. it is good for SPL, really can shake my ass, but SQ is not that ...UMMMM!!