MSN Messenger - Firewall

sil

Hi:

Anyone uses firewall? Basically I've block all access, but just need to open up MSN .NET Service. Which port should I open and IP address to the login server?

Rdgs

sil

cmng:

no leh, doesnt work leh, tried port 1683 or 1863 and messenger.hotmail.com ip still cannot work.

cmng

Open all saja la.
block it using IP address
that what i do la..
since internet user is less ( 15 user only )
and only 3-4 active user only..
:)

sil

CMNG:

No no, think you mistaken liao lah.

Basically I've block all outgoing for a specific IP say 192.168.0.1 , however, I want that IP able to logon to MSN. So one would "Allow 192.168.0.1 TCP 1863 <messenger logon ip> " that would work but somehow it doesnt.

I guess the deny all is more important then allow. So I've work the other way wrong. Now only blocking port 80 outgoing so basically cannot surf web lah, except to update.windows.com.

BTW, I've got the requirement from f8 liao, can you also send me your requirements for the motec?

Cheers

cmng

you using proxy to control firewall ?

basically this what i do.
those allowed to surf net.
route them thru proxy server .
from the block all the neccesary access and word

those higher level user ( manager or CEO )
point them direct to router . bypass the proxy server
to free to surf all even xxx ( who care since higher level staff )
just tell them you have allow them to bypass the server to allow
more easier access to internet
proxy server sometime very ma fan la when come to word filtering
just control the lower staff level usage only
higher level buat apa nak kacau them

i have same issue last time when configuring the Lotus program to bypass the port.
fed up.. point direct much better and hassle free

my requirement ?
i email u now

hello guys...

ok i have searched this forum for BOV topic but sadly no return.so thats y i start this topic

i am using HKS trumpet... but the BOV died on few weeks ago... boost leak make my car damn no power... ok now i want to replace my BOV... the option that i have is greddy type rs, blitz dd, hks ssqz, sard r2d2....

my question to all tailo and sifoo here is... wats the difference between immitation ssqv, greddy rs and so on with their original counter part?? if i use the...