Mr2 vs M3

soff

Nov 13, 2005
Sounds great, how this weekend? Wanna do it? all in the name of fun lah then we go mamak... talk about our first love.
wah iexit, you rub salt to wound uh?

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
www.autojunctions.com
i heard a few potent bmw powerplants are on a ship... sailing towards our country... waiting to be..... plonked into..... some... unsuspecting... uncle cars.... but only... to..... be.... smoked.... by... ... ... ...... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ........... .. .

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
soff, where got wound... i really want to know how the 2's fair against the ultimate driving machines. Further more its a 335 coupe which means it lighter then its 4dr brothers. It would be interesting to know, i like benchmarking activities. And its all in the name of fun :-)

So velocity92 are we on?

1990 MR2 SW20
2.0 DOCH 16v in-line 4 Turbo @ 225bhp - 1280kg

vs

BMW 335 Coupe
3.0 DOHC 24-valve inline-6 @ 230bhp - 1540kg

OR IF YOUR'S A TURBO

Twin-turbocharged DOHC 24-valve 3.0-liter inline-6 @ 300 hp (OUCH!)

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
But i must say nothing beats displacement loh... 500cc, more valves, variable valve, and better spec time sheet :-) ppl can go 0-100 in 4.8sec woh PLUS i forgot to state that the BMW's bhp rating is at the wheels i think. MR2 is at the crank

But i'm confident the 2 can hold off the BM till at least about 120kmh :P

tony5050

this topic is real interesting to me..perhaps i can make my lil' confession here having driven many JDMs and now the M3..hehee..just my personal point of view if it can helps to clear things up a bit..

right, the M3 has got 343 bhp in standard spec but not too sure wht the mk1 MR2 has got. M3, overall, is a very well balance, not that powerful as the figure might suggest, and easy to drive in Track kinda car.
Tested with many different cars before this but has never "smoke" anyone. RX8, MR2, 350Z, GT2, GT3, M5, S204, R34,...u name it..
i reckon the M3 will do around 14sec pass for quarter mile..judge from this, perhaps we know who is faster in sprint.
but talking about the rolling mid range torque...man, this car is good. High speed rolling test side by side with NSX auto till 250km/h range, still no one is giving way..now, u judge whether is easy to PULL away from a M3 easily....my 2 cents ya!!..cheers!

velocity92

Nov 3, 2007
Mine one is the E92 335 Twin-turbocharged DOHC 24-valve 3.0-liter inline-6 @ 306hp. ;p i think no need laa. not a fair benchmark laa. we have mamak la wei...hehehe

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
open before this gets my dick is faster or bigger than that dick..

i dont think soffs comment was to aggrieved M sports owners to sudden dished their beloved marque.

in the open road the very capable 300bhp BMW will pile the sprint quite effortlessly. steet wise/short spruts may hamper a little cars weight & may throw the debate into consideration. roads unevenness/undulation will then play upmost to the drivers skill & concentration.

this can go on-&-on comparing dicks. all i'll say all dicks are good. show mutual respect lar.

soff

Nov 13, 2005
Mine one is the E92 335 Twin-turbocharged DOHC 24-valve 3.0-liter inline-6 @ 306hp. ;p i think no need laa. not a fair benchmark laa. we have mamak la wei...hehehe
OK Blackhowling, this is in your territory...............

me cabut-le........>>>>>>>>>

cynicks

Feb 29, 2004
I might be out of the MR2 scene... but can I join mamak session ?

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
No worries, no one is putting any other marque down. It’s just a friendly drag just for benchmarking purposes. :-) We're all old men liau have to increase adrenaline a bit form time to time.

tony5050, you right about the M3 it will eat a stock MR2 for breakfast. And a M3 should run 1/4 in high 13's i think.

velocity92, Holy shit its the twin turbo ah? LOL nvm i'll sit in for SOFF lets just do it for fun :-) my car is stock too, just normal improvements like filter, exhaust and a little here and there. I think its a fair run u got about 80bhp more but heavier.

K_Takuya's, NO UTUBE lah... after kena sommore...LOL

So which road for a safe, hassle free run?

just wanna ask if powerzone does porting for the intake-manifold for Waja 1.6???
if yes, how much will it cost?