MR2 SW 20 owners discussion thread

slug

Jul 12, 2004
Kay EL
Yesterday i went to have my car locks changed. The bootlock was removed and i accientally closed the boot. Now it's stuck with no way of opening. Short of cutting the boot open, does anyone have any idea?

goober

Jul 20, 2005
slug said:
Yesterday i went to have my car locks changed. The bootlock was removed and i accientally closed the boot. Now it's stuck with no way of opening. Short of cutting the boot open, does anyone have any idea?
What happened to your boot release lever in the cockpit?

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
try opening the engine hood to access. i think david did suffer this fate long time ago

slug

Jul 12, 2004
Kay EL
David did huh? I'll have to call him then. But looking at hinge from the engine bay, it's not possible to open. Looks like cutting is the only option.
Thanks anyway.

goober

Jul 20, 2005
........ Age catching up???
........ Sex don't interest you much anymore???
........ Using the term exstacy to describe your MR2 from 0-100 km/h???
........ Having nightmares about changing your MR2 to a 4 seater to fit the wife and kids???

I feel you brother...... And heres a solution......

Time to campaign your MR2 .....
<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/4gKnOfwCxwE"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4gKnOfwCxwE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="600" height="350"></embed></object>

See you at the "MR2 JOM Drive" 17DEC2006. Click link below to Register

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?p=1880119#post1880119

Where you're a better driver than you think......

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
Cheap cheap only lah :-) Make sure you
1) Leave it standard
2) Buy it in tip top condition
3) Have god on your side

Its ok, parts still can be sourced, or purchased form Toyota dealers.

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
X-pression, I don't remember the T top rubber costing that much, even if you import it.

Plus, out of all the MR2 guys i know, only one of us had change the T top rubbers, others seal it up permanently :-) or keep them secret

p/s mine don't leak (fingers crossed) For me and some of my buddies, the issue is more of leaks form the side (window) which can be adjusted by you friendly mud guard shop.

And it’s not true that you can't buy a tip top car, I think its a matter of price and time to look for one. You can always fine a good one which does not need (major) work for sale.

Some parts are readily available other will have to come form Singapore (2 weeks >) or Japan (4 weeks on wards)

So keep praying, never rush and you'll find yourself a good buy and a tip top car (at lease semi tip top)

:-) Happy shopping, there are a few in use car lots, but check them out well before deciding

TaE|VoN

If u looking for a good condition MR2, with no worries of leak for T-top,
Pls feel free to contact me.

My SW20 is hardtop. Hard to find version.
225 stock turbo. No engine mod. Good power from stock.
Mod bodykit.

Contact me at 019-7727977

Regards,
Gary

X-pression said:
seal it permanently? meaning the T top cant be used?

hmm.. guess i'll just have to be on the look out for one then...

as for other mr2 owners.. if u do have any other experiences please do post it up here.

Thanks.

Can any sifu or expert can advise me on putting adjustable cam pulley into a 4g15p?

What is the rpm during idling?
How much improvement can improve?
Beside this how is the consumption?

At the moment my car has been done a lil modification.

4g15p - Mitsubishi ECU
- 1.3 gear box
- 8" lighten flywheel
- 8" clutch plate
- modded air filter box
- 4-2-1 extractor
- bullet
- muffler
- 1.7" piping
- 15" enkei sport rim