Modding 4G18

mic1616

Jun 6, 2005
jelapang
Can any sifus teach me how to mod my engine? i hope to get around 180-200 horse. wish to play na. can also tell me the cost of each item i have to change? thanks alot in advance.... :) :) :)

norika_sakai

Nov 16, 2003
bro ...4g18 is a waja engine rite ?? want to increase to 180 to 200 horse ...bro...cannot la...i mean not kenot la...have to spend alot to your standard engine....better do engine transplant straight....sorry for disturbing ya...hehhe....

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
mic1616 said:
Can any sifus teach me how to mod my engine? i hope to get around 180-200 horse. wish to play na. can also tell me the cost of each item i have to change? thanks alot in advance.... :) :) :)
mic1616, if RM is not a major concern to you......theres alot of things u can do to ur 4g18 ler. but then ah....the amount of money spent to get tat much horses....its just not worth it ler....whether the engine is realiable or not also another story. but anyways, 180-200 ponnies on 4G18 sounds abit impossible.

1. High Cams + valve springs
2. Port and Polish
3. Blue print the engine (balance + lighten)
4. rebore the block and fit in larger pistons. (displacement increase)
5. fit in a twin-cam head. (from 4G15)
6. a good complete engine management system.

d3ftones

Mar 18, 2004
peejay
dun forget..bore n replace with higher comp piston.
adj cam pulley (ada ke?)
insert 4 throttle?

bnr34

Jul 28, 2004
conclusion
FINALLY, standart is better. right guys?
can use extra money go to travel with gf or family, friends..

dareMAX

Aug 3, 2004
RAMD
mengz,

Correction for :- 5. fit in a twin-cam head. (from 4G15)

4G15 are single cam, if u are point 4G91 yes it is twincam but it does not suit for 4G18.
Should go for 4G92 or 93. Some 1.6 SOCH had done changing the head to 4G92.

Search some info form technical forum.

Good luck dude.

merz2

Oct 25, 2004
latest version of 4G15 is a doch engine from japan year 98 and above...its from newer lancer....the timing belt is on the left side like waja....can mod to waja i think...4G91 cannot fit la....

taqu

Dec 17, 2004
Dude, go to Powerzone and ask 'em what products are there for 4G18. I know they got extractor for Waja. For other items I'm not sure.

Basically 180bhp-200bhp (in N/A) from 1.6 litre engine will make it horrible (unacceptable for normal driving) below 2500RPM, if u can accept this fact than good luck.

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
dareMAX said:
mengz,

Correction for :- 5. fit in a twin-cam head. (from 4G15)

4G15 are single cam, if u are point 4G91 yes it is twincam but it does not suit for 4G18.
Should go for 4G92 or 93. Some 1.6 SOCH had done changing the head to 4G92.

Search some info form technical forum.

Good luck dude.
hehhee bro.....definitely the 4G91 twin-cam head cannot fit onto waja block ler. its the 4G15 twin-cam head, and yes 4G15 has a single cam and a twin-cam version. u can get it from a Mitsubishi Colt. the colt even has a 4G15 twin-cam mivec turbo version. get tat head, and u have a 4G18 dohc mivec :) i saw in klang selling tat head for rm2k+.

p/s: in seremban sum workshop is offering rm1k to fix the 4g15 twin-cam head onto the waja's 4g18 block.

dareMAX

Aug 3, 2004
RAMD
Wow I dun know that they even have 2 different engine with one series/code. Thkz for your info.

mengz said:
hehhee bro.....definitely the 4G91 twin-cam head cannot fit onto waja block ler. its the 4G15 twin-cam head, and yes 4G15 has a single cam and a twin-cam version. u can get it from a Mitsubishi Colt. the colt even has a 4G15 twin-cam mivec turbo version. get tat head, and u have a 4G18 dohc mivec :) i saw in klang selling tat head for rm2k+.

p/s: in seremban sum workshop is offering rm1k to fix the 4g15 twin-cam head onto the waja's 4g18 block.

mic1616

Jun 6, 2005
jelapang
Hi gurus, if i plan to do a quad throttle and bore my block and change high comp pistons(if any), camshaft(if any), port n polish, are there any thing else i can do? and what is the increase in power i am looking at with these mods? Thanks everyone for all the advices you have given. I was away in job assignment and i am ready to do my car. Any workshop to recommend btw?

Does anyone here knows where can i get this few brands of engine oil in Ipoh?
Any shops in Ipoh selling this..?

1. Liqui Moly MOS2 Leichtlauf 10w-40
2. Eneos Motor Oil Racing GT 10w-40 SN/CF
3. Petro Canada Supreme 10w-40 API SN
4. Mitsubishi Motors 10w-40

View attachment 513907 View attachment 513908 View attachment 513909 View attachment 513912

And also where can i get this few brands of auto...