Mitsubishi Airtrek Turbo 4G63 ENGINE WITH 2JZ PISTONS, CRANKSHAFT 2.2L UPGRADE - Need Advise & Input

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Tune to include antilag function if your Maxxecu has the feature, that should minimise the lag, just noisy with the popping sound.

ericemir

ericemir

Aug 25, 2010
P.J
Seems the Mishimoto is overkill and too big as it supports up to 600hp while you're not even reaching half that. Stock intercooler is already the best match for td05. My 9 already close to 400whp with slightly bigger HKS turbo yet I am still using stock intercooler.
Hi Sifu, haha OK. I think that so. I think I will just use it for now. I get it so cheap in US. If the intercooler caused the LAG, then I will sell 2nd hand price.

ericemir

ericemir

Aug 25, 2010
P.J
Sudah beli.. pakai-je la.

Whatever the case - just remember your gearbox saja. Once you overhaul and mod your engine with all those parts, just make sure your tuner knows what he's doing with the wiring and tuning of the MaxxEcu. Which model MaxxEcu did you buy?

I think it's good to have 'overhead', you might not full use those components to its fullest potential but at least you have it there for the day you're ready to go manual and 600hp.

But like what 6uest said - all those parts put together maybe a comfortable 300hp max. The tuner should be able to tune out some of the lag or just make the car nice to drive.

Good luck bro
Hello Sir,
Yes, gearbox is 1. I think going to get WAGON EVO 9 Gearbox for spare. Yes, the tuner is D'Tuning SG Buloh. MaxxECU MINI :biggrin:

OK Sir, I will update you the outcome after the car ready after DYNO.

lsm1991

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
interesting....

few notes, not sure if 100% accurate but...
1) TD05 from the gta,if im not mistaken is a15g with a smaller nozzle, doubt will make a huge dif tho.
2) if im not mistaken the wagon and he airtrek use the same gearbox? this part im not 100% sure
3) coils will do nothing for you, funds might be better off spent elsewhere
4) cams no point, same as airtrek
5) i think u can consider the links for the older evo3, if im not mistaken will work..... i saw few adverts 3.1k brand new (someone got for abit less even)

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hi Sifu, haha OK. I think that so. I think I will just use it for now. I get it so cheap in US. If the intercooler caused the LAG, then I will sell 2nd hand price.
Yeah, try first, anyway easy to replace later if needed. I am no sifu BTW cuz also still very new in the Evo game, still need to learn a lot from others.

interesting....

1) TD05 from the gta,if im not mistaken is a15g with a smaller nozzle, doubt will make a huge dif tho.
2) if im not mistaken the wagon and he airtrek use the same gearbox? this part im not 100% sure
5) i think u can consider the links for the older evo3, if im not mistaken will work..... i saw few adverts 3.1k brand new (someone got for abit less even)
Airtrek turbo is Td04-15g.
Yes, gearbox of Evo 9 wagon are same as GTA and Airtrek.

Hello Sir,
Yes, gearbox is 1. I think going to get WAGON EVO 9 Gearbox for spare. Yes, the tuner is D'Tuning SG Buloh. MaxxECU MINI :biggrin:

OK Sir, I will update you the outcome after the car ready after DYNO.
eh don't call me "sir" la aiyo. Unless you're 18 years old la.. then please continue calling me sir.

I don't know what it is you want to achieve with all these random mish-mash of mods. But I hope your tuner and mech are competent enough to do everything properly without ripping you off.

ericemir

ericemir

Aug 25, 2010
P.J
eh don't call me "sir" la aiyo. Unless you're 18 years old la.. then please continue calling me sir.

I don't know what it is you want to achieve with all these random mish-mash of mods. But I hope your tuner and mech are competent enough to do everything properly without ripping you off.
hi,
hahaha. call everyone Sir. Respect to earn.

ya la. I just buy this and that forgotten that it's airtrek turbo automatic. hehe
yes, will properly manage and plan.

will update you the outcome.

ericemir

ericemir

Aug 25, 2010
P.J
Yeah, try first, anyway easy to replace later if needed. I am no sifu BTW cuz also still very new in the Evo game, still need to learn a lot from others.

Airtrek turbo is Td04-15g.
Yes, gearbox of Evo 9 wagon are same as GTA and Airtrek.
Yes, TD004. The new TD05 came from GTA. so going to install that.

Yup, i want to get the WAGON gearbox soon. Before the price gone mad soon.

ericemir

ericemir

Aug 25, 2010
P.J
interesting....

Thanks for the input

You think so? I bought from halfcut TD05 from GTA with the Banana of TOMEI. I send for welding and test to check any hole. Then the TD05 sent to TURBO house and refurbished and make it like new. Basically all parts is consider REFURBISHED.

evo 7 gta & WAGON Evo 9 is the same. But not sure for AIRTREK.

Already installed and standalone. managed by MAXXECU

aiyo..serious ah? CAM EVO 7 GTA same with AIRTEK?

I already installed and re wiring plus use the MAXXECU. petrol consume better after installed.
[/QUOTE]

ericemir

ericemir

Aug 25, 2010
P.J
Tune to include antilag function if your Maxxecu has the feature, that should minimise the lag, just noisy with the popping sound.
So what is this ANTI LAG function? MY ECU can enable this function/feature. Can this eliminate my lagged that comes from TD05/Mishimoto Intercooler? My mechanic said will be 200-300RPM lagged at 4000RPM. some people can feel it and some dont he said, Sir.

What do you think? Waiting for your input.
:adore:

Thank you!

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
So what is this ANTI LAG function? MY ECU can enable this function/feature. Can this eliminate my lagged that comes from TD05/Mishimoto Intercooler? My mechanic said will be 200-300RPM lagged at 4000RPM. some people can feel it and some dont he said, Sir.

What do you think? Waiting for your input.
:adore:

Thank you!
It's a function to igniting the engine in a sputtering manner when you're off the throttle to keep the turbo spinning at more usable speeds. So when you get back on the throttle, the turbo will be more responsive as it doesn't need to gain as much momentum.

ericemir

ericemir

Aug 25, 2010
P.J
It's a function to igniting the engine in a sputtering manner when you're off the throttle to keep the turbo spinning at more usable speeds. So when you get back on the throttle, the turbo will be more responsive as it doesn't need to gain as much momentum.
Right. OK. I need to learn a lot of things. When the car was almost done. I Will update you again. Where is your workshop bro? Or you yourself your own mechanic?:five:

antilag for a street car no need la.. your car will be so noisy on the road with popping and cracking exhaust noises plus you'll burn through your spark plugs and mufflers so fast this way. Not to mention the fuel consumption....

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
I go to 199 Performance Garage in Putra Heights, they're Evo specialist. 99% of their customers are 4G63T Evos/Airtrek.

Reactions: ericemir

lsm1991

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
Thanks for the input

You think so? I bought from halfcut TD05 from GTA with the Banana of TOMEI. I send for welding and test to check any hole. Then the TD05 sent to TURBO house and refurbished and make it like new. Basically all parts is consider REFURBISHED.

evo 7 gta & WAGON Evo 9 is the same. But not sure for AIRTREK.

Already installed and standalone. managed by MAXXECU

aiyo..serious ah? CAM EVO 7 GTA same with AIRTEK?

I already installed and re wiring plus use the MAXXECU. petrol consume better after installed.
1)refurb, pandai pandailah
2)ya same unit, can check the part no
4)yes same... gta is very much in between the evo & the airtrek. Drivetrain is verymuch shared with the airtrek,honestly will do u fine noneed to tukar at all imo.

u really wana run antilag 24/7? i can tell u, the amount of abuse you will put ur turbo through... it wont live a long life.. ur exhaust loop, semua under abuse. and now with the exhaust fiasco, u dare ka?
the td05 is a 15g, wont be terribly laggy.... the Mishimoto Intercooler will hardly bring u any additional lag

antilag for a street car no need la.. your car will be so noisy on the road with popping and cracking exhaust noises plus you'll burn through your spark plugs and mufflers so fast this way. Not to mention the fuel consumption....
antilag 24/7 i wana see how long everything lasts...

antilag is outright abuse

Reactions: Izso