MAAC Go-Kart Challenge

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
The Malaysian Australian Alumni Council (MAAC) is organising a Go-Kart
Endurance Race on the 12th of September at Extreme Park, Sunway.

The details are as below:

Date: 12th September 2004 ( Sunday )
Time: 9:30am
Venue: Extreme Park, Bandar Sunway.
Race format: 1 hour Endurance
No. of Participant: 4 drivers to a team.
Entry Fee: RM220 per team.

The winner will win the challenge trophy.

For more info and to register your team, contact the following:

Tan Wei Seong
[email protected]
016-335 3398

cyclonite

Nov 27, 2003
sunway's using the 250cc 4 stoke karts lor. forgot whether they were 9hp or 10.5hp. abt the same as the fun karts at Elite lor. They can't run 2 stroke karts for endurance race gua... maintenance too high. that one you might have to pay RM2200 and not RM220 per team :D

Mazdaspeed A-spec.

Apr 11, 2004
Originally posted by cyclonite@Sep 9 2004, 12:17 AM
sunway's using the 250cc 4 stoke karts lor. forgot whether they were 9hp or 10.5hp. abt the same as the fun karts at Elite lor. They can't run 2 stroke karts for endurance race gua... maintenance too high. that one you might have to pay RM2200 and not RM220 per team :D
r u sure they r 250cc
250cc damn fast wei
normally 80cc only those fun karts

OSFlanker

Feb 3, 2004
Yes, Sunway Extreme Park is using 250cc kart as fun karts. Bear in mind they are 4-stroke karts and not 80cc 2-stroke karts. They are much heavier (being 4 stroke) and do not rev as high as the 80cc, hence you can only hear "tuk, tuk, tuk" sound and not the high pitch whine of the 2-stroke. They feel slower than the 80cc too and do not corner as well due to the weight.

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
Yes.. it's true.. the cc may be bigger but its 4 stroke.. so less powerful than the 2 strokes.

One of the reasons for not having at Shah Alam is due to safety. The 80cc 2 stroke karts at Shah Alam do not have metal protector around the kart to prevent the wheels of 2 karts locking up and resulting in karts getting overturned or thrown into the air.

So far, Sunway Extreme Park has that metal protector.

gti88

MORAC in USJ also has the metal protector thingy for their fun karts.

How much is the prize money ?

Mazdaspeed A-spec.

Apr 11, 2004
Originally posted by InitialD@Sep 9 2004, 10:12 PM
Yes.. it's true.. the cc may be bigger but its 4 stroke.. so less powerful than the 2 strokes.

One of the reasons for not having at Shah Alam is due to safety. The 80cc 2 stroke karts at Shah Alam do not have metal protector around the kart to prevent the wheels of 2 karts locking up and resulting in karts getting overturned or thrown into the air.

So far, Sunway Extreme Park has that metal protector.
so does this mean that the karts will be provided for the endurance race.
one more thing. how many teams entitled to race. is there any qualifying sessions or heats b4 the finals.

TQ.

Mazdaspeed A-spec.

Apr 11, 2004
Originally posted by OSFlanker@Sep 9 2004, 09:02 AM
Yes, Sunway Extreme Park is using 250cc kart as fun karts. Bear in mind they are 4-stroke karts and not 80cc 2-stroke karts. They are much heavier (being 4 stroke) and do not rev as high as the 80cc, hence you can only hear "tuk, tuk, tuk" sound and not the high pitch whine of the 2-stroke. They feel slower than the 80cc too and do not corner as well due to the weight.
thanks for informing
didnt know bout that

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
MORAC track not very nice to drive...very bumpy and sandy. Unfortunately no prize money lah.. only champion trophy. This is the 3rd year they are organising this annual karting event.

gti88

i think that on the Xtreme park track there's more sand as compare to Morac.
and the sunway one, if you go off, then there will be lots of stones.
Atleast Morac has timing and their track is more challenging.

chooz

klang valley
members.cardomain.com
yea morac track is more international standard compared to sunway's kartquest..
and their karts are faster and better maintained than to sunway's.. futhermore the kartquest karts are not equal in power.. some are faster than the other...
anyway heres a hint: kart no 3 is the fastest among the 270cc honda karts :P

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Elite's place is abit .. funny la their maintaince.. :(

BabyGodzilla broke his leg there back in 1999.. (brake failure, own kart) but that time the safety barrier was poorly constructed, more like concrete filled tyres!
now better.

gti88

whatever it is, i prefer that the Morac track is a real track as compared to Sunway.
Atleast they give suits for you to wear, rather than having your elbow getting burnt in Sunway while taking a corner and your body shifts its weigh to the other side. :(
This is what happened not just to me but quite a lot of my friends. hmmm ...

my 2cents.

:D HEy,,, i saw Yam Tat Wah face stuck on a poster of car enhancing device.... so call : MAGIC JET..

Anybody got idea how to DIY it?
According to the sales rep, magic jet is a kind of mineral that will release some radiation and enchance the combustion of engine... quick interesting!

But, when he showed me that MJ, i almost can believe it. What he showed me was just a flat plastic hoding an aluminium packet inside. That thing can last for 5 yrs. The sales rep said it's install in the air...