LSD Gearbox Vs Gear Oil

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
Yo all sifu,
I would like to ask y'all about...
is really LSD gear need to use specified gear oil like 'indication' of different brand...
What I'm trying to ask is...can LSD g/b use normal gear oil???

Thanks for viewing & reply!

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
LSD gearbox must use LSD gear oil to protect the internals of the gear n the LSD mechanisms... non-LSD gearbox can use LSD oil but not the other way round...

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
LSD gearbox must use LSD gear oil to protect the internals of the gear n the LSD mechanisms... non-LSD gearbox can use LSD oil but not the other way round...
Yo bro,
Thanks for reply...

I just thought... LSD just a part in between the driveshaft...
But no idea how sensitve it is to the gear oil...

Anyway... it means it's sharing gear oil together with the gear... doesn't it?

But if the tear starting tear of worn...could the LSD also be affected?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
if u notice, the final drive (which is where the LSD is located) is also lubricated by the transmission oil...

the big gear on the right is the final drive. beneath the final drive is the lsd n u can see the big gear is also lubricated by the same gearbox oil that lubricates the gears (the 2 shafts on the right with lots of gears on them)

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
i was used Motul 75w/90...
damn...90 per litre...my g/b need 2.x litre...need to buy 3 litre...
can u imagine!??!?!?

Malaysians can now attain Volvo’s most dynamic model yet, the S60, that lays claim to impressive sporty aspirations whilst still maintaining the utmost safety aspects that is synonymous with the brand. Dubbed the marque’s naughtiest car, the S60 is one sexy Swedish brick, with more curves, power and safety features that pave the path for the brand’s future...