Low oil pressure at idle and Mivec mode not cutting in 4G92 MIVEC help!

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
Hi I have a Lancer with a swap to a 4G92 MIVEC as per the picture:



Recently the oil pressure has started to go low when the engine is at idle/tickover.



This is shown on my oil pressure gauge as well as the oil light on the dashboard had been flickering.

Also the car won't go into MIVEC mode.

I have checked the oil, it is at the correct level on the dip stick and was only changed about 3000 KM ago, running 10W40 fully synthetic oil.

Everything was working fine previously, then after a long fast run on a clear motorway where I was able to go into MIVEC mode, when I turned off the motorway and stopped at some traffic lights noticed the low oil pressure at idle.

The oil pressure for regular driving looks fine.

Any idea's about to fix this issue?

Many thanks
 

Attachments

Last edited:

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Looks like need to change the oil pump. Better do fast as Oil starvation is not good for the engine
 

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
Hi

Thanks for the reply's, have read that my engine can suffer from oil pickup in the sump getting blocked, will look into it, won't be driving it much until sorted out

cheers
 

y2188

Known Member

y2188

Known Member
Jan 4, 2016
441
42
28
Petaling Jaya
Is your oil pressure level same as before? 1bar seems a bit weak but still fairly normal, if the pressure is the same as before, try check your mivec solenoid.
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
yeah 1 bar isnt horribly bad yet..... depending on the amount of wear, 1bar per 1k rpms can be considered 'sort of normal'
 

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
definitely a little lower because the alarm was activated, also oil light on the dash board came on.

Have been advised to try an oil change to 5W50 fully synthetic oil, will do that, and check the MIVEC solenoid.

Many thanks!
 

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 13, 2010
7,509
1,690
1,713
The Mines
change oil pump..

new billet pump preferred...
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
Since normal drive the pressure is normal, could it be the oil pressure sensor problem?
since oil pressure goes up with the rpm (till a certain point) si if it actually is starving, it will seem fine when you are giving it some revs. Afaik, it would only know if the pressure is fine or too low without taking into account the rpm speeds (on my old junk car at least, it isnt able to relate the rpm and oil pressure)
and since he has 2 sensors (one stock, providing ecu data hense the dash light and the other for the defi, which is also going off)


definitely a little lower because the alarm was activated, also oil light on the dash board came on.

Have been advised to try an oil change to 5W50 fully synthetic oil, will do that, and check the MIVEC solenoid.

Many thanks!
jay, dont think changing to heavier oil will solve anything, but instead only mask the issue if it works. (my 2 cents)
 

sanekit

1,500 RPM

sanekit

1,500 RPM
Dec 9, 2015
1,611
156
663
Petaling Jaya
since oil pressure goes up with the rpm (till a certain point) si if it actually is starving, it will seem fine when you are giving it some revs. Afaik, it would only know if the pressure is fine or too low without taking into account the rpm speeds (on my old junk car at least, it isnt able to relate the rpm and oil pressure)
and since he has 2 sensors (one stock, providing ecu data hense the dash light and the other for the defi, which is also going off)
oil pressure need to check under load. free revs sometimes pressure is ok. :driver:
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
oil pressure need to check under load. free revs sometimes pressure is ok. :driver:
oh didnt know there would be any dif

**actually... am quite sure there will be no dif, oil pressure should (afaik-lah) be affected by the temps (affecting viscosity) and rpms.
 
Last edited:

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
I think I will try an oil and oil filter change, maybe just partly blocked oil filter?

does anyone know the best oil filter to buy for 4G92 MIVEC Gen 2?

If that doesn't work will have to look into changing the oil pump.

cheers
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
I think I will try an oil and oil filter change, maybe just partly blocked oil filter?

does anyone know the best oil filter to buy for 4G92 MIVEC Gen 2?

If that doesn't work will have to look into changing the oil pump.

cheers
any filter will do really... am running proton filters on my car...
 

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
Is there any chance there's oil sludge in your engine?
The oil on the dipstick looks pretty clean but its possible, anyway hopefully an oil and oil filter change will help if this is the case.

It was a used engine so no idea how long it at been sitting before I bought it and installed it.

Anyway investigations have been on hold for the last few days as I have had food poisoning :puke:

slowly starting to feel better so will look to get the oil change done next week

cheers
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
ehh urs 4g63, dont u need those extra short filters? or is that just the later models
Proton have two filter models. Both have same size housing and rubber gasket, only one is larger in size and one is smaller. VR filter location is next to sub frame at the bottom. The large size filter will touch the frame so need the small filter.....lol:biggrin:
 

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM
Jul 3, 2014
2,080
677
713
36
Melaka
Proton have two filter models. Both have same size housing and rubber gasket, only one is larger in size and one is smaller. VR filter location is next to sub frame at the bottom. The large size filter will touch the frame so need the small filter.....lol:biggrin:
Proton filter for Campro version which is smaller is the same as Perodua. However Proton original fiter is muck more expensive than Perodua. My Campro is using Perodua original filter.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Proton filter for Campro version which is smaller is the same as Perodua. However Proton original fiter is muck more expensive than Perodua. My Campro is using Perodua original filter.
The price I am getting at from a spare part shop near my place is RM8 for small filter and RM10 for the big one. If not Proton brand they are prices at RM7 and RM5 respectively....lol
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
Proton have two filter models. Both have same size housing and rubber gasket, only one is larger in size and one is smaller. VR filter location is next to sub frame at the bottom. The large size filter will touch the frame so need the small filter.....lol:biggrin:
ahh i didnt realize there were 2 sizes of proton filters.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
ahh i didnt realize there were 2 sizes of proton filters.
Yah! if you go and buy at spare part shop and ask for proton filter they will ask 1.3 or 1.5, or big or small....lol
My hyundai sonata 3 also uses proton filters since their engine is Mitsu base......hhahahha:rofl:
 

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand


So felt better yesterday and got oil and oil filter change done, changed to 5W50 Mobil1 Fully synthetic with an original Mitsu oil filter

The problem came back with low oil pressure at tick-over but not until the oil was hotter this time.

The mechanic that did the oil change did say he thought the dashboard oil pressure light had been wired into the same sensor as the after market oil pressure gauge however, so next I will be looking into how this has been wired and replacing the sensor and maybe the gauge too if it points to that.

Thanks for all the support so far from this forum :adore:

@ sweelt my GF did give me charcoal pills after I was puking, I was like WTF are these :eek: but they seemed to work, anyway feel much better now thanks
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: ^pomen_GTR^

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
so..any finding??

Hi, sorry for the delay in my reply, been busy with work, and had to do a short overseas trip.

I did the oil and filter change, helped a little.

U then got the gauge checked and re-calibrated, it now reads just over 1 bar when the engine is hot and at tick-over.

The oil pressure looks fine as the rev's rise and for normal and faster driving.

The red dashboard old light flickers occasionally when the revs at tick-over drop really low, mostly only when the engine is hot but it is cool and the air-con is off so there is no load on the engine.

The Mivec I think is working, but I think the thicker oil I used for this oil change is making it slightly less responsive at higher revs.

I will probably do another oil change in about 5000KM and go back to 10W40 fully synthetic. I am on 5W50 fully synthetic now. I will keep on top of regular oil changes and maybe this will help as the engine may have been sitting around for a while before I bought it and got gummed up.

I did enquirer about replacing the oil pump, but its a big job so will see how things go for now.

Worse case is I will need a bottom end rebuild at some stage but now there is no sounds that suggest this is needed yet.

Just part of the fun of running a higher performance JDM engine that is almost 20 years old, and came from Japan with no history I guess :rolleyes:

Been on a few mid distance drives now and overall the car is running fine.

Thanks for all the support and suggestions from this forum, helps a lot to have a resource like this that is in English

cheers
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Yup, when I used thicker viscosity also feel the engine sluggish, mine even thicker 10w60 Castrol RS those days, now is called Castrol edge. After that went back to 5w40 and now on 15w40....lol
 

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 30, 2010
265
128
543
Subang Jaya
Hi, sorry for the delay in my reply, been busy with work, and had to do a short overseas trip.

I did the oil and filter change, helped a little.

U then got the gauge checked and re-calibrated, it now reads just over 1 bar when the engine is hot and at tick-over.

The oil pressure looks fine as the rev's rise and for normal and faster driving.

The red dashboard old light flickers occasionally when the revs at tick-over drop really low, mostly only when the engine is hot but it is cool and the air-con is off so there is no load on the engine.

The Mivec I think is working, but I think the thicker oil I used for this oil change is making it slightly less responsive at higher revs.

I will probably do another oil change in about 5000KM and go back to 10W40 fully synthetic. I am on 5W50 fully synthetic now. I will keep on top of regular oil changes and maybe this will help as the engine may have been sitting around for a while before I bought it and got gummed up.

I did enquirer about replacing the oil pump, but its a big job so will see how things go for now.

Worse case is I will need a bottom end rebuild at some stage but now there is no sounds that suggest this is needed yet.

Just part of the fun of running a higher performance JDM engine that is almost 20 years old, and came from Japan with no history I guess :rolleyes:

Been on a few mid distance drives now and overall the car is running fine.

Thanks for all the support and suggestions from this forum, helps a lot to have a resource like this that is in English

cheers
So at higher RPM how high is your oil pressure? On my own car according to the oil pressure sensor mounted on the stock location(head), I'm only getting around 2.5-3bar oil pressure at 8000rpm and the mivec i feel is definitely working, so it can work even at lower pressure range haha.

Changing oil pump is slightly more involving than a timing belt change. Basically you have to remove the timing belt, main pulley, oil sump and the oil pump can come out already. Your only trouble would be finding a pump. I just bought a brand new oil pump from Amayama but had not found the time to install it yet. I should be installing my oil pump by the next oil change. I'm using 5w50 as well, but mine is a turbo and have oil squirters as well.

You don't hear the MIVEC switchover on your engine though? No change in the exhaust note?
 

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
So at higher RPM how high is your oil pressure? On my own car according to the oil pressure sensor mounted on the stock location(head), I'm only getting around 2.5-3bar oil pressure at 8000rpm and the mivec i feel is definitely working, so it can work even at lower pressure range haha.

Changing oil pump is slightly more involving than a timing belt change. Basically you have to remove the timing belt, main pulley, oil sump and the oil pump can come out already. Your only trouble would be finding a pump. I just bought a brand new oil pump from Amayama but had not found the time to install it yet. I should be installing my oil pump by the next oil change. I'm using 5w50 as well, but mine is a turbo and have oil squirters as well.

You don't hear the MIVEC switchover on your engine though? No change in the exhaust note?
Hi, I have never been able to hear the MIVEC cut-over though the exhaust, but I defiantly felt it before, like the engine has a second wind over about 5700 rpm and will then rev round to nearly 8000 rpm, then after the initial problem the engine would not rev past about 5500 rpm.

Now after the oil change, it will rev way past 5700 rpm but not such a marked feeling, maybe due to the heavier oil. That said I haven't been driving it on clear enough roads to let it rev much recently.

At higher rev's the oil pressure rises to the top of the dial, about the 7 bar mark I think, I have to drive to Bangkok on the Motorway tonight so hopefully if the traffic is light I will be able to drive fast enough to see, will pay more attention to the gauge

cheers
 

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
The sensor for the gauge is on a sandwich plate where the oil filter is located, the dash board light is on the OEM sensor, and is wired to the original dashboard (original engine was a 4G18) BTW

cheers
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Hi, I have never been able to hear the MIVEC cut-over though the exhaust, but I defiantly felt it before, like the engine has a second wind over about 5700 rpm and will then rev round to nearly 8000 rpm, then after the initial problem the engine would not rev past about 5500 rpm.

Now after the oil change, it will rev way past 5700 rpm but not such a marked feeling, maybe due to the heavier oil. That said I haven't been driving it on clear enough roads to let it rev much recently.

At higher rev's the oil pressure rises to the top of the dial, about the 7 bar mark I think, I have to drive to Bangkok on the Motorway tonight so hopefully if the traffic is light I will be able to drive fast enough to see, will pay more attention to the gauge

cheers
You aiming at high end speed since you mention need clear enough road. Can't you test by revving to your tachometer limit through the gears?
 

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 30, 2010
265
128
543
Subang Jaya
The sensor for the gauge is on a sandwich plate where the oil filter is located, the dash board light is on the OEM sensor, and is wired to the original dashboard (original engine was a 4G18) BTW

cheers
Yeah that seems to be about right. I need to relocate my pressure sensor onto the sandwich plate as well to see the difference between pressure at the head and at the block.

Hi, I have never been able to hear the MIVEC cut-over though the exhaust, but I defiantly felt it before, like the engine has a second wind over about 5700 rpm and will then rev round to nearly 8000 rpm, then after the initial problem the engine would not rev past about 5500 rpm.

Now after the oil change, it will rev way past 5700 rpm but not such a marked feeling, maybe due to the heavier oil. That said I haven't been driving it on clear enough roads to let it rev much recently.

At higher rev's the oil pressure rises to the top of the dial, about the 7 bar mark I think, I have to drive to Bangkok on the Motorway tonight so hopefully if the traffic is light I will be able to drive fast enough to see, will pay more attention to the gauge

cheers
That's crazy pressure man! Should be well more than enough for the Mivec to kick in! Did you test the solenoid manually by connecting it to 12v and hearing for the audible 'click'? Are you using the Mivec or Mivec RS engine? There SHOULD be an audible switchover when the Mivec engages, unless your exhaust is too silent :sleep:

Would recommend you to change back to 40w oil though, but honestly I don't think the oil grade would affect the power by much. As vr2turbo mentioned, can't do a 1st-2nd gear pull to redline?
 

jay_lancer

Known Member

jay_lancer

Known Member
Thread starter
Aug 21, 2015
292
70
28
Thailand
So after a long break from looking at my Lancer, cut a long story short my best friend in Thailand father was sick and I took over looking after his business while he was out of the country. (as well as doing my own work) so had little time for hobby, and also had use of his car (a stock toyota vios) but now he is back and I have got things back on track with my Lancer project.

I have found a great Mitsu shop not far from where I live, the owner races a Lancer F-style with a 4G92 MIVEC and he took about 15 minutes to diagnose and fix the problem with my MIVEC solenoid.

He also had done many big brake conversions using Subaru 4 pot calipers, custom adapters and bigger disks, so I went ahead with getting Subaru front brakes which I already posted about here:

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/index.php?threads/brake-upgrade-lancer-cs3a.466151/page-3

the problem with the MIVEC solenoid which he thinks was also causing the erratic oil pressure readings was the MIVEC solenoid had come loose and was actually moving about in the head! lucky no other damage so he put it all back together, also checked everything else and did an oil and filter change and the car is running great again.

Hopefully will stay that way as I have tickets to go and watch the MotoGP bike race in Thailand next weekend and that is a 6 hour drive each way, I do have use of another vehicle to take (a ford ranger pickup) but my heart says take the Lancer LOL

some pics of the day spent at his shop, including some of his race car and other projects

cam cover off my engine

1538062120888.jpg


oil changed :)
1538062105506.jpg

brakes (as detailed in the other thread)
1538032992359.jpg

another customer car
1538062138148.jpg


owner of the shops 4G92 MIVEC racing Lancer

line_1537777258241.jpg


line_1537777269608.jpg
 

Attachments