Looking for MR2 (auto)

soff

Nov 13, 2005
Honestly, if you are looking for auto, you should give mr2 a pass. People who want auto normally is looking for comfort and ease of use. Both of which it is not. MR2 is a performance car, auto robs that away. It is raw and comes with a midship character that require some skill( read driver involvement) to master. If you are in for the looks there are many better looking cars (maybe?) that are "cheaper" and easier to drive e.g. fto, gto, fiat coupe, hyundai coupe tiburan/fx....

Just my two bits.

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
Hmm , but mr2 is reliable as there are many specialist

tom's

subang
looseand: u got it wrong ......toyota is reliable:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:......

what soff trying to say is "if u r a hardcore driver like him, then mr2 is not easy to handle" right soff:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

GroundZro

Soff, thanks for the advise! Appreciate it la... I have got my reasons to get an auto MR2. Want to join u all ma....:biggrin:

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
looseand: u got it wrong ......toyota is reliable:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:......

what soff trying to say is "if u r a hardcore driver like him, then mr2 is not easy to handle" right soff:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
Lol , ya ya..Toyota is reliable..haha..But too bad only 2 sitter..Toyota should have produce MR4

lil_piggy2

Jun 5, 2006
Lol , ya ya..Toyota is reliable..haha..But too bad only 2 sitter..Toyota should have produce MR4
That car is called a Celica and Caldina.... same engine as MR2... but its 4 seater... lol

soff

Nov 13, 2005

Ya...lo... Free for Breakfast at Frasers and lunch in Ulu Yam this Sunday?

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
That car is called a Celica and Caldina.... same engine as MR2... but its 4 seater... lol
Oh..thanks for the info..but how come celica not so popular , I guess so..

MR2Michael

Nov 14, 2007
Honestly, if you are looking for auto, you should give mr2 a pass. People who want auto normally is looking for comfort and ease of use. Both of which it is not. MR2 is a performance car, auto robs that away. It is raw and comes with a midship character that require some skill( read driver involvement) to master. If you are in for the looks there are many better looking cars (maybe?) that are "cheaper" and easier to drive e.g. fto, gto, fiat coupe, hyundai coupe tiburan/fx....

Just my two bits.
Bro Soff
I disagree that FTO,GTO, Tiburan all looks better than the MR2. Like GrondZro I too like to drive the MR2 Auto for weekends tho I do take it to the office since it is only a short drive. I have test driven the Hyundai, MX5 and FTOs ... and believe me, the MR2 drives much better even in Auto format. Maybe like Bro Tom said, if you really enjoy the trills of hard driving then a manual MR2 will be more involving... but like GrdZro said...KL traffic will kill your left leg if you are caught in one mid-city jam in a manual.( and ask your self how often you go HARD driving?.....that's the reason why the MRS sells so well... it's catered to this market with semi auto shift)

PS- btw... I get my trills of hard driving on Go Karts.... it's more like F1 and safer than on "public road trills". If you like gear shift trills...get a Evo or STI and go rallying off road...my opinion anyway..

GroundZro

I think Soff is trying to say tht some may think/prefer FTO etc etc over MR2.

For me, I never really look at MR2 until recently....my gf said mid life crisis....hahahahaha...I used to be an Evo fans. But I dont look at Evo anymore...I am now a Toyota fans.

KL traffic is bad and I live in the worse part of KL, Ampang....

fools

Apr 25, 2007
tumpang thread..looking for MR2 price range of 45-55k. Most probably will buy on april,latest may.:love:

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
don't listen to soff lah, he's a weird MR2 enthusiast :stupid: LOL All the earlier cars you mentioned are super high maintenance cars... except the hyundai coupe which is dead ugly and not a real sports car anyway. BTW Soff maybe your suspension not so good thats why you say your car not comfy leh?

fools, chk the forum got some real nice MR2's for sale.

soff

Nov 13, 2005
don't listen to soff lah, he's a weird MR2 enthusiast :stupid: LOL All the earlier cars you mentioned are super high maintenance cars... except the hyundai coupe which is dead ugly and not a real sports car anyway. BTW Soff maybe your suspension not so good thats why you say your car not comfy leh?

fools, chk the forum got some real nice MR2's for sale.
Hey don't say bad things about ppl's car (Hyundai I mean) you know where it got us when I said MR2 beat M3 and you say you can taruh 335 Twin turbo anytime.....

Fools, price just moved up, starts from $55k (transacted!).....

Japan’s Car Top magazine has been informed in detail of Nissan’s secret test drive event held earlier this month&nbsp;at its Tochigi proving grounds.</p><p>An unnamed&nbsp;test driver&nbsp;has spoken exclusively to Car Top magazine about an event held by Nissan to allow 30 people to test drive the 2008 GT-R at its Tochigi proving grounds earlier this month. No media representatives were invited...